We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi bar is perfect”

Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and The Sushi Bar
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $15 - $95
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

The regular restaurant was just so so and quite pricy. However, the sushi bar was fantastic. Pre set tasting menu with the freshest of fish and greenery from their garden. Must have had at least 9 pieces of sushi, salads, shellfish and deserts. Fun music and picturesque setting. Can get chilly so bring a sweater!!

Thank jaaaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and The Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Thank you for your visit and review of our restaurants.

For curious readers: the sushi bar is a 'reservation only' pre set tasting menu with two seatings nightly (4:30pm and 7 pm and is closed Mondays and Tuesdays) . The main restaurant in the Lodge is open seven days a week and is a more generalized menu suited to many tastes and also incorporates freshly harvested greens and herbs from the on-sight organic garden.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 114 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2018

I really wanted this to be better. Farm to table dining is a preference of mine, and this was fine (I appreciated the healthy options) but for the prices I wanted it to be exceptional! Bland I think is the best descriptive.

Thank StephanieC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

The chicken sandwich, on the lunch menu, is incredible! I highly recommend it! Also, they had Corn Chowder (dinner menu) as the soup of the day, which was amazing too!

Thank Braydee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and The Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear Braydee,
Thanks for visiting and taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your lunch!
The chicken sandwich is a down-home version of a Saigon sandwich..with sliced jalapeno peppers, cilantro, sandwiched with a freshly grilled and tender chicken breast with a spicy mayo dressing.
I love it too!
The corn chowder is great and some day hope you can taste our Chef's homemade minestrone soup and lentil soup..they are to die for!
Visit again when you can.

For curious readers: We serve lunch daily 12-2 pm. There is outdoor bar seating where you can enjoy a 180 degree ocean view or, if cool, dine inside. We have a wonderful wine and beer menu and the lunches boast greens and salads straight from our on site organic garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

I believe most of the food is grown in the organic garden. The flavors were delicious and the food beautifully presented. While a bit on the higher side price-wise, you're dining in Big Sur overlooking the Pacific with outstanding service and a reasonable priced wine list! And even better... corkage is only $15 if you byo. Great restaurant!

Thank SLDSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and The Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Thank you for your review! You are correct! as seasons allow all the lettuces, tomatoes, zuchinni, chard, Kale and herbs are harvested directly from our garden to your plate.
Glad you enjoyed our 180 degree Pacific Ocean view! often times there are whales to watch too!
We serve lunch daily 12-2 and dinner 5:30 - 8:30 .
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Food was excellent with generous portions but way beyond our price range. We understand the resources that go into getting supplies to an "island-like" place but why the unfortunate $8 plate sharing fee?? It makes it so much less accessible :(

Thank schragala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treebones, Guest Relations Manager at Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and The Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and appreciated the generous portions.

We originally added a split plate fee because we would divide the plate for you and provide extra sides. However, we have now done away with the $8 split plate fee, and are happy to bring an extra plate out if a guest chooses to split a dish.

We hope to see you again sometime!

Warmly
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and The Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and The Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing