We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just left Post Ranch Inn, on our way back to San Francisco and I had to write this review on the ride home because I can't get this beautiful experience out of my head. First of all the staff was the most genuinely caring and considerate staff I have ever encountered, especially Eugene Jauregui the Front Desk Representative. He was so charming and accommodating to our every want and need without hesitation. The personal attention that he gave to us was spectacular. We are two insanely picky, very well traveled men and we have never experienced such perfection as we did at Post Ranch. The property has unsurpassed beauty from the sprawling ocean side views on one side to majestic mountain views on our other. The Ocean view cabin on the cliff was everything a man could dream to experience. Watching the sunset from the infinity pool next to our cabin was life changing. Every detail of the cabin was designed to perfection. Wood, concrete and glass with metal was in complete harmony with nature. The cliff side restaurant was not only visually stunning but was also 5 star dining. We sat on the deck listening to the waves crash below while we sipped on amazing cocktails awaiting our meal. We had trout tartar with crispy skin, an heirloom beet salad to start and for our main course we had the big sur chanterelle risotto and yellowtail tuna. It was everything! A true culinary feast. The staff was inviting , personable and knowledgeable which we appreciate. It is by far the best experience we have ever had traveling be it across the globe or a long weekend down the coast. I know the saying goes, I left my heart in San Francisco but I think my heart just found new digs. Bravo and Thank You Post Ranch and your wonderful staff. George Falcon and James Mackey

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Twomentraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    91
    44
    18
    23
See reviews for
53
787
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is, no doubt, a stunning resort. However! Don't expect special treatment, even when you book months in advance and are willing to spend $2,600 per night for the best rooms. This review is mostly for those who are coming here to celebrate a significant event-- and after our experience, it’s probably not a good idea to try and coincide this with a holiday.

It seems romantic to choose a small Hotel for a wedding. However, after years of experience you realize that when the chips are down certain well known, large Hotel groups fall over themselves to fix your problems and smaller Hotels have the potential to leave you out in the cold to dry. Sadly the Post Ranch Inn fits the latter description.

We had booked here to renew our vows and requested one of their newest,Ocean Front rooms. We had stayed at The Post Ranch Inn five times prior. We loved the place. On check in I realized they had given us the wrong room type and mentioned it, but wasn’t too worried as I had booked the best room overlooking the ocean-- and they assured me that I would love the room they were going to allocate to us.

We checked in at 10.30 am and I felt as we were so early, that they would definitely get us into the right type of room as the day progressed. No one came to find us on the property to say otherwise. As this is a small resort they could have tracked us down to let us know how things were going, so we assumed all was well.

We went to get our keys at four. We did not end up with what we thought we had booked. Although I had booked a newer room we ended up with an older one. I needed to get unpacked and organized as the next day we had a wedding to get on with, so I was really quite upset. All our photos were to be in the newer room with a balcony. We went to see the front desk to ask what had happened and they assured us that by tomorrow they would have the right room, which wasn’t a great help as I couldn’t unpack!

What you need to do here is actually reserve the exact room you want which really means a prior visit a year before the actual event.

While waiting for the room we had lunch. We waited two hours to get our main course. During this time a waiter dumped an ice bucket over us (and also the guests next to us)-- and only a brief apology was made. We had sat down at 1.00 and I finally left without eating at 3.00, it would be dark in two hours, and I wanted to enjoy the property.

We were going to eat that evening at the restaurant Sierra Del Mar (a lovely spot) but as no real apology about the room or lunch was forthcoming and as much as it would be a huge hassle for us, we decided to go down to the desk and discuss the possibilities of checking out and rebooking at another time. We were genuinely worried. There were several other weddings on the same weekend, it was very busy and the Hotel seemed 'off' in general. Our event did coincided with a holiday and The Post Ranch could have been overwhelmed, however this is an intimate and very expensive resort and you really do need to know they are interested in the welfare of their guests during their stay!

The lovely front desk manager persuaded us not to leave and assured us we would have the correct room by at least 2.00 the next day. This was pushing it as the ceremony was at 4.00! All of these arrangements had been booked through the Post Ranch yet they seemed to have no understanding how the coordination of a wedding works. How can you have only two hours to both unpack and prepare?

The next morning when we had breakfast; it was unusual to observe that there was no one clearing your table or coming over to ask if you needed anything, it was totally self service, which is not how it had been in the past. After breakfast my husband went to check on the progress of our new room and was then told it may not be available at all??? Seriously?!

At this point we decided to see the GM so we could discuss the situation.

The GM was rude and abrasive. He was completely unaware that we had a wedding planned and basically told us to leave. We were absolutely astonished. He said that we were difficult and the staff was worried that they couldn’t do anything right for us! I explained that not getting the right room in the beginning, having water and ice spilled on us at lunch, then waiting two hours for lunch to arrive and having no help at all at breakfast was not in fact ‘being difficult’! In fact these were things that were the Hotel’s responsibility to get right or make amends for and at no point had we even made a big fuss about any of these events! Interestingly, unlike larger hotel groups, there was absolutley no loyalty from him regarding our past five stays with The Post Ranch.

We explained that leaving at this point would obviously be a huge inconvenience and totally ruin our occasion! If we were going to leave it would have been the day before, as discussed. We would have had to cancel the ceremony, flowers etc and all that goes with renewing vows. We were horrified. He then started making wild accusations, accusing us of having six people in our room and numerous guests coming that were not allowed for. We booked for five and that’s who was coming! It showed this on the records at the hotel. Really quite a bizarre situation.

Finally the GM moved us to another room, absolutely not the type we had booked. Although it did have a view, it was not intimate at all; it was the top floor of a very large unit with no charm. At this point we just dealt with it.

The wedding was lovely; thank goodness for the person who performed the ceremony, she was fabulous-- as were the flowers and the photographer. At no point did anyone from the management call to see if we needed anything and when we left no inquires were made as to if we had enjoyed the ceremony, or indeed were any apologies ever made.

Instead of lingering, we left early the next day, we had been looking forward to the idea of relaxing on the beautiful property, this was now quite impossible. So many other criteria that shape a hotel are just as important as location: in this case the lack of compassion and an 'out of touch' GM tainted what should have been a unique and happy experience at what used to be, a wonderful and attentive establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank TrendyGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

“I’d been reading and hearing about, and wanting to visit Post Ranch Inn for at least 10 years! For whatever reason, a stay there never fell into place until our last trip over New Year’s. Suffice it to say, upfront and center: it is for very good reason that this property is known to be one of the very best in the world. It certainly is. Period. If your finances allow, stay for minimum three days. If you are on a tighter budget: go for one night as part of a Carmel / Monterey area stay. It is one of the USA’s most expensive places to stay – but worth every penny. The service is impeccable – staff is always respectful and available to assist in any way possible, yet are not obtrusive nor overt.

What a spectacular setting that words really can’t well-describe, with its casual, outdoorsy meets ultra-luxe attributes, it is an experience like none other. Quiet and serene marked by rustic elegance. Minimal and chic, the property makes sure to take full advantage of its natural surroundings. The whole place seems to float above the Pacific, providing the most stunning coastline views I’ve seen (and I’ve been around). The deck outside our room quickly became one of my favorite reading spots – and evenings spent watching the sun go down from the outdoor hot tub at the edge of the cliff, watching whales breeching - were simply magnificent and deeply relaxing. Two nights in a row, we stayed basking in the heat, in the cooling air, for two hours after sundown. Morning yoga classes in the yurt were a great start to the day and counter to all of the hiking; followed by a remarkable breakfast buffet at Sierra Mar – the most delicious baked goods and fresh fruits outside of your own home.

A real standout was the night I spent stargazing with my boyfriend. There is a resident astronomer on site who pointed out the magic while we sat wrapped up in cashmere, a glass of California cabernet in hand. It was so magical – the closest night sky I’ve seen to the Omani desert and African bush.

Should also mention, dinner at Sierra Mar is not to be missed. The menu changes daily, always featuring the freshest of California fare made with grass fed meats, wild/organic fish and organic produce. Cliff top ocean-view dining doesn’t get much better than this. heir award-winning wine cellar has over 14,000 bottles and 2,600 selections. It was recently honored by Wine Spectator with its prestigious Grand Award, one of only 3 new recipients in 2012 to receive the honor.

The Post Ranch is just perfect for a retreat into nature that will awaken your mind, relax your body, and lighten your soul. Privacy and peace are at the core of this hotel and there is as much or as little activity as one desires with top hiking trails and easy walking trail variety.We’ve already planned a Spring trip back to hike amongst the wild flowers!”

Room Tip: The Inn’s unique, modern cabins are all about the vistas. Choose an ocean view or mountain view when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

For years I'd heard about how fabulous the Post Ranch Inn is. Maybe the expectation was just too great for the experience to live up to it. We were unable to have any spa treatments during our visit because the spa was being renovated. Everyone neglected to give us this information until we were checked in and settled in our room. To add insult to injury, the next day we saw a woman with a portable massage table heading down the hill so we called to find out about that. We were told that oh - you could have had your spa treatment in your room - but again, no one told us that, even when we tried to book with the spa. Also it was impossible to nap during the day because they gave us a room next to the spa (under renovation) so the hammering and sawing was really loud and obnoxious. In fairness to the staff, they did take a bit off our bill when we left, but that doesn't make up for the fact that we would have chosen a different time to go had we had full disclosure upon booking. Also in fairness, the property is truly beautiful and the food was very good (except for the bread) although quite overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Angeltraveler247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Angeltraveler247

Thank you for taking the time to share your remarks regarding your recent stay at the Ranch. I apologize your stay fell short of your expectations as well as our own.

We acknowledge there was some minimal improvement work taking place within our spa treatment suites at the time of your stay. Such activity was not intended to impact your stay in the least. Indeed spa treatments are always available to take place in the comfort of your own guest room at no additional cost in the event our spa treatment suites are not available. We regret you were not properly made aware of this option. Nonetheless, your concerns did not go unheard by the Guest Service Representative who assisted you with the check-out process as she amended your balance significantly in addition to gifting you with a token of apology in the form of a spa certificate for your next visit. The amount of the rate reduction and the spa gift totaled close to $1000.00. Accordingly we were surprised you chose to follow through with your rather dismal review about your experience since we feel we had adequately addressed your dissatisfaction even before you departed.

We thank you for your kind remarks regarding our property and Sierra Mar’s food and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property at another time so we may restore your faith in us.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact me directly.

With warm wishes,

Dan Priano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Post Ranch Inn was the first stop on our two-week long honeymoon road trip up the west coast. It was everything we could have imagined and more, we cant wait to return.

Pros:
- location
- wonderful staff
- private and romantic
- complimentary mini-bar
- delicious comp breakfast

Cons
-refrigerator humming noise all night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really great place, worth every cent. We stayed 3 nights over New Years and had an great dinner, lunch during our stay. We stayed in the tree house and the room was lovely. I can't wait to go back. We drove to Monterey one day and saw wild otters. The drive to the post ranch inn is spectacular from both directions, but another day we didn't leave the property and just enjoyed the walks around the property.

Room Tip: We liked the tree house if you don't want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonFoodLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From arrival to departure every tiny detail was exquisite! There is no reason to leave the property - you wouldn't want to. Our accommodations, surroundings, meals and interactions with other guests and staff were unlike anyplace we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieH0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing