We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A shining Light” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A shining Light”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a horrible day (phone stolen, police stations...) we arrived to Big Sur late, tired and grumpy. Fortunately the only room left in town was here. It was a little out of our budget but we needed a treat...a boy did they treat us.

The room was lovely, open fire. There wine selection is amazing. The shower beautiful, with lovely touches such as home made soap (which smelt divine).

In the morning the views were to die for. The smell of the Red Woods all around. Lots of lovely walks from nearby. I just wished we could stay longer. The staff were so helpful and friendly. A true oasis!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaNabirye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    109
    43
    18
    17
See reviews for
55
230
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is rustic and quaint. But we had to contend with guests on top and to the side of us who were inconsiderate of neighbors. Each room is provided with a phonograph and records to play, but no house rules about time consideration for others. Although we knew there was no or little sound insulation, nothing said from management to be considerate of other guests. Had to use a poker to rap on the ceiling last night at midnight to get upstairs guests to quiet down. Our room was right at the road, so we also were able to hear truck and other traffic noise. That and a mouse running inside the walls, noisily eating away. Although told about this, we didn't see any attempts to take care of this problem during our stay. A waste of $220 per night. We won't be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the Castro Canyon cabin if you really want to try this place out. At least there are no atta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CamarilloDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I just love it here! I always stay in the least expensive room, overlooking the front of the restaurant, but found the cabins 'way back in the woods this last time and think I'll try one of those next time. It's a rustic, unassuming place, built long ago a piece at a time and it's a delight. Read the journal in your room; hike some; enjoy the beautiful flowers and tall, tall trees. Be amazed at the tables with giant fossils in their tops; pet the resident cat; relax in front of the fireplaces in the dining room, but be oh, so sure to have breakfast. It's divine, no matter what you order.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5salina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Deetjens lives up to its historic register designation. Rustic and charming, it sits a short ride south of the wonderful Nepenthe restaurant. While not on the ocean side, it's in deep woods and has a camp feeling. based on other reviews, we ate dinner at Nepenthe and had a great breakfast at Deetjens. The room ( called "13th") was charming and did I say rustic? But linens were pretty nice, warm comforter, plenty of wood for stove and nice towels, soap, good lighting in the old wood walled room. The biggest problem is that the attached rooms (there are some cottages and rooms that don't share a wall with others) only have the old wood boards between rooms. You can see the light through the ill fitting boards and you can HEAR EVERYTHING. We had some rather loud drunk young men next door who mercifully fell asleep fairly early.

Room Tip: Honeymoon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccersenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been in this romantic place over the years and I'll never stop recommending it to my friends and family. This is a wonderful corner of the world to share with the person you love. Ideal for couples looking for peace, relax and some quality time together. The food is great and the rooms are just warm and nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81semidizucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an old place with very rustic accommodations, but it is clean and nice looking. Our beds were comfortable and there was heat in our room and a good bathroom/shower. Note that you can't lock your doors when you go out of your room. The parking is tight. The prices for dinner in their restaurant are very high - it can't be worth it. Breakfast was more reasonable and it was good quality for the price. If you stay here you are isolated by the road - you have to get in your car to walk anywhere as it is crowded up against a cliff. There's better value elsewhere in Big Sur but this is very historic so that's it's claim to fame.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori181788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Big Sur, yes, a favorite. But Deetjen's as well. 20 years ago a friend suggested I try it, as I was driving up Highway 1 for the first time. I fell in love with Deetjen's and have been going once a year ever since. It may not be plush like Post Ranch Inn or Ventana, which means I know it might not be everyone's cup of tea. But I kind of feel sorry for the people who would not love Deetjen's, and believe me, I love me a plush hotel. Anyway, rustic, very comfortable, with a wonderful restaurant. If you go, be sure to walk up the back road behind Castro Cabin and the Creek House, to get an amazing view from up top. The blueberry pancakes are not to be missed. I myself love Upper Creek, Stokes and Faraway, but many of the rooms are great. Be sure to check out the journals in each room, what a treat. And Deetjen's is incredibly romantic. What a wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.4 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Property: Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing