We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations”
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 26, 2012

From the moment we drove in to Post Ranch Inn and the attendants met us at the car and called us by name it was magical. The setting is unbeatable, high on the cliffs above Big Sur while still nestled in amongst the redwoods. We were offered champagne while we waited for our bellman to drive us to our room (and allowed to check in early), then got a personal tour of the property and were checked into our room. We had the least expensive room, in the Butterfly area, and it was so nice it made us giggle. The atmosphere was rustic while still being luxurious. Our small private deck had a view of the gorgeous mountains and redwoods; the more expensive rooms had ocean views and many were stand alone. There were people in the building above us but we never heard them at all. We had a real fireplace and a kitchenette stocked with gourmet cheese, chocolates, nuts, juice, soda, which was all replaced the next day for free and 2 half bottles of wine, which were not. Since this was a birthday celebration we also had champagne, and the morning of my birthday I found a personalized birthday card. Everyone knew it was my birthday and everyone, from the concierge to the waiter at dinner wished me happy birthday. The basking infinity pools overlooked the ocean and with the binoculars provided in the room we could watch grey whales migrating while we basked. They also had hiking trails and hidden "quiet spots" with hammocks or benches to relax. Breakfast was amazing and the dinner was worth the cost, in a dining room with floor to ceiling windows where you could watch the sunset. I tried the yoga class, which was low key and a good workout and the workout room was quite well supplied. Everyone who worked at the resort was very nice and hard working and all the guests were very happy. Several commented that although this is an expensive place to stay you didn't mind because it was so worth it. We couldn't agree more.

Room Tip: Even though we had the least expensive room it was very nice. We met people in the more expensive r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catdoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

we had a magical time at the post ranch a while back now. just started writing reviews on tripadvisor but thought it was worth going back to cover this as it was absolutely spectacular. everything from the views, the infinity pool perched over the pacific, the food (outstanding) and the grounds were out of this world.If you were to rate a hotel as a 1 being worth travelling across a continent for (2 for travelling across a country, 3 for travelling across a city) this would be a 1.
Great hotel on a great trip down the californian coast

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pillarofhercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We live in Pebble Beach and took our international visitors to lunch here today.
It was a 10/10 day, whales migrating North, sparkling sea and a superb luncheon and wines (Hanzell 2009 Chardonay - one of the top whites made in USA).

I have been to a lot of exotic places and I've eaten in many good restaurants around the World, but I cannot think of a more enjoyable experience than today.
Food is very reasonably priced and excellent. Wines are expensive, but global and very good...start about $60.
Worth it and looking forward to our next visit.

We did not stay in the hotel, we only visited for lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Still call Australia Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Staying at the Post Ranch Inn is truly an unforgettable experience. I've been there a couple of times, and have never been disappointed. It's an incredible mixture of natural beauty, seamless service, and a calming aura that make the Inn an unparalleled place. From the time you are warmly greeted by the staff in reception (Martin, Jorge, Shane are all fantastic), to the folks awaiting in Lexus crossover vehicles (we had Humberto, and he was very kind and accomodating) to take you to your room, the experience when initially on the property is unmatched. When we walked into our room ("Peace", very appropriately named), my boyfriend and I both stared at each other in amazement. The "room" was a mecca of lovely furniture, a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean, our very own little hot tub, and a bathroom layout that was truly stunning.
I have a lot to say about the Post Ranch Inn, and strongly recommend it to individuals, couples, friends, or any other adults over 18 (no kids allowed) who want to truly get away from it all. This place is amazing, and we definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AandF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

In early March, we dropped in for drinks and dinner. The going rate for one dinner is 110.00 before any liquid is consumed. It was a lot of fun to do for one night. The food is in very small portions but you are full when you leave. Views are spectacular and it was a good time. The price i thought was high for what you received.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank funpersonfremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a very expensive hotel, but is worth every penny. We stayed in the "Harlen" tree house, which is the least expensive option. It was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful, rooms exceptional, staff top notch. They have thought of everything in the room: a fully stocked mini frig with delicious food and all kinds of drinks, hiking books, historical books about big sur, binoculars, walking sticks, sunscreen, bug repellent, plenty of wood and kindling for fireplace. Breakfast, (included in price) was amazing, and you can have it delivered or eat at the lovely restaurant. The 2 infinity pools ( heated to 105 degrees) are beautiful and truly a fantastic way to view the ocean. ( go to the one by restaurant- we were there 3 times and has it to ourselves) dinner was delicious but super expensive ( price fix 4 course with no alcohol was 250.00 for 2 of us), so i would not do that more than once. They have a seperate room service menu that is very good. There is a library with tons of games and books. I hear the in room massages are great, though we did not have one.
Save up and stay here, you will not be disappointed!!! We stayed 2 nights and did not leave the property.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ldinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Post ranch is in a class on its own- I've never been to a similar property. The most amazing art is aside from the stunning views all around are the friendliness of the staff who are some of the best in the world. Post Ranch also clearly cares about the future of our planet as many of the structures and facilities are earth friendly. As you would expect at other incredibly high end small properties, it feels intimate, miles away, and yet you have everything you can possibly imagine. My favorite part is that they bring you wood to make a fire at your own unit. Oh, and cliff-side soaking tubs. The stretch of highway around Post Ranch is also not to be missed. Enjoy your next meal over the cliff on a glass floor- you'll have plenty to talk about. It's expensive- but once your there you'll see why.

Room Tip: I stayed in a treehouse- the units under the earth have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYCadventure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
382 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
22.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
918 reviews
22.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $901 - $1,902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing