We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“beyond perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
azusa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“beyond perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of the most amazing properties I've ever been to. My husband & I were married here, and we try to come back every once in a while. The excellent service, gorgeous surroundings & wonderful food consistently surpass our expectations. The prices have gotten quite high, but you quickly forget as you sink into the luxury of Post Ranch. Our favorite time of year to come is late February. There's nothing like having breakfast at their restaurant, Sierra Mar (floor to ceiling windows looking out onto the coast) while watching whales migrate in the distance. My favorite type of room is the ocean house, but the tree house is pretty cool, too.

Room Tip: My favorite type of room is the ocean house, but the tree house is pretty cool, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suncinwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    95
    46
    18
    24
See reviews for
59
838
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort lee , new jersey
Level Contributor
527 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perched on a cliff! Could not afford the units on the cliff so we were on the other side of the road, but still with a woodsy mountain view. EXPENSIVE! But hell, what is $$ for ?! Ate their twice for dinner , at sunset, and it was glorious. Spent one day at the vanishing edge pool just to relax overlooking the Pacific. Treat yourself for a couple of days for that special occasion.

Room Tip: Unless you have big bucks, go for the mountain view as all day you see the Pacific & the pool &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a brief visit here on a birthday drive up the coast highway all the way to Monteray from San Diego. Post Ranch was the highlight of the trip!! Right from pulling up the personalized service was impeccable. We were well greeted and had champagne in hand before we even sat down. Everyone at the property we spoke to had worked there a considerable number of years - clearly a great place and good management.

Room was incredible - we had a top level Coast room with uninterrupted views of the Pacific.

Sierra Mar restaurant was top notch - did the prix fix with wine pairing. Food was excellent - in particular the octopus cooked on a charred log - divine! Wine was OK, pairings often lagged well behind the course, and the Somilier lacked characther (my only gripe the whole trip)!

Service was impeccable - every small request was fulfilled to the letter - whether it was putting tealights around the spa tub when we were out for dinner, sending a bottle of champagne to the spa pool or building us a nice fire. Property is beautiful too - views great, many opportunities for great walks. Love that the complimentary minibar was well stocked.

Definitely going to be staying again later this year!

Room Tip: Coast Room - top floor gives past value for uninterrupted views without the full price of the Pacifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robotronic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We drove the big sur coastline looking for accommodations for the night. It was early in the day and we stopped at several other inns/motels to have a look. We knew we would able able to make it to San Francisco if needed. When we stopped at Post Ranch Inn there was not a doubt that we could stay at this resort for a week. Very expensive but worth it. Everything is done top notch. We had a cabin overlooking the pacific with wood burning fireplace. We spent most of our time in the infinity hot tub and on our deck. Breakfast to our room was fresh and delightful. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, not my favorite. Nice grounds to enjoy the numerous sculptures placed. Very quiet as they shuttle you to your cabin in an electric lexus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybugSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a sophisticated dinner at the Post Ranch Inn...amazing place...great service.. Exquisite food and choice vines...rather pricy of course but worth the experience...add the amazing setting of Big Sur and it is one of those moments to remember forever

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Amazing views. The most beautiful hotel in all of California BY FAR. Excellent customer service, rooms, food, atmosphere, I could go on all day..... The website doesn't even do it justice. You must go check it out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

It will be by far one of the most treasured and most memorable retreat. My husband surprised me knowing how much I love Northern Ca. You're immediately greeted and treated like a celebrity... upon arrival they take your luggage off your hands and help you refresh from your trip getting there.Offering you a cold beverage or nice glass of wine then you're quickly driven to your hidden room under the flowers as I like to say.When you get to your room the music is set to the most soothing music and you have a welcome tray of cheese and fruit. Simple, but soo welcoming. I LOVE TREES and the outdoors so you can only imagine this place was like jumping into a dream for me where you can retreat into the trees and disappear. The morning hike through the redwoods (which is guided by the owner) is an experience. He manages this tour and hike while on a segway the entire time which is pretty funny. The story of how Post Ranch came to be and created and continually working towards a more organic and sustainable retreat is pretty amazing. We had a couples spa massage set up in the room and then had the most amazing sky welcome us to dinner and the outdoor infinity pool is wonderful!! I felt very fortunate to be able to stay here and to be able to experience 3 days of complete relaxation. What we really enjoyed was that it felt like we were the only ones there you don't have the crowds or people in your space it's soo private and remote and BEAUTIFUL!! Perfect place to spend an anniversary or any special event. LOVED IT

Room Tip: The ocean suites have the dreamlike surreal quality of making you feel as if you are in a dream. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing