We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable weekend”
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Reserved a Coast room but because we are an I Preferred member, we were upgraded to an Ocean room. These are really close to the Restaurant and Jade Pool (Infinity heated pool). The service was impeccable, the food totally delicious. The room was Really private with incredible views even from the bed of the ocean and stars at night. Very relaxing. From the time we checked in with complimentary wine and champagne, robes to use at the pools since we arrived early. When we were checking out, Employee #1 (22 years ago) picked us up in one of their Lexus Hybrids and was very cordial and pleasant to talk to. You could really tell how he loves working there. The Astromer was great and they have an awesome telescope to share with the guests. We saw whales off the shore. We've been to a lot of 4-5 star resorts but this is a 5+++.

Room Tip: Looking for a romantic, relaxing place --- This is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanJoseMarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of the most amazing properties I've ever been to. My husband & I were married here, and we try to come back every once in a while. The excellent service, gorgeous surroundings & wonderful food consistently surpass our expectations. The prices have gotten quite high, but you quickly forget as you sink into the luxury of Post Ranch. Our favorite time of year to come is late February. There's nothing like having breakfast at their restaurant, Sierra Mar (floor to ceiling windows looking out onto the coast) while watching whales migrate in the distance. My favorite type of room is the ocean house, but the tree house is pretty cool, too.

Room Tip: My favorite type of room is the ocean house, but the tree house is pretty cool, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank suncinwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perched on a cliff! Could not afford the units on the cliff so we were on the other side of the road, but still with a woodsy mountain view. EXPENSIVE! But hell, what is $$ for ?! Ate their twice for dinner , at sunset, and it was glorious. Spent one day at the vanishing edge pool just to relax overlooking the Pacific. Treat yourself for a couple of days for that special occasion.

Room Tip: Unless you have big bucks, go for the mountain view as all day you see the Pacific & the pool &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a brief visit here on a birthday drive up the coast highway all the way to Monteray from San Diego. Post Ranch was the highlight of the trip!! Right from pulling up the personalized service was impeccable. We were well greeted and had champagne in hand before we even sat down. Everyone at the property we spoke to had worked there a considerable number of years - clearly a great place and good management.

Room was incredible - we had a top level Coast room with uninterrupted views of the Pacific.

Sierra Mar restaurant was top notch - did the prix fix with wine pairing. Food was excellent - in particular the octopus cooked on a charred log - divine! Wine was OK, pairings often lagged well behind the course, and the Somilier lacked characther (my only gripe the whole trip)!

Service was impeccable - every small request was fulfilled to the letter - whether it was putting tealights around the spa tub when we were out for dinner, sending a bottle of champagne to the spa pool or building us a nice fire. Property is beautiful too - views great, many opportunities for great walks. Love that the complimentary minibar was well stocked.

Definitely going to be staying again later this year!

Room Tip: Coast Room - top floor gives past value for uninterrupted views without the full price of the Pacifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robotronic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We drove the big sur coastline looking for accommodations for the night. It was early in the day and we stopped at several other inns/motels to have a look. We knew we would able able to make it to San Francisco if needed. When we stopped at Post Ranch Inn there was not a doubt that we could stay at this resort for a week. Very expensive but worth it. Everything is done top notch. We had a cabin overlooking the pacific with wood burning fireplace. We spent most of our time in the infinity hot tub and on our deck. Breakfast to our room was fresh and delightful. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, not my favorite. Nice grounds to enjoy the numerous sculptures placed. Very quiet as they shuttle you to your cabin in an electric lexus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladybugSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a sophisticated dinner at the Post Ranch Inn...amazing place...great service.. Exquisite food and choice vines...rather pricy of course but worth the experience...add the amazing setting of Big Sur and it is one of those moments to remember forever

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Amazing views. The most beautiful hotel in all of California BY FAR. Excellent customer service, rooms, food, atmosphere, I could go on all day..... The website doesn't even do it justice. You must go check it out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
361 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.7 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $934 - $2,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Preferred Hotels and TravelUp so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing