We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pampered Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pampered Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

On this trip, we've journeyed from Los Angeles to Pismo Beach, Paso Robles, Big Sur and San Francisco, retracing our honeymoon drive up Highway One along the California Coast more years ago than we'd like to admit. We stayed at very wonderful, first class places along the way, but Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur is in a class by itself. The property setting and view is breathtaking, even when the cliffs below are shrouded in fog.

Our earlier than expected reception was excellent with Fred providing helpful information, offering hiking tips and providing us with one of the complimentary Lexus automobile to use to get around while our room was being prepared. Our room was memorable and fully stocked, with an ocean front, cliff view, a large jacuzzi hot tub with private windows, an inviting fireplace and a very comfortable king bed. Rustic but elegant. Dinner at the signature Sierra Mar Restaurant was also an excellent experience with attentive service and star gazing in the courtyard through the large telescope at meal's end. The full breakfast the next morning was leisurely and substantial. Although we only stayed one evening due to our schedule, we reluctantly had to leave.

The room rates are set in their portion of the stratosphere because of the value and service you receive in return. We'll be back.

Room Tip: While the "Tree Houses" (more like houses on poles in the woods) are unique in themselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    96
    48
    18
    24
See reviews for
59
851
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last week as part of a two week trip to the USA. It is pricey but worth it as it is a unique place with the highest quality staff, accommodation and scenery.

We stayed in the Brazil tree house which was fantastic in every way. The small touches made it - such as the binoculars to watch wildlife, complimentary but #good# minibar/snacks and Bose sound system (though we did have to unplug this at night as it made a hum!) We didn't have a view of the sea but sleeping in a treehouse with a view of the Cali woods suited us just fine - it was MEGA!

The weather was foggy while we were there but the sun burned though in the day and we had some great walks around the ranch, dips in the infinity pool and good sized swimming pool and even a chi-trail run! We didn't have any treatments or go to the free yoga so if you're into those so much the better.

The only possible let down was the food at dinner (breakfast was great) - we would have expected Michelin-star quality in a place like this but it was just below that in our opinion, though still nice. A larger selection of wines by the glass would be good too.

The staff deserve a special mention-in particular all the maids, drivers and helpers as well as the great lady running the dining area. This contributed to the overall feel of calm and welcome that pervaded the ranch.

Yes it's expensive but it is still good value for money-if you want a unique experience go here for at least two nights if you can!

Room Tip: We loved the treehouse-where else can you get the chance to sleep in the trees and see the stars fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandD1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having stayed here before it was with great anticipation we arrived at the Post Ranch Inn. One immediately picks up on the ethos of this place - environmentally friendly - by the rows of solar panels that provide power for this facility. The accommodation is built to blend in with its surroundings be it on the edge of the cliff overlooking the ocean or in the woods.

From the moment you arrive at reception - having gone through a security checkpoint - you are assured of a warm and efficient welcome. The staff seem genuinely happy to work there and look after their guests. Having asked a number of them 'off the record' what they thought about working there, they all replied it was a great place to be with great energy and they felt motivated.
Refreshments are offered during booking in while your luggage is unloaded onto one of their Lexus hybrid cars. Your transport is parked away in a secure area. No vehicles or petrol fumes are allowed in the guest zones.
We had a beautiful room over looking the ocean with a patio where one can sit for hours mesmerised by the patterns of the water far below. Birds wheeling in the sky, hummingbirds eating feet from you, flora and fauna around you. This is a special place to relax, unwind, re connect with nature and possibly the person you are with!
Natural wood burning fires are in your room if the season or mood warrants it. Going to sleep by the light of wood logs burning is still pretty mystical.
Everything from the bathroom, entertainment (no TV), kitchen area (everything in the fridge is free including wine, water in recyclable glass bottles, biscuits, juice, cheese, crackers etc.
They have thought of everything.
They have an amazing restaurant where breakfast, lunch and dinner is available perched on the edge of the cliff with spectacular views. The food is plentiful and of first class quality. Formal? No. Some people turned up for breakfast in their bath robes having walked bare feet the short distance through the redwoods to the restaurant.
There are two infinity plunge pools also perched on the cliff edge where most people are silent gazing out to see taking in the view and fresh air.
There is plenty to do if you feel active. Yoga, swimming, beautiful walks through the grounds, cycling. They have a first rate spa if you want to be pampered and a library.
All of this is not cheap. However if you believe de stressing, relaxing, re connecting with the world around you and enjoying natural beauty is priceless then you will be happy to pay their prices and thinking about when you can next come back as you are driving away. Top marks to the team, the facility and the location.

Room Tip: All of the facilities are first rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stargazer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The property itself is a work of art, both God and man. It is my favorite place in hte whole world; we try to go every year. Yes, it is expensive, but I feel for the experience, it is worth every penny. If you are on a tighter budget, try a Treehouse or Butterfly room, which are more affordable. We try to always stay in a coast house, which offers th most privacy. Basking pools and big pool in the meadow are amazing. No TVs in the room....yay! Massively indulgent mini bar is no charge, including nice wines, cheese and crackers and lots of other goodies. They are now quite eco-friendly, but humble about it. Service is truly unmatched; we consider all of the staff to be our friends and look forward to seeing them every year. Only downside: you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmrussellphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the PRI last month in what was described as the best room on the property. We had stunning views above the clouds and a lovely patio. The room was very nice but small. The fireplace was lovely. The mini bar was stocked with both gourmet and non gournet items (think Snickers!). We spent a lot fo time in the "main" hot tub. It was too hot due to lack of shade, hot tub made of part metal and water temp 104 degrees. Many guests we encountered complained about it. The pool was at the remote end of the property and the other less hot tub was not as appealling due to location, view and convenience. The food was great but portions were very small. There were many small tweaks that the hotel could make to really make it 5 star. In our opinion, the best thing about this place was the location.

Room Tip: Splurge on a single water facing villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent Labor Day weekend at Post Ranch. Never usually stay the whole trip on a resort's property, but there was absolutely no reason to leave. Coastal setting is one of the best in the world. You're surrounded by beauty everywhere you look. The staff is phenomenal and accommodating. Close enough to LA that it's perfect for a long weekend getaway. Will definitely be coming back many more times.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The easy bits:
- location: extraordinary. Completely tranquil despite being minutes off the highway. Coastal setting is often surreal with the clouds covering the ocean way below but don't forget to look inland and walk the grounds which are a different world - stop in the secret meadow when no one is around
- dining: food is mostly very good / the wine list is recovering from a recent sale of the business. The dining room setting is amazing but the kitchen works hard to let the food speak for itself
- staff: outstanding
The potentially challenging bits:
- rooms: compared with other high end hotels, the rooms are a bit basic and not large but they absolutely match the surroundings and work perfectly in the setting
- cost: it is expensive but it is a one off special place that once you decide to go you need to just forget the cost and let a different, more spiritual world wash over you.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AgentT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
3.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing