We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Sur Self-Driving Audio Tour: Highway 1, Pacific Coast Highway
86

Book in advance
from
$16.98
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Limekiln State Park
from $16.99
More Info
from $24.99
More Info
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
171
69
10
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
69
10
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 258 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2017

This is a excellent day hike to a a waterfall. Lush ferns, beautiful redwoods. Relatively easy hike. take water and snacks. Pack your trash back out.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Kira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

I would recommend getting there early, as the parking area is not at all large. It seemed like there were maybe a dozen parking spots for day visitors. The lot was full when we arrived, but we were told to try back in 45 minutes. We were pleased to get a parking spot after passing the time. During our trip, the Soberanes fires kept several of the parks closed, and Limekiln reopened that day while other parks were stil closed, so that may have added to the busyness. We very much enjoyed hiking the park all the way back to the old lime kilns and to the waterfall. Both were great photo stops, but there is great beauty throughout the park. It's a bird watcher's paradise! There were countless burned trees in the park, a true reminder of the mass devastation that forest fires cause. Still, they made for interesting photos. It took us approximately 2 hours to walk the trails. If you want to see the falls close up, there is some climbing involved, so wear sturdy shoes or hiking boots.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank tangokilo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

We made a quick stop at this park to hike to the waterfalls and visit their beach area. The hike to the falls with short but a lot of fun- crossing the stream at multiple locations, walking along logs- a lot of fun for kids. The small beach area was nice with a great sunset.

Date of experience: December 2016
3  Thank sapoypato
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Lovely hike 10 miles south of McWay Falls [ entrance to the left]. $10 parking fee. Lots of camp ground by the creek. Rest room maintenance is very average. Falls hike is a little short of 2 miles amidst redwoods and either beside or on the creek. There are not too many signs in the trail, but the path is pretty self- descriptive. Loved walking over logs and cascaded waterfalls. The water is crystal clear. The falls are simply beautiful. Nothing can compare with a lovely waterfall hike amidst the redwoods in my lovely coastal California. Close to the parking lot there is access to the ocean (below the bridge). Quite smelly with dead fish lying about (perhaps since we visited during the holidays and the campgrounds were saturated. The ocean is a lovely turquoise blue.
Tip: Walking on water is many times the ONLY option (and the fun one! who would want to miss that! :-) ) Either carry water proof shoes of regular slip-ons. The hike is not slippery or difficult and can be done with regular slip-ons ( i wore my crocs sandals).

Date of experience: December 2016
3  Thank shruthi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 18, 2016

Easy hikes to both the falls and kilns. Ground soft and spongy with lots of little river crossings. Impressive falls with beautiful pool at bottom. Beach attached to park also, with awesome views.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank AileachBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews