We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carpinteria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If there was a higher rating than excellent I would give it. My husband and I have never spent this much money to stay somewhere. This is not within our budget but we decided to splurge and it was worth every penny. From the moment we talked to Lorena in reservations we were shown extraordinary customer service. When we arrived we were warmly greeted with Champagne and by Martine. The bellman who escorted us to our room was equally warm and helpful. Everyone treated each other and us like family. We stayed in the first tree house. It blew us away. To be in the redwoods with an unobstructed ocean view in such comfort and luxury was such a unique experience. All the little details and special touches from the fresh baked cookies to the bath salts and loofah to use in the jacuzzi bath tub made it even more special. Not one detail was overlooked and every member of the staff made us feel at home. If you want to feel relaxed and at peace I cannot think of a better place to go. As soon as we got home we started a "Post Ranch Inn Fund" so we can go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hector T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    91
    44
    18
    23
See reviews for
53
787
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you can't stay there overnight($$$$), visit the wonderful restaurant for lunch or early dinner.(before its too dark)Breakfast is for guests only.
The view is so amazing and the restaurant is so beautiful,that you will find yourself taking photos the entire time (no matter how many times you will be there)...
The food is great(if you will be lucky enough to visit in Duck Pizza season,dont hesitate)& the service is friendly.
A must place!
Big Sur area is beautiful beyond words,and for such a small little place it has so many great restaurants.Amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sigalitfs s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

What an amazing hotel but not really a hotel at all more of a five star retreat, there is so much I could say about PRI it is simply wonderful - our room a top level ocean room had a clear view of the ocean nothing to block the view the sunrise and sunset and the stars at night were nothing short of spectacular - all natural light, wood burning fire that you did yourself, a fridge full of goodies with the most yummie cookies that were replaced daily and a spa bath made of natural stone with doors opening onto the terrace and that amazing view totally private not another person or neighbour in sight. The service was first class and the walks in the 100 acre grounds and the basking infinity pools wow - we were there fro New Years Eve and had a fab dinner in the restaurant - we did not want to leave but did and drove the pacific coast highway to LA the best drive in the world words cannot sum up the Big Sur

Room Tip: We had room 125 - upper level full ocean view - only the sky and the ocean to be seen - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matchdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed only one night, 12/25/12. What a Merry Christmas! After a wonderful meal at the restaurant we retired to our room at about 10pm but it was cold, windy and pouring rain. Didn't matter. We braved the elements and settled into the soaking tub on our deck, which was in one of the Upper Pacific Suites. It was amazing to see the whitecaps on the raging Pacific 1200' below in the moonlight after a passing Pacific storm. Not many places where you can experience that.

The fireplace in our room had real kindling and real wood. We had to light it and stoke it. So unusual and so awesome these days. Kept our room very toasty.

The next morning we had an in-room couples massage. Great therapists, great experience. The sun was peeking out between the clouds and that added to the ambiance. Afterwards, my wife and I soaked again in the tub in better conditions. The sun was out and the Pacific was calm. The air was cool but enjoyable.

We checked out late but were never rushed. We sent our bags and car keys down and they took care of the rest. All we had to do was sign the bill and drive away. We hated to leave.

Northern California in the winter is something that everyone should experience. It's not warm... it's not cold... well, maybe a bit cold. But no snow. It's simply spectacular. I've been twice to Tahiti and Big Sur rivals it in every way, in its own way. And Post Ranch Inn brings the best of Big Sur to you. Give it a shot. If you have the right state of mind, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Upper Pacific Suites do not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MileHighJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, and it was truly a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the Pacific suits, it was clean, gorgeous, and had an amazing view. The bar fridge was stocked with drinks (wine, and champagne included) and food (nuts, crackers, cheeses, candy, chips, etc...) Room service was quick and very friendly. The spa services were fantastic, we had gotten in room massages, and the masseuses were unbelievably great. The hiking trails were so beautiful, we saw deer, turkeys, bob cats, and tons of birds. The entire place had breathtaking views from very angle. You won't be disappointed.

My only complaints would be that below us they were doing some construction in the room. It wasn't terribly loud, however when we were getting our massages, you could hear it. The tub in the bathroom had mineral deposits everywhere, it looked really gross. Needless to say we didn't take any baths (luckily there was a soaking tub on the balcony). Other than that this place was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called Meadows, it was more private, remote, and had a gorgeous view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiss925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a room reserved for two nights over the Christmas holiday-- and actually never stayed at the hotel. We unfortunately got caught between two landslides that closed down the 1 freeway during a heavy rainstorm at night, and no one could get north to Big Sur or south to San Simeon. While we were huddled at the only open restaurant with a lot of other stranded travelers, we made a wifi call to a friend, who then called Post Ranch Inn to say we couldn't get there. They immediately said that they would refund our pre-paid room charge, AND they called around and found us the last available hotel room (a yurt, actually!) on that stretch of the highway. While the drive to the yurt was harrowing, we did make it and were very thankful to not have to sleep in the car. The hotel staff is incredible, and I can only imagine what it must be like if we had actually managed to stay there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bvalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Of all the fantastic places on the face of the Earth I've been fortunate enough to experience, Post Ranch Inn is the hands down favorite. I can't get enough of it, and it's difficult to explain why.

It's simply the most rejuvenating place you can possibly go.

When a "busy" day consists of sleeping late, watching the deer wander by, reading a good book, staring at the fire, breaking briefly for the best massages anywhere, taking time out to enjoy the spectacular view from Sierra Mar for lunch, back to reading, time for a nap, perhaps a hike or workout if you're feeling ambitious, and then a fantastic dinner back at Sierra Mar, you can't go wrong.

Rooms are comfortable, staff is incredibly friendly (and when I say friendly, we actually consider them friends), it feels like "home" upon your return, scenery is breathtaking, wildlife is abundant, and no matter what the weather (rain, fog, or shine) you feel like it's been a good day.

Sierra Mar was just re-awarded Wine Spectator's Grand Award thanks to the efforts of one of the most brilliant wine directors in the country (Dominique DaCruz). Make sure to ask for the "big" wine list of 130+ pages, and let Dominique, Michael, or Wanda choose the wine for you. If you're willing, ask them to bring something you've never heard of--it'll be spectacular.

Sierra Mar's new chef John Cox has outdone himself with the new menu, including an extended multi-course tasting menu for dinner, and consistently fantastic food dish after dish. The restaurant and its chef will stand on its own alongside any top notch dining experience in the country. Do I see Michelin stars in the future?

Leave your cell phone, computer, iPad, or other electronic devices put away, or better yet, forget you even have them. Post Ranch is perfect for completely unplugging and recharging like we just don't do anymore--take advantage of it.

Is it expensive? You betcha. But there's a big difference between price and value--PRI's value is off the charts.

Whether for one night or several, dare to splurge--you're worth it!

Counting down the days until our return...

Room Tip: There's no such thing as a "bad" room. Even the least expensive is incredibly comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RKLeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing