We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good & bad of being "UNPLUGGED"”
Review of Big Sur Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Sur Lodge
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely location with well-kept grounds. If you've checked your map, you'll know there is no beach or view of the Pacific from this location. The trees and surroundings, though are lovely. MANY opportunities to view birds (from the tiniest tit to gigantic turkey vultures nesting above). The rooms are well-appointed with plenty of towels and fluffy down comforters. There is little to no insulation in the lodges. Meaning, during the sunny days your place WILL get warm and during the chilly nights; quite cold. Most rooms have fireplaces AND/OR heaters, so you should be fine. The restaurant is great, with many healthy (& organic) options. Here is the potential rub: We stayed in lodge #16 which is QUITE removed from the front desk. A large group was partying in the middle of the night on the lawn outside our spot and we really had no recourse. We could get up, stick our heads out the door and ask a bunch of drunk college kids to keep it down and hope for the best. If that didn't work, we would have to get in our car, drive down to the reception area and ask for help. They pride themselves on being a technology-free spot, which I admire. But I think a house phone for emergencies and lobby calls should be provided, at least to the more remote dwellings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FridayLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

FridayLu-Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the “well-kept” grounds, the lovely trees, the variety of birds, and that you found your room to be “well-appointed with plenty of towels and fluffy down comforters.” We are delighted to hear that you liked the restaurant and the “healthy and organic choices” on the menu. Thank you for all the compliments. Thank you for sharing your feedback with travelers so that they are well prepared in visiting. Please know that Pfeiffer Beach, a one-of-a-kind beach shown on our website and worth seeing, is just three miles away, should you come visiting us again in the future. We are so sorry to hear that a group was partying on the lawn in the middle of the night, as the Park and the Big Sur Lodge have a 10 pm quiet time. Your idea of a centralized house phone for emergencies is a wonderful suggestion and we will present that idea to management. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 538 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This lodge had spacious rooms, clean and very comfortable but this place is over priced. We stayed one night, there isn't a view from the lodge area which we were disappointed. Staff was fairly helpful. The location is very peaceful. We took the 2 mile hike to the valley overlook and to the falls. The hike was a bit strenuous up hill and the falls were a bit disappointing but over all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GagelTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

GagelTravelers- Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you found the rooms to be “spacious, clean and very comfortable”, the staff to be helpful and the location to be peaceful. Thank you. Regarding hiking, we are so sorry that the hiking trail to Pfeiffer Falls was not up to your expectations. We receive an abundance of compliments about the beauty of the park and the trails. Buzzards Roost Trail is another trail that we have that is less strenuous and goes along the picnic areas and river. Please know that staying with us also provides you with access to three other State Parks in the area so next time you come visiting, we hope you might have fun exploring those hiking opportunities as well. Happy Summer ahead and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 6 the night of July 3rd. The staff at the front desk in the lodge were very friendly and provided us with a lot of information about the Big Sur area including maps of the various hiking trails at both of the Pfeiffer Parks.
Awoke the next morning to see turkey and deer grazing just outside of our cottage room. The views along PCH 1 driving to Big Sur along with the views on the hiking trails of the Pacific and great redwoods are simply amazing. Only wish our stay could have been longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Scott B-Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share with us, and all the readers, the attributes that you liked about Big Sur Lodge and the park. We appreciate your kind words. We are so happy to hear that the staff was “very friendly” and full of information about the hiking trails for your enjoyment. We are thrilled that the wild turkeys and deer were right outside your door! Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed at the Big Sur Lodge (2 Bedroom) for 2 nights last June. We checked in and the folks working there were very nice and informative. Got in our room and it must have been 125 degrees in there! No air conditioning or fans to cool it off. We sweat all night for 2 nights. I understand it was unusually hot and I get the cabin/cottege experience. There were bugs in the room, no TV, no phones. I have no problem with it. I grew up staying in cabins, tents, etc. , but I never can recall paying $400/night for them! Sorry, but for this price, I better at least get a fan or a/c. The beds were very comfortable, and Big Sur was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for visiting us with your family in June. We are so sorry to hear that the room condition and amenities were not up to your expectations and that you were here during a heat wave. Our Front Desk does have fans available for guest comfort and we apologize if you did not have one in your room. Any time you are staying with us, we can provide a fan and have it brought to your room. We are glad to hear that you found the beds to be “very comfortable” and loved Big Sur. We wish you a Happy Summer and welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Lodge every visit and have never been disappointed. This is basic neccessities- no phone, tv, etc., but if you are here for the outdoors, this is the place to be. The rooms are spacious and clean and the setting in the forest among the redwoods is peaceful and tranquil. You have immediate access to Big Sur State Park trails and close access and complimentary admittance to many others. We had deer, turkeys, squirrels, stellar jays and multitudes of other birds literally on our doorstep. We will be back each and every time we return to this area. I can't say enough about the beauty and charm of this outdoor oasis.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NORO97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

NORO97-Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for being a repeat customer and thank you for the excellent review. We are so happy to hear that you found the room to be “spacious and clean,” and that the redwood setting was “peaceful and tranquil” for you. We are glad you enjoyed access to the park and got to see some deer, turkeys, squirrels, blue jays, and birds. Thank you for visiting and please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This lodge is a nice simple place, quiet rooms, good beds. Good location on the Big Sur and great for families. No a/c, but that wasn't an issue. The pool was excellent and wonderful after a hike! Food was decent in the restaurant, but expensive. The main issue was that there was no coffee available in the lodge even by 7:30am in the morning - are you kidding?

The trails are okay, nothing spectacular and frankly, not sure worth the effort for the falls which looked about as thrilling as if someone had a hose running over the rocks....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetsGoRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for visiting us. We are glad to hear that you liked the lodge, the food, your room, the pool, and the Big Sur location. Concerning the providing of complimentary coffee in the lobby area, thank you for that suggestion. We will pass along your idea to the restaurant manager. At this time, we do provide complimentary coffee in all the guest rooms. Also, the deli/café offers coffee drinks for sale at 7:30 am each day; the restaurant opens at 8 am and serves coffee with breakfast. We are so sorry that the hiking trails were not up to your expectations. We receive an abundance of compliments about the beauty of the park and the trails. Please know that staying with us also provides you with access to three other State Parks in the area so next time you come visiting, we hope you might have fun exploring those hiking opportunities as well. Happy Summer ahead and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location! You're well among the gigantic redwoods and a stone's throw from Pfieffer Beach (yes, there's purple sand!) Took my Dad for Father's Day and his bday. Our room was spacious. Two queen beds, we had our own rooms. Loved the nice touch of firewood for the fireplace. Outside the room we saw lots of turkeys. ;) Your parking space is immediately outside your room. The access to (free) hiking trails was awesome. Great for families, saw lots of families.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

uama1: Thank you for bringing your Dad to Big Sur Lodge for Father’s Day and his birthday. We are honored that you chose us for that special occasion. We are happy to hear that you found the location to be “beautiful,” that you liked the “gigantic redwoods” in the park and the “purple sand” at Pfeiffer Beach. We are glad that you enjoyed “the nice touch of firewood in your room,” the parking space outside your door, the hiking trails, and the wild turkeys. We hope you and your Dad will come see us again soon. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,152 reviews
21 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
17.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway 1, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range: $190 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Sur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing