We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip was ruined by the greed of this hotel.”
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband of 38 years planned a trip to this hotel as a gift to me. He book the cliff house room. This is suppose to be the best room in the hotel. After confirming this three times over the months leading up to it. Even calling on Saturday June 1st and was told yes everything was fine. Knowing at that time that the room was giving to a guest of Sean Parker's wedding. Because he bought out Big Sur for 10 million dollars ! After flying from Florida and driving down from San Francisco we were offered a different room at a returning guest rate! Then told our room would be ready the last night of our stay. Not one manager came to talk to us they left it to the young man at reception to tell us. I would not recommend this hotel because they lied to us for months and right up to two days before our stay. Know that the wedding was already taking place. So money means more to the Post Ranch Inn than there guest!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
75  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. It was during Bill, Luci and Mary Post’s lifetime that the inn was conceived; this was after a century as a working cattle ranch. It was the Post’s beliefs to welcome all guests with the warmest of feelings and gracious hospitality, which they modeled for all of our employees to follow. Although they are no longer here with us, their wishes remain as our guideline. I apologize such a level of hospitality was not offered to you.

We regret your experience was so disappointing as it was never our intention to ruin your vacation. Thank you for acknowledging our attempt to remedy the situation. Nonetheless, our actions were regrettable and please know your experience and the way the situation was handled is not being taken lightly at any level. We have not lost sight of why the Post Ranch Inn has been here and will be for years to come; our guests. This instance is not consistent with the service on which we pride ourselves in. Although we cannot change the past, we hope these humble but sincere words help with the healing process. We would like to invite you back so may have the true ‘guest experience’ here at the Ranch.

With warm wishes,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a HUGE treat and we weren't let down. Despite it being very pricey we really felt we got our money's worth (!) - heavenly infinity hot tubs, roaring fires in the rooms, the softest linen you could imagine, an amazing picnic dinner assembled from the complementary food and drink in the fridge in the room, stunning sunsets with the complementary wine, beautiful trails and an absolutely delicious breakfast. The only slight let down was the army of Lexus vehicles driving around the site....something more modest would look so much better! All in all, the perfect over night romantic treat. We loved it!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Bdsey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

So I can't afford to stay here because its super expensive, but I did go for lunch and just have to say the food is incredible. So incredible that I didn't want to eat for the rest of the day. The view from the restaurant is stunning as it is cantilevered over a cliff looking out at the ocean. We wandered around the grounds a little and the place is unique. If you want to experience the California coast in all its awesome beauty then treat yourself to spending a little while right here. You won't be disappointed, and the memory will last long after you leave.

Room Tip: Treehouses just looke dincredibel, but I would go for a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Post Ranch Inn for only one night of our three-week California coast trip. We stayed in the 2-bedroom South Coast house (a quick drive or lovely 10 minute stroll from the main property) with our two teenagers. The house is simple but very comfortable, with a kitchen stocked with (complimentary) treats, a laid fire, ready for lighting in the fireplace, and a hot tub with a spectacular view. It is very private and quiet.

It was delightful to arrive at the property after a long drive and be handed a glass of champagne to enjoy during sign-in and a quick orientation to the property. This was just the first of this personal and friendly resort's charms.

We were a bit disappointed that the hot tub was not yet ready when we got there, but understood that it required time to get up to temperature and that the previous guests had left rather late. We were assured it should be ready by after dinner, and so it was.

We had made dinner reservations for sunset. Thankfully, the fog that we had driven through to get there rolled back in the late afternoon to reveal the jaw-dropping view. There is a little garden to the right of the restaurant with a bench where you can sit and take in the ocean and mountain view and the wonderful scents of the place -- the air is so fresh and redolent of wild dill, pine and flowers. We had a magical and delicious dinner perched far above the ocean, followed by a return to our house for a hot tub under the brilliant stars and conversation by the fire.

We enjoyed the provided breakfast the next morning. Our teens spotted the young celebrity at the next table, but, like good Canadians, pretended not to notice him, so he could enjoy his privacy.

My daughter and I hiked the trails and saw deer and wild turkeys, and explored the property's vegetable and flower gardens.. We then enjoyed a massage. When we returned to the house to reluctantly pack up and move on down the coast, I found my husband back in the hot tub, enjoying the view and a cigar.

We all agreed that this is a special place and one we would love to come back to some day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelling_Circus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I have always read about post ranch inn being a top rated hotel
And have wanted to come here. It definately lives up to its reputation.
So here I am staying in one of their amazing treehouses. The treehouse has beautiful views and a very cozy bed. Decorated perfectly for its surroundings and has the best homemade cookies in the cookie jar. The staff are exceptional and when they tell you how much they enjoy working here I think that says a lot. Wonderful breakfast and dinner in a very relaxing restaurant with exceptional views of the I ocean. The infinity pool which looks over the pacific is one place everyone should have on their bucket list. Loved hiking on the property and seeing deers walk by. Cannot say enough about post ranch and will definately be back to try one of the ocean houses next.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the 'cheap' butterfly rooms. It was outstanding. The first day we arrived it was cold and foggy. No worries! We started a real wood fire, got our complimentary hummus and crackers out, opened a bottle of wine, and put our feet up. Very nice. The room was very private. We were shocked the next morning when the fog lifted to see we were looking at a mountain. Beautiful.

We hiked trails, saw deer, visited the infinity pools, watched dolphins and whales... What more could you want?

Service was impeccable.

The only flaw was the restaurant. It just really wasn't very good. They only offer a tasting menu for lunch and dinner, and it just didn't hit the mark. Very expensive and not very tasty. We're from the Chicago area and love good food. I've read complaints about portion sizes, but they were as expected from a tasting menu. It just didn't taste very good. Room service was better. Breakfast was good. Lots of fresh fruits and veggies.

The bar was great.

We'll be back. I see from other reviews we aren't the only ones who didn't love the restaurant, so hopefully they will change things there. If that happens, I'll be hard pressed to complain about anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyValpoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we stayed a night here. Just amazing bungalow with a nice fireplace and great coastal views. This place is a must stop if you are driving the coastal road and want to relax for a day or two.

Spa treatments are high quality, though a bit expensive.

Room that we had had a very nice bath with a view, a great fireplace and an excellent bed. Just perfect for a romantic hideaway!

Restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. Food was not very high level, even though it has been said to be that. Chef changed maybe?

Pool. They have a nice pool with and amazing view there aswell. Check it out!

Room Tip: book a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleFox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
382 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
22.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
917 reviews
22.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $900 - $1,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing