We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the most charming lodgings you could expect to stay in anywhere. Big Sur is a coastal strip just south of Monterey and Carmel, which are south of San Francisco.This coast is magnificent. On the property itself and nearby are redwood trees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    109
    43
    18
    17
See reviews for
55
228
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My niece and I were traveling up Pacific Coast Highway 1 in April 2013 and we stayed just one night at the Deetjin Big Sur Inn. We had a upstairs room with a little Terrace. The room was so warm and beautiful you just felt cozy. The property had beautiful flowers and plants all around. We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was really wonderful. I would love to have stayed longer but we were on our way up to Napa Valley. it's on my list to go back and spend a few days at this beautiful little place.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Second stay at Deetjens in the Top Antique room located upstairs from Grandpa's room. The room was very spacious with an extra twin bed in a separate small area. Lovely light and comfortable to hang out on the bed or read on the chairs. Bathroom has extremely low ceilings and hard to take a shower. The rooms a little close to the road than we would like but at night it's very quiet. Clean and decorated with old antique furnishing. You can hear the creek at night and Fabiola the cat may come visit.

Dinner and breakfast were both good. Bring your drink back to the room and check out a board game. Hike the trail behind the statue in the back, enjoy the luscious grounds and good hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Big Sur is one of my most favorite places on Planet Earth. I stayed in the tiniest room they had, upstairs in an old building with many rooms and shared bathroom. I felt like I would like to live there forever. It is quite a combination of very rustic and high quality. You must just peruse the photos and decide for yourself. I had a great meal in the dining room. Leisurely walk around the grounds. Even spied an eagle in the trees. Check out their website!

Room Tip: Decide your priorities before selecting a room. Some rooms are not so private but very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PeaceRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Staying in this place is quite an experience. I think it may be one of my favorite accomodations ever. At least it's up there in the top ten. I personally loved the sheets which are real linen and the soft cotton towels and the crazy journal which are a lot of fun to read. It is very unique and rustic but still clean. We ate a delicious dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the waitresses were very pleasant.
Now for the bad part, I usually try to say mostly positive things about the places I review or just refrain from reviewing but I have to mention that the young woman who was handling the hotel and restaurant reservations was quite unpleasant. Maybe she was having a bad day or the dual job was too much for her but she may well be the rudest service staff I have ever encountered which was sad because I did like the hotel overall. I've seen other reviewers mention this so maybe it's a quality that Deetjen's, as a business, is cultivating, but the waitstaff was all very cheery so I think not.
In any case overall I'm glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Deejen's Big Sur Inn. We like to travel on a budget so we chose "The Little Room", the least expensive room in the place! We had to share a bathroom with a few other rooms (2 bathrooms for 5 rooms I think). This was not a problem at all, we never even saw any of the other people on our floor. Our neighbors were quiet so I guess we were lucky not to have noise issues. Even though it was called The Little Room, it was comfortable enough for us. There is a small library where you can sit and browse the books they have for guests. One of the things I loved about our stay was the abundance of beautiful plantings. Wisteria, Japanese maples, flowering pear, Banksia roses...and on and on. It was rustic and charming and delightful!

Room Tip: read the other reviews here to get a sense of the different options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed this time in Lower Creek House and it does creak when the upstairs tenants arrive, but the building is charming inside and out. We had an open fire whenever we were in the inn. There was room enough to do yoga in front of the fire in the morning. The bed was very comfortable and all sorts of pleasant surprises await (poetry in a shell box for example). We enjoyed the restaurant; the price is quite reasonable for breakfast and the food is delicious. Dinner was a delightful splurge. The chef was inspired when he concocted the lamb dish. The other downside to Lower Creek House, besides its creakiness and lack of sound insulation is that the "private bathroom" requires crossing through the shared entry hall and the bathroom is so small, taking a change of clothes for after the shower is an option you might decide against. There is a big kitchen sink in the dining area. We enjoyed the loop trail behind the property and the buddhas and benches in the creek bed just outside Creek house. We'll be back to Deetjen's.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.4 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Property: Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing