We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth the splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a very expensive hotel, but is worth every penny. We stayed in the "Harlen" tree house, which is the least expensive option. It was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful, rooms exceptional, staff top notch. They have thought of everything in the room: a fully stocked mini frig with delicious food and all kinds of drinks, hiking books, historical books about big sur, binoculars, walking sticks, sunscreen, bug repellent, plenty of wood and kindling for fireplace. Breakfast, (included in price) was amazing, and you can have it delivered or eat at the lovely restaurant. The 2 infinity pools ( heated to 105 degrees) are beautiful and truly a fantastic way to view the ocean. ( go to the one by restaurant- we were there 3 times and has it to ourselves) dinner was delicious but super expensive ( price fix 4 course with no alcohol was 250.00 for 2 of us), so i would not do that more than once. They have a seperate room service menu that is very good. There is a library with tons of games and books. I hear the in room massages are great, though we did not have one.
Save up and stay here, you will not be disappointed!!! We stayed 2 nights and did not leave the property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ldinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    94
    45
    18
    24
See reviews for
57
811
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Post ranch is in a class on its own- I've never been to a similar property. The most amazing art is aside from the stunning views all around are the friendliness of the staff who are some of the best in the world. Post Ranch also clearly cares about the future of our planet as many of the structures and facilities are earth friendly. As you would expect at other incredibly high end small properties, it feels intimate, miles away, and yet you have everything you can possibly imagine. My favorite part is that they bring you wood to make a fire at your own unit. Oh, and cliff-side soaking tubs. The stretch of highway around Post Ranch is also not to be missed. Enjoy your next meal over the cliff on a glass floor- you'll have plenty to talk about. It's expensive- but once your there you'll see why.

Room Tip: I stayed in a treehouse- the units under the earth have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCadventure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staying at the Post Ranch is not cheap --- but it is well worth it.
It is a truly unforgettable experience, combining the magnificent nature of Big Sur
with the best in contemporary-nature architecture, great service and superb food.

If you can't afford to stay at the hotel, make sure to visit the Sierra Mar restaurant for lunch of dinner. Sunsets are spectacular from up there, and on weekends at night they usually offer star gazing through the telescope.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean Fronts if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salinas, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at Post Ranch Inn for a weekend, although grateful for the experience a weekend was not enough to take in all the surrounding beauty. It was all breathtaking! The staff was helpful and gave us suggestions of places to eat and wonderful hiking trails. The rooms were so warm and inviting, I couldn't bring myself to leave my room. I can't wait to go back and have the whole experience; star gazing, yoga, hiking, and the incredible pools are just a few pleasures they offer that I am looking forward to doing next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqueline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

It was a delightful pleasure to stay at the Post Ranch and to be welcomed in such a warm, embracing manner by the Post Ranch staff, who thought of everything! This was especially important since we were overly tired and stressed out. Once checked in, you will no longer need your car. You may walk or be driven to destinations on the ranch. Make reservations for dinner in advance if you want to eat dinner at the Ranch. Breakfast was fabulous. GREAT PLACE!

Room Tip: The staff will be very helpful with selecting a room. I am sure there are no rooms are not great. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We recently stayed at Post Ranch Inn for three nights and it really was the most relaxing and beautiful place I've ever stayed. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast is phenomenal and the views from everywhere including the restaurant are stunning. They stock your complimentary mini-bar daily with tasty treats daily and their chocolate chip cookies are heaven. We only left once in three days to go hiking. We spent a lot of time at the basking pool taking in the incredible views and enjoying the privacy. It's fancy but not pretentious. This is not your ordinary resort hotel. I could go on and on but if you are on the fence about staying here, do it. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in upper butterfly and while you don't have the ocean view it is much less expensive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happygoluckyOakhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I ended up staying here by accident. We went to try the restaurant, which is amazing, ranked one of the top in California, if not the world, and got caught in a rainstorm, so we ended up spending the night. One of the best accidents to ever happen to me! I've been back many times since, and it never looses its magic. It's not inexpensive by any means, but the otherworldly quality of the natural beauty that surrounds you makes it worth every penny and keeps me coming back. (Can't forget to mention that the staff are all so helpful and friendly - I think they are zenned out from working in that magical place!) Much love- E

Room Tip: The "worst room" (read least expensive) is better than the best room at most all other pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eiming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing