We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The loveliest getaway ......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The loveliest getaway ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2005

I stayed at the Post Ranch Inn last week and the memory of the arrival is still fresh in my mind. The privacy and sense of security is paramount with an initial checkpoint on arrival and registration simplified with an offer of drinks....

A silver grey lexus transports one up a hill with the scent of pine in the air....can air smell this pure?

Delivery of luggage and once in my room to my delight a fridge filled with wonderous snacks...... all complimentary and a bottle of champagne <also complimentary> ready to be opened.

The views were breathtaking and details down to the towels in a eye pleasing shades of stone grey and linens in a white on white pattern.....I could drift away with the views as a canvas in this paradise but remote control in hand had a library of a huge variety of music to find my way through.

One thing I noticed was the amount of thought that had gone into every fibre of this property. Every pipe and piece of steel that could have been an affront to the senses was taken and transported into the environment not as a distraction but as a compliment to it....Nothing seemed out of place with the nature of the place. Even the machine that made ICE was housed in an environmentally-friendly wooded setting.

Everything was thought of ...all wishes anticipated.
If I had any fault to find it was the feast laid out at breakfast. I had been on a low carb diet for two months and fell off the wagon with sumptious grainy breads toasted to a crunchy just rightness....lox and bagels with onions and capers lemon wedges and tomatoe slices....I went back and had to have the muesli <home made> and the yogurt with honey on top!
As a perfectionist in many ways this place was so delightful to my eyes my heart and my soul.
If there is a heaven it might look like this.....Like infinity plus one.
If you are with someone very special it will be a memory forever treasured ...If alone it is also unbelievable....In other words don't wait until you find that the special someone is you :)
Anjela White

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Anjelamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    94
    46
    18
    24
See reviews for
57
828
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2005

I really did not want to leave. The room was fantastic, the location and views spectacular. The service was almost perfect, casual and yet highly professional. The restaurant was terrific in both food and atmosphere. Massage services in the room were great. If you can find a way to get here, it is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2005

At $1,000 a night I was expecting something spectacular. I got just what I was expecting. Scenery, service and dinner were just superb. Strongly recommend for all that can afford it and also for those that cannot.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2005

We've been here three times. Twice in an upper butterfly room and this last time we stayed in a treehouse. I don't think it really matters which room you stay in because the real star here is the property itself. This piece of land is magical and has an energy that must be experienced to be believed. The restaurant is one of the best in California. The massages are the best I've had. The level of service is incomparable. There are plenty of little touches that leave you feeling very special and well taken care of. It is not a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton type of luxury, but what I like to call "Opulent Zen". Soothing, relaxing, comfortable and artful.

Helpful?
7 Thank iamq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2005

After two nights in a Mountain Room, we loved everything about this hotel. The location is truly magical, the rooms super-comfortable and private. Do take the walk around the property as you will see the wonderful karma of the entire property.

Whilst everything is super-expensive, you will go away feeling that it was worth it...wonderful for special occasions.

Helpful?
6 Thank razlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing