We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Your own little piece of the coast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Your own little piece of the coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights on this gorgeous piece of property. We stayed in one of the coastal houses. Our view of the Pacific was uninhibited. The room is perfectly situated, customer service is wonderful, grounds are spectacular. I have no criticisms of this hotel, but rather a few observations. (1) While the Sierra Mar restaurant is wonderful, it would be nice to have a place to eat that has more casual dining. Room service is available, but after a lovely day of hiking, hot tub soaking and massages, we wanted to go have a drink and casual meal in a comfortable atmosphere and found ourselves driving to nearby restaurants. (2) the actual shower stall is gorgeous with windows looking out over the ocean, but it was difficult to climb in and out of. Bathroom is small and dimly lit. One other suggestion would be to provide some sort of awning on the coast side balcony. It was a beautiful day, but the sun was so strong that we couldn't sit out on the patio for long. A little shade would have been perfect. Other than that, I would go back in a heartbeat! Expensive but fabulous.

Room Tip: coast side
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a very green hotel, they gave out take home water bottles.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    94
    45
    18
    24
See reviews for
57
810
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you want a getaway where you feel like you are on top of a mountain with only relaxation in mind, this is it. We have visited other resorts such as Little Palm Island and this rivals them. We stayed in a treehouse and it felt like we were on top of the world. The scenery is incredible especially with cloud cover hanging over the ocean below. This is the ideal spot for a honeymoon or any other occasion where you want to be alone with your mate. Pricey. But worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tree House but the rooms overlooking the ocean are just as fantastic.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscientious if that is important to you. If you are into recycling, organic gardens, bamboo shirts, etc. they are on top of this.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixAces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife's 50th bday will not soon be forgotten! What a beautiful resort, the views are the best I have enjoyed in California....the fools was spectacular, the service was 2nd to none....what more can you ask for?? Is it costly, yes...is it worth it, ABSOLUTELY YES!!

If you want to share an unforgettable experience, nothing can beat the Post Ranch....beauty, romance, comfort, fine foods, perfect service .....to name a few!!

Room Tip: The ocean view private units are worth the experience....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

There is no doubt that when you get the bill after your stay here you'll do a double take. But after a brief moment of surprise, you'll no doubt say to yourself it was well worth it. That's assuming, of course, that you want to go somewhere where you feel like you're in your own private sanctuary. That's because, no matter how full the rooms are here, you always feel like you have the whole place to yourself. The rooms are one-of-a-kind, with an awesome view. The service is impeccable. And the restaurant and experience you won't soon forget. My wife and I went here to reconnect after so many years of raising kids and not having time to ourselves. Mission accomplished. If I have only one forewarning it is this: The view from our room was spectacular. However. for three of the four days we were there, it was shrouded in fog. At the altitude you're at, facing the ocean, it wasn't surprising. But when you're paying so much, and looking so forward to it, it took a bit of time to get past the disappoint and enjoy our stay nonetheless. So go prepared that it may happen to you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper coast panoramic view room. It was very private, well maintained, and the fire...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything this hotel does is environmentally-friendly. Though you're in a first-class room with first-class service, you feel nothing about the environment/location has been negatively altered.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Coming from the midwest (Chicago), driving up the California coast is a beauty of its own to see. One wouldn't imagine that the most spectacular part of the coast would be a hotel nestled inside mother nature's mountains just at the edge of the coast overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I was worried about not having a lot to do in the middle of Big Sur since I am not an experienced long distance hiker/climber, but you really don't have to stray from the hotel grounds. There is just so much beauty everywhere, from the hotel restaurant to the guest rooms. And by rooms I mean either suites perched cliffside hundreds of feet above the ocean, or tree houses (where we stayed) surrounded by mountain views and wildlife, with wood burning fireplaces and fully stocked minibars (without alcohol) with fresh juices and homemade chocolate chip cookies. We also saw a few celebrities when we were there. I can see why they go there because it's not stuffy at all, very low key yet it's 5 stars in every single way. The staff was attentive and friendly, and were helpful with recommendations. This is a unique experience that even if you are not that outdoorsy of a person, you will still love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I went to the Post Ranch Inn for our "mini-moon" in June. I was so incredibly excited. I booked the "romance" package months early. It was to include 3 nights stay in a tree house, two dinners, two massages and champagne in our room. We arrived to a misty day which I could not have been happier with. Our room wasn't ready so we headed to the restaurant for a boozy lunch. It was spectacular. Between the food, the views and wine parings, we were in heaven.

Then we got to our tree house. I have stayed all over the world in the fanciest of hotels and in some of the cheapest, but at over $1000 a night my expectations were not surprisingly very high. And the only word to describe this tree house was "meh." It just looked like it needed a redo. The carpet was dingy, the sheets on the bed were moderately soft (again, $1000 per night I want to melt into Egyptian cotton), the robes they provide were very old and the slippers were clearly used with someone else's foot indents. The bathroom just looked old and not in fun rustic way. There's a way to do rustic and elegance and this was all rustic with no elegance. The tree house did have charming points - it felt very secluded, had huge windows surrounded by trees and a deck that deer came up to (at a safe distance). But again, at that price I want LUXE. What we did get was a great relaxing getaway which was most important. The mini bar in the room is gratis which is a great touch. And again, the restaurant was really out of this world.

But at that price they simply must upgrade their rooms and amenities. As is, I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As others have said the setting is spectacular and all the staff we interacted with were friendly and professional. We did not spring for one of the most expensive rooms, thinking $1350 a night should get us something pretty special, but it didn't. The shower was part of the sunken tub, so difficult to get and out of for my wife who is short, and there was no door between the living area and the tub that seemed odd. Lighting in the room wasn't great either, and the leather couch in front of the fireplace was uncomfortable. Frankly this room was on the low end of place we've stayed for equivalent pricing.

Our dinner at Sierra Mar was the four course prix fixe (if a la carte was available it would be a nice touch) and $120 each. There was no Pinot Grigio, which surprised us, as did the high cost of the wines. The setting was lovely and the service was excellent, and was most of the food. A corn soup, sautéed duck liver and chocolate dessert were outstanding. That said,, a good piece of ahi tuna doesn't have the sinews that my wife's piece had, and my wild boar was bland. With a tab of almost $400 with no cocktails and one bottle of their least expensive wine it didn't feel like a great value, despite some excellent food.

So we have mixed feelings about this place. Kudos to the staff, but not sure the overall experience is in sync with the expense.

Green Features: This seems to be a priority which is great. The garden is organic and was fun to tour.
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank philipladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing