We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best wedding ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best wedding ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I visited here with my husband and my parents in July 2009 to get married. The site is amazing and it is so quiet and peaceful. All of the accommodation buildings are so beautiful and quirky in their own ways. Our Ocean House was next to the infinity pool which was ideal! It had a roof made of flowers and the view from the patio was simply gorgeous. There were hummingbirds hovering around the tree next to the patio and California blue jays which landed really close to us to eat some nuts. We went for a walk through the woods one morning and it was beautiful. We saw wild turkeys and deer roaming in the fields.
The Sierra Mar restaurant is extremely expensive (about £350 for an evening meal for four of us) but it was really good. Good food (especially the pudding) and good cocktails!
On the first evening we dined at the Big Sur River Inn (a couple of miles away) and the staff at Post Ranch were happy to chauffer us to and from the Inn.
My mum and I had facials in the spa which, although expensive, was really lovely and relaxing.
The wedding ceremony itself was lovely - perched on the top of the cliffs with the ocean crashing below. Afterwards we went to Julia Pfeiffer State Beach which is a fabulous place with amazing rock formations and big waves. And the wood burning fires in the rooms are brilliantly romantic :-)
I would love to return to Post Ranch - it is awesome!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
Thank you for your kind words and hopefully we will see for your anniversary if not before.

Best regards,

Daniel D. Priano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    92
    45
    18
    24
See reviews for
57
801
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in September. My husband and I and my parents (in their 80's but fit and mentally sharp)

I wasn't paying (I wouldn't have booked somewhere for $1000/night, $500 is about our limit) but this was the most apalling value we have ever encountered anywhere in the world!

The hotel is nice (yes nice, not outstanding, not exquisite, not stunning). The restaurant serves good quality ingredients in a very unexciting and bland way.

Our rooms were average, good beds, nice linens. Poor views. Loud a/c right at the door.

People on gate were rude, demanding all our names and then wouldn't let us it because they had a typo on our name.

My parents, well dressed, cultured and world traveled, were treated as if they were invisible: my mother walks with a stick and most hotels they stay (and they only stay in good ones) she is treated with great courtesy and help. Here the first reaction "oh you didn't say your were disabled, you hatve trouble with the steps" (She didn't) to ignoring my parents for drinks orders and asking my husband what they wanted.

Guests there spent a lot of time exclaiming about how wonderful it was to be there "wait until I tell my friends I have been here".

I very much got the impression that this is a place making a hefty profit on its reputation. Chateau du Sureau and Four Seasons in Sanata Barbara which we stayed in on this trip outclassed and outperformed this hotel hands down.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank phidias1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

If you have to stay in one hotel before you die -- this is it!
We received a night at the Post Ranch for a wedding gift. What heaven it was. We loved every minute of our stay. We were able to use one of the Ranch cars -- a cute Lexus -- and enjoyed every meal the the restaurant. The pools are beautiful and views breathtaking. The only down side was the check out and check in -- check in was not until 4:00 and check out was at 1:00. We asked to stay a little longer, but were turned down. I guess we will have to book another night next time!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Great eco-hotel set on the amazing Big Sur coastline. Immaculate service, great food and drink. Clifftop swimming pools with waiter service - tick! I really liked the recycling vibe that the hotel had which was carried through from furniture in the rooms to the decor in the restaurant. If I had one downside (and it's a small one though) is that the restaurant fabric isn't as impressive as the rest of the hotel - the chairs are a little 'motorway service station-esque'. Saying that, still hands down one of the best/coolest/most romantic hotels I've been to...

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrchunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Dear mrchunky.
I wanted to let you know how much we appreciated your making the effort to tell us and the TripAdvisor viewers, what you thought of your stay with us. Your comments are truly flattering and deeply appreciated, especially the service comment, which we strive for always.

All of us at Post ranch are dedicated to providing our guests with an experience which surpasses the highest expectations. We want you to leave with only pleasant memories and the anticipation of your next visit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feelings with us.

Kindest regards,

Dan Priano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We bicycled from Pt. Arena (near Ft. Bragg) south over 5 days ending at Post Ranch for a well-deserved two days of rest. While Post Ranch is mainly for a romantic getaway, the six of us (all men aged 25 to 55) had no problem enjoying Post Ranch. We had reserved the Post House and a Lower Butterfly unit. The Post House is perched on a cliff with a expansive view of the Pacific Ocean; hard to beat. It is a three bedroom, two bath house with a large kitchen and living room--perfect for the six of us. (Most of Post Ranch is individual rooms for two people; this is an exception.) We actually also rented a "Lower Butterfly" because Post Ranch charges a huge permium for a 5th and 6th person in the Post House, and for almost the same money we could rent another room. The Lower Butterfly was marginal considering the price; the entrance is flanked by someone's air conditioning unit on one side of the door, and another piece of machinery on the other. Once you get past the front door, however, things improve. The room itself had a wonderful forest/canyon view. All of us ended up spending most of our time at the Post House because it has a large "common space" and deck, and it simply worked better for our group than an individual room would have.

There were some minor things that could have improved: Even though all of our names were given to the reservation agent, the guard did not recognize the names of some of our riders as they arrivied. (The climb up to Post Ranch on a bike is steep, so we arrived at different times.) Also, the restaurant is fabulous, but the target audience is not hungry cyclists--though beautifully presented, the "volume" is limited. Later, in talking with one of the managers, he indicated that the restaurant is willing to make accommodations for special dietary requests.

Since this is such unique property, it's hard to make an y comparisons relative to the overall value. For a romantic time for a couple, the setting is fantastic and surely a good value. For six cyclists looking for a place to end a fastastic trip, while the place is also fantastic, the premium may be a little over the edge (especially considering the huge additional cost for a 5th and 6th person in Post House). In summary for us: fanstic place and a reasonable value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyclingCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Dear Guests

I wanted to let you know how much we appreciated your comments and allowing our TripAdvisor viewers your viewpoints of the ranch and hopefully on your next visit we can make your visit PERFECT.

Your concerns have been addressed with our management staff and we thank you for bringing them to our attention.

All of us at Post ranch are dedicated to providing our guests with an experience which surpasses the highest expectations. We want you to leave with only pleasant memories and the anticipation of your next visit.

Kind regards,

Dan Priano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

There is not much to say here that hasn't already been said. This place is heaven on earth. Big Sur is truly one of the most gorgeous, mysterious places on earth, and the Post Ranch Inn captures the very essence of it perfectly. If you go, spend the extra money to get a place with a coastal view, and spend the entire day on your deck. Romantic, beautiful, peaceful, and unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Located in a beautiful spot overlooking Big Sur, the Post Ranch Inn provides a unique way to relax and unwind. This is not a conventional hotel, in fact despite the high room price, first impression on the accommodation was a little rustic. But once you get into the rhythm of the place you realise that there is everything you need to keep you in comfort and allow you to feel closer to nature. Ocean facing rooms have a superb view (from sun-lounger, your bed or the bath tub) and at a discrete distance from your neighbours provide the privacy needed for an intimate experience. Located in substantial grounds with beautiful natural planting and walks through meadows and woodland, the ranch provides several hot pools to relax overlooking the sea. It also has one of the best restaurants I have experienced in the US. Only one word of warning, the beautiful view can be masked by the sea fog that is common during the summer. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uktraveller1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing