We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 30, 2007

I have travelled throughout the world, and have stayed at many high-end properties.

Post Ranch Inn takes the cake. I have nothing but gushes to add to all of the previous positive posts, and I anxiously await my return next year.

This is one of those rare places where the cost truly doesn't matter. You only live once... do it!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExpertTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2007

Stayed 2 nights in an ocean house -- true the views are incredible, but paying $1395 for a 70's style motel room is more than a little disappointing. Two of the hot tubs hang out on the edge of the cliffs and are pretty amazing, but there is absolutely no service at any of the pool/hot tub areas. It's get your own for pretty much everything. They give you a split of wine when you arrive and your fridge is stocked with sodas and candy (which are free), but for that price you should get wine as well. We travel alot and have stayed at some amazing places and never paid $1400/night for this type of room, ocean view or not!! The restaurant service was terrible one night, so the next night they bought our dinner, but there was no "fawning" over guests and for that price they should!! Save your money and stay at the Carneros Inn in Napa Valley --they know how to treat their guests!! We had a bottle of champagne delivered each night of our stay at Carneros -- as a thank you!! I can't imagine why Post Ranch would get repeat business!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank shelley30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

This hotel and property were absolutely amazing. My husband and I cannot even describe how fantastic this place is. We stayed for 2 nights for part of our honeymoon and it was the best place we have ever been. Everything was soooo beautiful. Our view was of the woods and mountains and we were within a few steps of the gorgeous view of the ocean. We had dinner one night at Sierra Mar Restaurant, it was magnificent. The main location of Sierra Mar was under construction during our stay, however they had a temp location and the food couldn't possibly have gotten any better than it was. It was definitely not cheap but if you can afford to eat there, do it! Same goes for the hotel, definitely not inexpensive, but absolutely worth it. If you have to save your money all year to go there, start saving! We can't wait to go back on our first anniversary. We stayed in an upper butterfly room and it was just perfect. With them constantly replenishing your firewood, we kept a fire going in our room almost the whole time. We sat on our beautiful balcony, went hiking, enjoyed the snacks and drinks provided in their refrigerator (at no extra cost, replenished daily!). It was the most relaxing enjoyable experience, we were soooo sad we had to leave. Counting down the days until we can go back!

Also, if you need someplace to eat around Post Ranch, about 1 minute down the road... There is the yummiest place called Nepenthe. They have a gorgeous view and a really neat shop as well! We ate there twice in 2 days and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank catchthedisease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed at an Ocean House at the Post Ranch Inn in late August. Perched upon a cliff appox. 1200 feet above the ocean, the setting and view can only be described as incredible. On a clear day, which we were fortunate to have, one can see forever. When the low cloud layer rolled in, it was actually below the vantage point from the room--somewhat like the view from a plane. The free standing Ocean Houses are incredibly private and silent. We heard none of the construction noise described in some of the other reviews, even on the private outdoor sitting area oustide our room, which was a pleasant place to relax and take in the view. Our room was also adjacent to one of the infinity basking pools (i.e. jacuzzi without the jets); the basking pool was the perfect temperature and very relaxing.

We had a terrific dinner at Sierra Mar, the hotel's restaurant. With renovations now complete, the physical space is inviting and offers the same views as described from our Ocean House. The menu was varied and changes regularly. Overall the food and service were very good and on par with a fine NY restaurant (excuse the East Coast bias). The foie gras appetizer, which included a particularly inventive foie gras "creme brulee", was excellent. The wine list (ask for the extended version) is terrific and markups are reasonable, especially given the relative lack of competition for fine dining in the area. Star gazing through a GPS driven telescope on the restaurant's deck was the perfect way to end the evening. The complimentary breakfast in the same restaurant was also very good.

While our overall experience was quite positive, there is little room for anything but perfection at $1600+ per night. There were a few shortcomings that are worth mentioning. First, while the Ocean Houses are private with amazing views as described above, they are quite small. If the blinds were drawn, one would be disappointed in the space. Second, the inability to get any wireless signal or internet access in the room is completely unacceptable in my view. While this is perhaps intended to add to the relaxed vibe of the place, it really only adds stress to those who need to stay connected from time to time. Given the others checking their Blackberrys on the steps of the restaurant or their laptops in the Library where wireless signals are available, I suspect this complaint is somewhat common. I would also strongly prefer a TV in the room--it can always be left off for those that find it takes away from their relaxation.

Lastly, the hotel staff was generally friendly. However, the valet/bellmen lacked the urgency and attentiveness that one would expect to find in a resort of this caliber. That would seem to be an easy fix, and one that should be encouraged.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SSAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

This was my second time at the hotel and it's just as beautiful as i remember! i traveled with my parents and they stayed in the upper coast house room while i was in lower coast house room (same building). The room was small but very cozy. I would suggest you stay in the upper rooms because you can hear everything that is happening on top of you! i didn't mind because my parents were there and we were on the same schedule. The views from the rooms are very beautiful, ocean is right at the botoom of your feet! There is no TV in your rooms, but you get a music system. Bring lots of CDs though! The snacks in the fridge are complimentary as well as red and white bottles of wine. You also get a bucket for recycling (a big plus for me!)

The hotel has some construction going on right now (they are building new rooms), so you can hear it a little bit during the day. Also, their restaurant Sierra Mar is getting renovated and it's temporary relocated by the pool. It is a pretty far walk, but the hotel staff can you drive you there in their Lexus hybrids! Breakfast is complimentary and is served in the restaurant. It is the best buffet breakfast I have ever had! They have so much stuff there, including different egg dishes, pastries, their great tasting jams, bacon/ham, home made granola (very tasty!) and lots of fruits! We also had dinner at the restaurant and food was great. Also, you can order in dinner the regular menu at the restaurant. You just have to wait for the menu to be printed each night (usually at 5:30).

The pool is right by the temporary restaurant and it's very big. It wasn't crowded at all. There are some nice trails around the property as well and there are bottles of water everywhere! There is a small basking pool by the rooms if you don't feel like walking to the regular one. However, it was full every time i tried to go there.

There is one minus and that is no internet service in the room. There is only one computer at their library and you have to wait if somebody is using it. There is also wireless internet in the library and at the reception so you have a laptop, you can access internet that way.

I also had a facial and a massage in their spa, which was great! They can also do different treatments in your room since spa is pretty small.

My mom and I also reserved a private 2 hour guided hike through the spa. Sue, a Big Sur resident, took us to Preiffer big sur state park. We had a wonderful hike with her, not worrying about getting lost! Sue told us very interesting stories about life in Big Sur and its politics! We also went to Julia Pfeiffer park another day and did a very easy walk to the falls. I would suggest you go when it's not too foggy cause you can't see the falls very clearly.

We also went to Hawthorne gallery and Coastal gallery. They had tons of beautiful stuff by local artists. Also, there are beautiful views from Napenthe which is right across the street from Hawthorne gallery. They also have a nice gift shop there.

Overall, the hotel and the surrounding area cannot be beat!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank panthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

From the moment my husband and I arrived til the day we left, we were transported to another time and place. We had rented one of the tree houses, on one side a view of the mountains and on the other side, a view of the Pacific. The house was the kind of place one doesn't want to venture out of. A small fridge filled with a variety of goodies including wine, kettle chips, nuts, fresh local goat cheese, cookies and half and half for your morning coffee. The freshly ground organic coffee was delicious and I looked forward to sitting on my outside balcony each morning as the sun came up. There was always a bowl of fresh fruit and as things were eaten, they were replaced by the excellent staff at the Inn. No extra charge, by the way.

Although the Sierra Mar restaurant was in its final stages of rennovation and therefore not open, the food in their temporary restaurant was fantastic. Breakfast was delightful. And dinner a gastronomic experience.

However, the most wonderful thing about our stay was the beauty and tranquility that surrounded us wherever we wandered on the Inn's property. Even the hybrid SUV's that would pick us up if we were too lazy to walk down to the restaurant seemed not to make any noise.

I talked to most of the people who worked at the Inn and discovered that they have all been there for many years and were still happy and dedicated to the comfort of the Inn's guests. The service was supurb.

My husband and I have travelled to many places around the world and stay in expensive, high-end places. But just because something costs a lot doesn't necessarily make it good. The Post Ranch Inn ranks in my top 5 travel experiences and I cannot wait to go back to that sweet little treehouse nestled between the mountains and the sea.

If you are looking for anything other than a beautiful and peaceful vacation, this is not the place for you. There aren't even TV's in the rooms. Bring a book, pour a glass of vino and bliss out in that little piece of heaven that is The Post Ranch Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank acprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

If there weren't such things as work and bills, this is where I would stay forever. There aren't many places that can surpass Big Sur in natural beauty but then to have a world class hotel with impeccable service around as your "camp ground" is such an amazing experience. This eco-friendly inn (only one tree was sacrificed when building Post Ranch) has every little touch, but still lets you feel like you are out in nature enjoying one of the most beautiful places in the world. When you arrive you are escorted to your room in a hybrid lexus and if it weren't for the beautiful outdoors, we probably would have never left the room. From music to wine to a ready-made fire this place was over-the-top without being overdone and I can't imagine what a room with a ocean view would be like. They have an infinity hot tub that makes you feel as if you are floating over the Pacific ocean, they have star gazing every night outside their restaurant and a meal to die for at Sierra Mar (their restaurant). In the morning you are greeted by an amazing brunch which you can enjoy out on their deck while whale watching. Their hiking trails are lined with bottled water and they even have a convertible lexus that you can take out on the PCH for a day excursion. We unfortunately had a short stay but can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JMax_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
374 reviews
22.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
22.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $964 - $2,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and TravelUp so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing