We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location a real secret hideout”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Location a real secret hideout”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed in one of the cabins with my fiance on our 17 night roadtrip around Califronia, Arizona and Neveda.
This place was a real stand out lodging, tucked away off route 1 while being in a secluded spot is juct close enough to civilisation for a store etc within driving distance.
Very modern feel to the cabins and well spaced out with its own firepit its a real chance to get back to nature but with those creature comforts such as a good bed and electricity.
If you want to get away from it all would totally recommend worth every penny.

Room Tip: check the website to weigh up the room options you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    328
    73
    18
    11
See reviews for
93
886
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We go up to Big Sur once a year from LA (it's our "happy place"), and we always stay at Glen Oaks. It's modern but still has the rustic feel of being among the redwoods. The cabins are great if you are looking for seclusion, and the motel rooms are a great option too. The design is modern, every room has a fireplace, and the heated floors are such a treat. It's super clean, and the staff is lovely. We tell all our friends visiting to stay there, and everyone comes back with rave reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved this place! We stayed in room 8, at the lodge, corner room. It had a private enclosed patio area, with a fountain on the other side of the fence that made it sound like a stream, so peaceful! The room itself is just as pictured on their site, I appreciate that since many times I've been disappointed with other sites showing something much better than the real thing, but this was exactly as promised. A little minimart and gas station right next door. We are going to stay at the cabins across the street next time, that looks even more peaceful being out in the woods, but not camping! The entrance is a little hard to see until you come right upon the property when traveling north, the only downside, but once you know where it is, you will know to slow down and get ready to take a quick right.

Room Tip: choose a corner room to get a private balcony area at the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

A good mid range option. Updated and really well designed rooms and beautiful bathrooms. The lady at reception was really helpful and recommended places to eat and made reservations for us. The surroundings are beautiful. Looses a star as it is expensive given the facilities, but everywhere in Big Sur is pricy. Overall, we really liked it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrismema09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A quiet setting with a modern twist. Deer walked right by us as we were having coffee by our firepit in the morning. We were delivered a bottle of champagne due to a 15 min maintenance issue. Great customer service. Will stay again but this time for longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harborbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary over Labor Day weekend. This hotel is a great mid-range option in Big Sur. We stayed in a fireside queen and enjoyed the in-room fireplace, and the updated bathroom. We liked coming back to the hotel after a long hike and reading on our porch in the evening sun before heading out to dinner. We also sat by the outdoor communal "campfire" and made s'mores one night. It was a great place to unwind and relax. Granted, this is not the Ventana (where we stayed for our honeymoon), but it is a very nice motel and won't break the bank.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationtimeCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

At $250 a night including taxes was a bit much so one is paying for the location. Nicely decorated and loved the bathroom. Plushly landscaped and nearby several places to eat. No air conditioning but we did have a fan. No TV. This is a place to escape and meditate. The room was clean except for makeup residue on my pillow case which should never happen. There is noise from the road as one tries to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEXUSGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,127 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
471 reviews
17.6 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 25 in Carmel
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Glen Oaks Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing