We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is pure magic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been in this romantic place over the years and I'll never stop recommending it to my friends and family. This is a wonderful corner of the world to share with the person you love. Ideal for couples looking for peace, relax and some quality time together. The food is great and the rooms are just warm and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 81semidizucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 438 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an old place with very rustic accommodations, but it is clean and nice looking. Our beds were comfortable and there was heat in our room and a good bathroom/shower. Note that you can't lock your doors when you go out of your room. The parking is tight. The prices for dinner in their restaurant are very high - it can't be worth it. Breakfast was more reasonable and it was good quality for the price. If you stay here you are isolated by the road - you have to get in your car to walk anywhere as it is crowded up against a cliff. There's better value elsewhere in Big Sur but this is very historic so that's it's claim to fame.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lori181788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Big Sur, yes, a favorite. But Deetjen's as well. 20 years ago a friend suggested I try it, as I was driving up Highway 1 for the first time. I fell in love with Deetjen's and have been going once a year ever since. It may not be plush like Post Ranch Inn or Ventana, which means I know it might not be everyone's cup of tea. But I kind of feel sorry for the people who would not love Deetjen's, and believe me, I love me a plush hotel. Anyway, rustic, very comfortable, with a wonderful restaurant. If you go, be sure to walk up the back road behind Castro Cabin and the Creek House, to get an amazing view from up top. The blueberry pancakes are not to be missed. I myself love Upper Creek, Stokes and Faraway, but many of the rooms are great. Be sure to check out the journals in each room, what a treat. And Deetjen's is incredibly romantic. What a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back home from 2 wks exploring Hwy 1 south of San Franciso. We tent camped part of the time, stayed in B&Bs, and hotels with this "inn" being our least favorite. After reading all the reviews about thin walls elected a high-end room with private bath. It was a last minute reservation and was told no mid-priced rooms available. Upon our arrival the innkeeper spent about 3 min with us then pointed our way to the guest room. The room was dark and small, no room for 2 large suitcases. I weigh about 100 lbs and found the shower tiny. The only amenity is a nice bottle of shampoo. At first I thought there was no soap but found it was tucked into the towel rack. The thermostat had been left up so high we had to open windows to be able to use the wood stove after dinner. Bed linens are coarse and scratchy. Knew there would be no door locks except from the inside but the latch would not meet the clasp in our room. When I reported this next day was told they knew but handyman was away. The candle lit dining rooms have a rustic charm but we had misfortune of being seated in the one with the bar where hostess/servers congregate and the phone is answered allowing us to listen to the hostess offer $45 less for rooms for the night over and over while we had been told none available. Next we got to listen to the woes of the workers payroll taxes until my husband finally hailed our server for the check. My husband claimed his pork loin dish was delicious. All of the seafood in my dish was overcooked by my standards but the stew part was good when combined with pasta next night while camping out. Breakfast is not included with the price of the room here as is generally associated with the word "inn" and it is expensive though good. We have ordered Eggs Benedict in restaurants all over the place and think of the dish as English muffin or similar bread, poached egg/sauce over some type of ham. Here no meat is included and it costs extra to "build" this menu item and the wording is confusing. Would have been nice is innkeeper had told us could walk up the hill for a nice view. This place was an expensive disappointment.

Room Tip: Go for the least expensive.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Southerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Deetjens Big Sur Inn is a historic property that offers a wonderful feel of Big Sur. Rooms are located in various rustic, two story redwood buildings scattered around the property which were built under the auspices of the original proprietor from the 1930's to about the 1960's . The beds are great (no issues for those of us with sensitive backs) and comfy and the restaurant at the hotel is excellent (note that breakfast is served starting at 8 AM). Our family members fired up the heat in their room (Upper) and were quite warm and comfortable; we had the fireplace going in the Lower room and it was perfect and we did not need to turn up the thermostat. Service is excellent and ambience in unmatched (we have stayed at the other pricey hotels in this area and prefer Deetjens).

The hotel is located right on highway 1 and as soon as you turn into the driveway park immediately to the left near the 1st building, which is where the restaurant and the check in are located. Be careful as parking is tight - we saw a new Porsche back into a van in the parking lot. Once you get your keys, you will drive a short distance to your room where you can unload your luggage.

Some things to be aware of are that there is no bellman service nor TV /radio nor wireless in the rooms, and no cell service along that area of Highway 1. If you need cell service, go down the road a couple of miles to Nepenthe's (you should really have the Ambrosia Burger there anyway!) and most carriers cell service works there. There is the resident kitty cat (Fabio) who supervises the property and hangs around the main restaurant / check-in building. There is a lovely library on the property with a collection of books about the area along with those on history and fiction works - you can sit in the easy chairs in the library and peruse the books.

Things in the area to do include seeing the Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park which has one of only 2 waterfalls on the west coast that falls into the ocean and numerous 300+ foot tall redwooods, some of which are over 2500 years old. Well worth seeing!

Room Tip: Since the hotel is right off Highway 1, choose rooms towards the back of the complex. In our opinio...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2GoExplorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Thin-walled shacks along the Highway 1. It has that cachet of being "the funky place" once upon a time, and they keep pushing up the prices until someone notices that they're still thin-walled, cold shacks along Highway 1. No view, not much in the way of amenities, and cold.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed at Deetjen’s on two separate occasions. The restaurant is outstanding and the ambiance incredible. The rooms are rustic and clean; the walls are very thin. There is no key to lock your room, no TV, radio or cell service. Deetjen’s takes the visitor back in time. It is truly a unique, one of a kind destination, providing its guests upscale fine dining, tranquility and soul rejuvenation. This is a wonderful place to rediscover one’s self, breathe in the fresh air, unwind from the stresses of life and take in the majestic beauty of Big Sur.

Room Tip: We like the 13th room because it has an additional bed for a 3rd person and is close to the restaura...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
23.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
674 reviews
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
3.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
508 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9512
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing