We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, comfortable cottage feel...unplug and relax!”
Review of Big Sur Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Sur Lodge
Reviewed August 3, 2013

No phone, TV, radio, alarm clock in room....it was a surprise initially but oh what a blessing in disguise. It's designed to facilitate true relaxation and togetherness with those you are there with. The last time I was there was a birthday trip for mom (me) and we did what I wanted to do - we made potholders from craft kits. To prevent shock and rebellious outbursts, you might want to pre-prepare any older children who are 24/7 connected to electronic devices or into video gaming to not expect such here. (: I love the vintage feel of the cottages. The staff is very accommodating. The setting, of course, is MAGIC. If you are a couple looking for an upscale food & wine experience at dinner you will find that here too.

Room Tip: There are a few cottages with kitchens or fireplaces - book one of those if you're interested!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szq143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

szq143-Thank you for staying with us, and for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed the restful retreat from technological devices. Thank you for your kind words about “the vintage feel of the cottages,” the “very accommodating” staff, and the magical setting. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 515 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

After a long night hanging out on the mountain side of Big Sur we hadn't booked a hotel cuz we didn't really plan on staying there. We just happened to run into some awsome locals and decide to hang out for the rest of the day. Big Sur Lodge was the closest place to stay so its not like we chose this place based off of reviews or price. The price did turn out to be decent. We got a pretty large cabin with full kitchen, one bedroom but three beds in the living area. For the one night it was fine. A little rustic, certainly not a four or even three star hotel but it served its purpose. Only HUGE drawback was the skylight in the living room. Although nice during the day, all three beds in the living room got woken up to very early and very bright sunlight shining directly on each bed. There is a restaurant at the lodge which was absolutely excellent! Staff was exceptionally friendly and the wine in the shop is extremely below price :) Back home we drink a specific wine for $50 in restaurants and $25 in stores and it was only $12 here!! A steal! I definitely recommend buying a bottle or two and stopping at the mountain side and enjoying the magnificent views. We even saw whales from the side of the mountain. Absolutely breath taking. There is a cafe just down the road with excellent coffee and pasties, ask for the Bee Keeper and he will tell you where the natural spring water is where you can fill up your water jugs right from the mountain side and shower hippie style :) our group is by far from hippies but definitely an experience we will never forget :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank BrittanynYuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

BrittanynYuvi1-Thank you for choosing the Big Sur Lodge for your recent visit to Big Sur from Florida. We are happy to hear that you found the views from Park to be “magnificent,” the staff to be “exceptionally friendly,” the restaurant to be “absolutely excellent,” the wine well-priced, and the room rates decent. Thank you for sharing your ideas for other travelers coming to Big Sur, and for letting us know about the bright sunlight so we might implement a shade. We appreciate your positive feedback, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Big Sur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed with four small grandchildren last week for 5 days. I have to cook gluten-free meals and was looking forward to using the kitchen instead of trying to get gluten-free meals at the restaurant. I expected the basics and no more, but got much less. We stayed in a expensive 2 bedroom that sleeps 6. For the 6 of us we got 5 towels, a coffee pot that makes 2 small cups at a time, 4 forks, 4 spoons, 4 bowls, a couple of dinner knives, no sheet pan or baking dish, no utensils to stir a pot with, no pot holders, a very dull knife, a pancake flipper, and no toaster. The oven door didn't even open. At 5 pm on day of arrival, with 4 hungry kids, I couldn't even get the chicken into the oven because 1. There was no pan to bake it in, and 2. The afore mentioned oven door problem. I sent hubby to the desk to get some help. He was given additional forks and spoons and towels but was told to bring the chicken down and they would cook it for us for free. He was told there were no bowls available at that time but someone would bring them to our room. They brought BULBS. He was told to check with the manager the following day, and that night's stay would likely be comped. So I talked with the manager the following day and she said our room rate ($364 plus tax per night for 5 nights) would be adjusted. At checkout, no adjustment had been made. I have been coming to Big Sur for 48 years, since I was in my early teens, always staying in the campground, and had many great memories of Big Sur. My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Big Sur. We flew out from Indiana specifically to go to Big Sur so the grand kids could experience Grammy's favorite place. Too bad this experience has tainted that memory. It was an expensive trip I am not likely to repeat because of the difficulties encountered. How can the experience be better? While the staff at Big Sur appeared to genuinely want to help, there are some things a guest should not have to beg for. If a kitchen is part of the deal, make sure it is a functional one since Big Sur charges extra for it. The oven door did actually get repaired on day 2 but the lack of cooking supplies made me feel like I was trying to cook meals over a camp fire. Don't make your guests beg for towels for the pool. Have pool towels available at the pool so your lodge guests don't have to go out of their way to get them or have to reuse their wet room towels. We would have gladly reused our towels to save on laundry if we had a place to hang them up to dry, since hanging towels over the porch railing is not allowed. With 4 pool-loving kids, we were constantly in a sea of wet towels all over our room, getting everything else wet. We ended up just having to break the rules and leave the wet towels out on the porch. Have a place at the pool for wet pool towels to be placed.

Room Tip: Room 62 is very convenient to everything but, kitchen leaves much to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grammy47115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Grammy47155--Thank you for bringing your four grandchildren to stay with us at Big Sur Lodge, and for taking the time to express your comments about your stay. As we mentioned by telephone, we are so disappointed to read your review and to hear that your stay did not go smoothly. It is true that the rooms are only equipped with basic kitchen supplies, and on our website, we encourage guests to bring their favorite culinary tools for extensive cooking, but it sounds like your room supplies were incomplete. We appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention for correction. There was no excuse for the oven door to not be working upon your arrival and we sincerely apologize. Your suggestion about having additional towels available at the pool area and a place for wet towels is excellent, and we have presented it to management. We are so glad you are a loyal and repeat visitor to Big Sur, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best thing about the lodge "cottages" is that you are in the park itself. Beautiful trees are all around, with easy access to a few walks. As you drive in, you go through tall redwoods. The lodge is well-situated to get to a number of great places without much driving. The cottages are older, but in decent shape. The main room is large, with a seating area and a table and chairs. The loveseat cushions are losing support. There was an additional bedroom that we did not need. The bedding seems new (it's white), the towels are big and fluffy. Nice toiletries - including the relatively rare mouthwash! There is a hair dryer and in-room coffee maker (not great, but it's there). The shower had good pressure and temperature. There's no AC, but there was a fan. In late July it wasn't warmer than the low 70s, so it was comfortable. In fact, in the mornings we turned on the heater briefly. We had a queen fireplace room. I would not select a room with a fireplace, especially in summer. (We had no choice.) When we arrived, the smell of smoke was very strong - we opened the door to the deck and put the fan on. We did not use the fireplace at all, and yet on leaving everything we owned smelled like we sat next to a campfire. Even things that were kept in the closet with the door closed. The price is high, but probably in line with the area. We have been to Big Sur a number of times, so we know what it's like. It was easy to relax and very quiet at the lodge. We mostly ate at local places - only once at the lodge over a 4-night stay. Check-in was fine, staff was fine. We had a light bulb out that was promptly repaired. I heard that this general area was somewhat less foggy in summer than other areas, but that's hard for me to judge. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room with a fireplace may have a strong smell of woodsmoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiaKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Ziacat-Thank you for visiting us and staying in one of our queen fireplace rooms. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the “beautiful trees,” the “relaxing and very quiet” setting, and the easy access to the hiking paths. We are also happy to hear that you liked the room amenities such as the “nice toiletries” and “big and fluffy towels,” and that you found our staff to be responsive to your needs. Concerning your love-seat cushions and the smell of fireplace smoke in your room, we thank you for bringing those issues to our attention so that we can correct them. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our goal is to please each and every guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Big Sur Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely location with well-kept grounds. If you've checked your map, you'll know there is no beach or view of the Pacific from this location. The trees and surroundings, though are lovely. MANY opportunities to view birds (from the tiniest tit to gigantic turkey vultures nesting above). The rooms are well-appointed with plenty of towels and fluffy down comforters. There is little to no insulation in the lodges. Meaning, during the sunny days your place WILL get warm and during the chilly nights; quite cold. Most rooms have fireplaces AND/OR heaters, so you should be fine. The restaurant is great, with many healthy (& organic) options. Here is the potential rub: We stayed in lodge #16 which is QUITE removed from the front desk. A large group was partying in the middle of the night on the lawn outside our spot and we really had no recourse. We could get up, stick our heads out the door and ask a bunch of drunk college kids to keep it down and hope for the best. If that didn't work, we would have to get in our car, drive down to the reception area and ask for help. They pride themselves on being a technology-free spot, which I admire. But I think a house phone for emergencies and lobby calls should be provided, at least to the more remote dwellings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FridayLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

FridayLu-Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the “well-kept” grounds, the lovely trees, the variety of birds, and that you found your room to be “well-appointed with plenty of towels and fluffy down comforters.” We are delighted to hear that you liked the restaurant and the “healthy and organic choices” on the menu. Thank you for all the compliments. Thank you for sharing your feedback with travelers so that they are well prepared in visiting. Please know that Pfeiffer Beach, a one-of-a-kind beach shown on our website and worth seeing, is just three miles away, should you come visiting us again in the future. We are so sorry to hear that a group was partying on the lawn in the middle of the night, as the Park and the Big Sur Lodge have a 10 pm quiet time. Your idea of a centralized house phone for emergencies is a wonderful suggestion and we will present that idea to management. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This lodge had spacious rooms, clean and very comfortable but this place is over priced. We stayed one night, there isn't a view from the lodge area which we were disappointed. Staff was fairly helpful. The location is very peaceful. We took the 2 mile hike to the valley overlook and to the falls. The hike was a bit strenuous up hill and the falls were a bit disappointing but over all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GagelTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

GagelTravelers- Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you found the rooms to be “spacious, clean and very comfortable”, the staff to be helpful and the location to be peaceful. Thank you. Regarding hiking, we are so sorry that the hiking trail to Pfeiffer Falls was not up to your expectations. We receive an abundance of compliments about the beauty of the park and the trails. Buzzards Roost Trail is another trail that we have that is less strenuous and goes along the picnic areas and river. Please know that staying with us also provides you with access to three other State Parks in the area so next time you come visiting, we hope you might have fun exploring those hiking opportunities as well. Happy Summer ahead and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 6 the night of July 3rd. The staff at the front desk in the lodge were very friendly and provided us with a lot of information about the Big Sur area including maps of the various hiking trails at both of the Pfeiffer Parks.
Awoke the next morning to see turkey and deer grazing just outside of our cottage room. The views along PCH 1 driving to Big Sur along with the views on the hiking trails of the Pacific and great redwoods are simply amazing. Only wish our stay could have been longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Scott B-Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share with us, and all the readers, the attributes that you liked about Big Sur Lodge and the park. We appreciate your kind words. We are so happy to hear that the staff was “very friendly” and full of information about the hiking trails for your enjoyment. We are thrilled that the wild turkeys and deer were right outside your door! Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
21.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
697 reviews
17.3 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.8 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway 1, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range: $342 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Sur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing