We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Deluxe rustic log cabin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Deluxe rustic log cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The room was cosy, and super-warm once we had got the fire going, and at night all you can hear is the creek (and sometimes your neighbours in the next room - the walls are thin). This place is brilliantly ramshackle, and there are some nice trails up the hill, which are worth walking while you're here. Food here is good, and it was a wonderful, homely, place to be for a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    113
    45
    18
    17
See reviews for
59
238
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I really took some time to research different hotels in big sur. This seemed to offer the best balance of price/location with an added quirky touch. The lack of wifi and cell service made for a relaxing departure from everyday chaos. Free coffee and tea are served in the AM and an assortment of delicious breakfast dishes can be purchased at a really reasonable price. Dinner is on the pricey side but that's par for the course at big sur. That aside, the food was amazing. My room had journals filled with entries back to the late 90s which really made for an interesting experience. Big sur is a place to just let go and take some deep breaths. This is by far the best place to make that happen.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jpaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Charming place with wonderful ambiance. Service was friendly and efficient but although I really enjoyed it I am not used to paying close to two hundred for a room with shared bathroom. The room and dinning area was decorated with a wonderful eclectic flare. I can only imagine what the gardens would be like in the summer. We took advantage of the Esalen Institute 1 to 3 am hot springs which is when it is open to the public and were treated to a bath alone and a meteor shower display. Incredible. We had dinner and breakfast at deetjens and although it was expensive both were well worth
It. One of the top 10 meals I have had in years. My wallet was lighter after our stay but I am happy we spurged.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teagoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Compared with the Ventana and Post Ranch inns close by, Deetjen's is the clear cheaper alternative in Big Sur and I imagine this is main reason many people stay there. (Indeed, we heard our neighbors saying exactly this through the famously thin walls.) In itself, though, Deetjen's is an absolutely charming hotel, completely un-standardized, with great attention to detail: the pillows and beds, for example, are very comfortable, and the rooms and wood-burning stoves are cleaned impeccably each day. Yes, in some of the rooms you can hear a lot of what your neighbors are doing and the doors don't lock, but somehow it doesn't matter much -- especially with Big Sur to head out into. Our only disappointment on our second stay was with the bathroom, which needed updating and enlarging -- there was barely enough legroom to sit on the toilet. Also, it seems you have to pick your room carefully at Deetjen's -- our room this time was significantly nicer than the last time we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

After the breathtaking drive down PCH - pulling into Deetjens was perfect. Rustic and charming. Check in was simple. We stayed in the room called Edys, which was a nice size for two of us (a couple) and it had its own bathroom. Oh and a buddha statue out the window, which we loved. We had a little siesta before dinner and we laughed when we heard the neighbors using the bathroom next door. This place is not for everyone - you can hear everything! The wood is creaky and the walls are thin. Dinner was delicious, too - steaks and veg and a California red of some sort. Not cheap but delicious and excellent to be able to have a few glasses of wine without having to get in a car - just walked over to Edys and tucked in for a cosy nights sleep.

Room Tip: Make a reservation for dinner at Deetjens! Food is great and it's so nice to just pull in and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ModemmeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at Deetjen's many years ago. Returned recently. Still a rustic blast from the past. No door locks. Funky and not for everyone. Stayed in Stokes this time. Could enjoy the sound of the creek.The restaurant is still great with good food and is cozy especially in the rain. Cat claims the chair closest to the fire place. Feline knows best. Enjoyed the quiet of no phone, TV or internet or w- fi. The written comments in the room books from past guests were funny and telling. Deetjan's is an institution and on big sur time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Deetjen's is a great spot for touring Big Sur. Close to Nepenthe, Ventana Inn, Post Ranch Inn, beautiful state parks, etc. It's not everyone's cup of tea, as it's rustic, and you will hear your neighbors. The bed we had was surprisingly good, firm, with a nice down comforter. The cabin itself was rustic but certainly functional. This is not your typical vacation lodging, but if you can accept that you'll find the service is very friendly, the food is decent and the setting is very charming. And if you've never been to Big Sur, do yourself a favor and get there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.4 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Property: Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9512
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing