We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge but mismanaged”
Review of Big Sur Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Sur Lodge
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice lodge but mismanaged”
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed here in July'08 three days after the lodge 'opened' again due to fire. I'm sympathetic to the folks affected by the fire but this lodge should not have been open to guests yet. The park was closed, the restaurant was closed to lodge guests, the pool was closed, and there wasn't anyone else there other than the fire crews that came in at nite to eat and sleep. In fairness, I was told the state park was closed to hiking when I phoned to check on the situation - but I should have been told that everything else was closed (pool, restaurant) as well. They made it sound like business as usual for the lodge.

Getting a discount of $20 dollars off of our $250/nite room was like pulling teeth and desk person refused to upgrade us to a unit with a fridge/kitchenette even though the place was empty/deserted. I have a 5 year old that was upset about getting in the car again for food, and not being allowed to use the pool even though it looked fine.

This is a nice place to visit as it is in a beautiful area - I just found the management of this place to be a little on the strange (we'll take your money) side.

We ended up cancelling the rest of our stay at the lodge. We went to San Simeon - Cambria and had a great time. We got a much larger/nicer room at the Fogcatcher Inn in Cambria for $179 with full breakfast included, pool, hot tub and excellent management.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mismanaged
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac111Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    189
    103
    41
    41
See reviews for
164
184
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2007. The room we stayed in did not have A/C, which we knew about, but were not really prepared for. We could not stay in the room during the day at all, just too hot. The lodge is showing it's age. The room smelled like ashes, probably due to the large fireplace and age. The on-site food was a little too high priced for what you got. I'm not sure we would stay there again. Overall, OK, but just not very Wow...

Surrounding area is beautiful and I highly recommend going to Pheiffer State Beach, which is a liitle tricky to find, but worth it. There is also a short hike from the Lodge to a waterfall, great to do in the morning.

  • Liked — The location is beautiful
  • Disliked — No A/C (a must in the Summer months)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Volocty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Family of four (twins 5 year-old). We stayed for two nights (Fri-Sat); unit #22. Cost us $270 per night. It was quite hot during our stay (100+). There is no AC (we were told in advance), a large fan is provided. For hot-weather, the "lower" unit (number 60's) probably is a better choice (in a more shaded area). No TV, no phone (not necesary a bad thing ;-)) in the room. Cell phone reception is spotty but I was able to receive and make call.

Our unit is close to the pool (kids loved it). Near the ice machine (great for hot days). The hiking trail to the fall is nearby. Also close to the restaurant and the general store.

Include a day pass that can be used to freely enter number of close-by state parks.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yyyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We only stayed here one night and arrive quite late but thought our lodge was great. There were three of us, but it was huge, could have slept 6. decor was fine, beds were really comfortable and bathroom was fine.

Really nice to be located right in the park. Had breakfast in the restaurant, which was a little odd (what's with the tea served in light bulbs??) but fine.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank outofofficemessage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I've stopped here twice on my solo trips to Big Sur.
the rooms had been improved (refurbished) since I last stayed there and I was quite happy with it... large and clean.
However, the food service was miserable... and in Big Sur food service is few and far between. I ordered the dinner specials of the day. The soup was just okay. The trout however was so bad I sent it back to the kitchen (and I have NEVER sent food back before, I can usually eat anything). It was mushy with no taste and no texture
8 ^ p
even the rice was bad (how can you ruin rice?) and the veggies looked and tasted like they came out of their best can. They offered to bring me something else but I decided to try their deli take-out. An Even Bigger Mistake. They had a dozen sandwiches. All the same. All some red meat on white bread.
And the salads looked limp and wimpy... so I went to bed hungry.
I would like to recommend bringing your own food - but there are no refrigerators in the rooms. No microwave. Just a coffee maker. And no grocery for miles.
I've been here twice. I'll try the Big Sur River Inn next time. It's harder to get into because it's smaller and they have very limited business hours. But I'll make the effort.
(Nearby Ventana is VERY nice... but also VERY pricey)

  • Liked — nice room, quiet area
  • Disliked — food service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

When my boyfriend called me to tell me that he had booked us a cottage in the woods for the weekend, I couldn't have been more excited! Before leaving to head up to Big Sur I took a look at the Big Sur Lodge website and grew excited when I saw the one image of an adorable cottage tucked in the woods with what looked like a private stone trail leading up to it. Boy was I disappointed when we arrived at the lodge. Our "cottage" was no more than an above average motel, for the price of $265! The lodge consisted of what can only be described as numerous strips of motel rooms. The website is totally misleading, which makes sense now as to why they only have one image of the outside of a "cottage". Their website also shows an interior shot showing sliding glass doors out to a private balcony looking into the woods... I think there are maybe one or two rooms that actually look into the woods. A large amount of the rooms, including the one we were in, have a view of the pool and the recreation center, not the view that we were expecting when we paid for a cottage "located in a tranquil, natural setting of old growth redwood, live oaks and California laurel".
The weirdest thing of all was that it was only the two of us and our room consisted of four beds. We had 1 private bedroom with a queen and then the living area had another queen and two twin beds. Although the fireplace was a plus, there wasn't a couch or are where you could get cozy near it. Poor decorating and design if you ask me!
The staff isn't exactly friendly either. When we were both disappointed with our room we called the front desk to ask if there were other rooms because we were disatisfied with ours, mainly the location, and they told us that they were completely full, yet we saw plenty of vacant rooms that stayed vacant through the night.
Also, the food, not great and completely overpriced. Check out the food at Deetjen's Big Sur Inn, I had the best meal that I have ever had!
If there are any positives, it would be that I'm sure it's a great place for a family with kids who can take advantage of the many beds and the pool/recreation area. I would not recommend this place for adults looking for a getaway.
Another positive... our room was so unwelcoming that it forced us to get out and explore all of the many beauties of Big Sur!
We love Big Sur... next time we're either camping or renting a cabin somewhere else!

  • Liked — The hiking and wilderness near by.
  • Disliked — The view from our room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

So, I don't understand why people are rating this very high unless you are used to sleeping in a motel. I booked a "cabin" via telephone with the lodge for this past weekend. Hoping to have a very peaceful, secluded, stay in the woods with my girlfriend. When we showed up we were horribly upset in the fact that all the units are connected to each other like a motel or an INN would be and the views that they show on the website with the sliding glass doors overlooking the woods, yeah, that's a lie as well. We had a view of the swimming pool and the echoes of kids playing in it. After visiting all the other nearby campsites and lodges we also found out that we had paid the most money of all the other "actually secluded and private" cabins available. I would suggest calling Fernwood campground which is actually right on the Big Sur river and booking something there because those cabins were actually nice. Oh and did I mention that I called the lodge right when I got in the room to ask for another room with a better view and they told me they were booked up but it was obvious the next morning that was a lie AND after checking out and explaining to them that the website was misleading they agreed with me and told me that they try to tell people that when they call. I called and no one said a word to me. There are many other places to check out in that area for cabins so I would recommend you do so if you are looking for a "cabin" and not a "cottage". If you are camping though, Bis Sur state park is the best in the area. I go there every year and will continue to, in my tent.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank woodsyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,133 reviews
21.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
17.3 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
658 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Property: Big Sur Lodge
Address: 47225 Highway 1, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Sur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing