We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
$735
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,009
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$329
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$376
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Sur Lodge(Big Sur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveler rating
1,003
102
52
22
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,003
102
52
22
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssierra marinfinity pooltree housepacific suiteupper coastglass of champagnethe cliffworth every pennyspa servicesmini barupper butterflytreehouse roomocean viewspecial occasionhot tubstocked fridgeheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2009

About as good a location as you will ever find a hotel. The whole place is excellent from the rooms to restaurant. It is extremely well done and fits into its location perfectly. The plunge pools are an amazing place to have a glass of champagne whilst watching sunset over the Big Sur.
Romantic, fine food and an unmatched view sum it up perfectly.
For the same money as Ventana Inn this is head and shoulders above it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benji_kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

For those who can afford the eye-popping pricetag, there is perhaps no finer destination than the Post Ranch Inn. While its rooms are not up to the standard set by the Ventana Inn, the Post's neighbour across Highway One, its setting is unsurpassed. The Post offers a fantastic restaurant, helpful staff (who are quick to offer weary travelers a glass of champagne upon check-in) and, most of all, a view you will not soon forget.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GPV-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

The sun was shining, our Mustang "soft top" had been delivered
to our hotel in San Francisco and we were ready for our
Highway 1 costal drive experience.
The drive was fantastic, the road snaking around the coast with lots of photo opportunities at various stops on the way.
4 hours later we arrived at our destination "The Post Ranch Inn" and what a destination stunning in every way.
After a speedy check in and a glass of champagne we were soon relaxing in our fantastic Ocean View Pacific Suite.
The living Room/Bedroom and Bathroom all having glass walls which open onto the hills of the coastline. The king sized bed and wood burning fireplace create a very romantic setting.
With another glass of champagne i headed for a soak in the
whirlpool bath, gazing at the bright orange californian poppies and re creating my garden back home.
Refreshed i was ready for my Sierra Mar experience, the web site describes the restaurant view perfectly "awe-inspiring setting."
The food was also excellent on both our evening visits as was the service.
The complimentary breakfast was also excellent with a wide choice of cereal, fruit and cooked food.

I cant recommend the Post Ranch Inn enough, it was superb in every way and i cant wait to go back.

4  Thank steveg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Stayed one night in early Jan 2009. Paid ~$1,700 for the "ocean house" just north of the restaurant.
Man-alive the view is spectacular, breathtaking, and any other superlatives you can think of. It is a SPECIAL property.
We were greeted at the guard gate professionally and told we were expected and to drive up to the office(we were impressed). When we arrived up the hill--no one greeted us. No one told us where to park (or took the car which is what should've occured). I found this quite irksome with the room price in mind. We found our way to the office where pleasant but underachieving desk staff registered us after I explained who we were and what we were doing there :) (do they work with the guard who let us on the property?) They then did a fine job of getting us to our room in short order to view the sunset. THAT WAS KEY AND MADE OUR STAY! The view was unforgettable.
The room was nicer than we expected and actually quite impressive. Well designed with ecologically minded sod roof, perched on the edge of the world. Nicely furnished and neat as a pin. Combination of posh and rustic, lovely fireplace, well appointed bath and DID WE MENTION THE VIEW?! we started a fire and had a lovely evening.
The breakfast (including in room price) was excellent and well prepared (fresh berries, yogurt, eggs, granola, AND A SPECTACULAR VIEW) no complaints.
The only downside was the staff/ ownership. They know about the view ;) and charge for it. But don't expect a 5 star resort experience or service. We encountered either a friendly cluelessness about how to treat guests who paid more than you ever thought you'd pay for a night's stay or were generally ignored. The parking experience was a perfect example, so was tripping over the linens for the next guest set right in front of our room door. And ask a Howard Johnson's level question about some hot cocoa or how to use your phone and you'll be met with blank looks and (again friendly) generalized incompetence.
If one of the best views in the world and being esconced in nature is for you, then they have it here; if you want 5 star/fawning treatment then look elsewhere, they have Days Inn level service.
But all in all we look back at an excellent stay due to the view and the room itself; you just have to decide if you want to spend an obscene amount of money to experience it. We did for a once in a long time (lifetime?) experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonRockyPoint_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

...and given the price, our expectations were pretty high. The setting is unmatched and the accomodations are lovely, comfortable and serene. The cost of this hotel probably is impossible for most people to justify, but for a very special occasion or if you can afford it, it really is worth money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonWysiwyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews