We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! ”
Review of Big Sur Taphouse

Big Sur Taphouse
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Taphouse is located right next to the Big Sur Deli and the Big Sur Post Office. We have a pet friendly, large outdoor patio with a beautiful view of the Santa Lucia Mountains. Stop by and try one of our 10 craft brewes on tap or a glass of wine. We also feature live music on Friday and Saturday nights. Come stop by and see us!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is very nice! The plates are very good especially tacos and tortilla! Another strong point is the beer! Absolutely advised!

Helpful?
Thank crasir 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great burgers and beer”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were driving thru Big Sur and needed a quick place to stop and eat before continuing on to Monterey. The touristy places had completely full parking lots and long waits. A local told us about this place. There was only one other guy in the bar. The beer was good and cold. Lots of California micro brew beers. We all had burgers and they were LARGE, tasty and very filling. The great meal was quick and easy and kept us satisfied and content until we reached Monterey. Worth a stop while in Big Sur. The shop connected to the bar has lots of California wines, food and plenty of cool T-shirts to choose from.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden gem”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I randomly stopped into this place late at night - and it was perfect
Perfect dinner spot, amazing tacos and the loveliest beer selection.
They had four IPAs on tap to choose from and if that's not your thing, they had lots of other eclectic beers to choose from.
The food is a step up from your bar food - taste fresh and healthy
Two big screens for sports games
Romantic hidden tables, massive outside patio and you won't be bored as everyone seems to be playing the board games they have out.

Helpful?
Thank Boris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ate here on a thursday night when they just happened to have special pricing. I ordered a BBQ chicken sandwich it was excellent. We also had the torta which was beef, avocado, and jalepenos, also great but a little spicy. The drinks on the other hand were bad. I got the sangria that tasted and looked like watered down wine. The prices were very reasonable which is hard to find in Big Sur.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank djlizardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
“Great little stop!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were driving the scenic Hwy. 1 when we came upon the Taphouse. We had read in the visitor's center information that the deli had great sandwiches so we stopped. The deli and the Taphouse are attached. We bought our sandwich in the deli and then moseyed to the Taphouse to have a beer with our food. The local people were friendly and the atmosphere was quaint. Exactly what we were looking for. I recommend the Taphouse to everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing