We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Sur Self-Driving Audio Tour: Highway 1, Pacific Coast Highway
86

Book in advance
from
$16.98
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Limekiln State Park
from $16.99
More Info
from $24.99
More Info
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
171
69
10
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
69
10
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 258 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Pay the entrance fee, enjoy the serenity of the beach and the waves and streams rolling over the rocks. Then get up and head into the woods and follow the footpath to find the waterfall. It is not paved and you will balance on logs, boards, roots, rocks, and wade through the water, so wear good hiking/swimming shoes but it is a fun trip. The scenery is gorgeous reminiscent of Oregon. You will see more babbling brooks and mini falls amidst the greenery. At the top you will find a beautiful towering waterfall that is freezing cold, but hey, how many times in your life do you get to bathe in a waterfall? Even though we got there on a holiday weekend it was not busy. There were others around, but plenty of time for quiet photo ops. Kids would love it, but not accessible to the disabled.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

This park is spectacular and perfect to take kids for a hike but not too long of a hike. (Each hike is about 30-40 mins round trip)

Location: 24 miles south of the Ventana Inn or Bakery/gas station area

PARKING FEE: $10 entrance/parking fee per car

CAMPING: onsite: At the beach and in the woods - two sets of bathrooms but they are pretty rough.

THE HIKES: There are three short hikes you can do: 1- Limekiln, 2- Waterfall hike or 3- Hare Creek. Waterfall is bar far the best- short 30 min hike through beautiful sequoia's and clover beds throughout leading to a huge waterfall. Then hike back the sign and go the other route back to the historic Limekilns- amazing how they could haul Lime out of those woods so many years ago! And lastly Hare Creek- we started it but it just wasn't as pretty as the other two so we turned back...

THE BEACH: Don't get in your car and go, walk past the ranger station and walk towards the ocean. There the beach awaits you with water that runs over the rocks, and huge seaweed in the water that look slow bobbing otter heads.

Watch out for the squirrels in the parking lot- they are very eager to eat all your snacks and are not shy to eat anything you set near them.

TIP- since it's so far south, go there 1st and get there early, there are very few parking spots

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank LRRAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

My husband, 4 year old son and I just returned from a few days of camping at Limekiln State Park. The overall experience was excellent! We arrived right at the check-in time of 2 pm and had reserved Site #29 about a month ahead of time. The staff at the gate were super friendly and helpful with any questions. There are 12 sites near the ocean, 4 sites on the creek and several more sites in the redwoods. Site #29 is a bi-level space in the redwoods section of the park. You park your car near the road, walk up a small hill where the picnic table and fire ring is located and then you can walk up another hill to set up your tent. This site is the most private as there is not anyone near you and you are elevated. It is also the closest site to the restroom and showers. This spot is very shady. The ocean spots seemed hot with little shade and the creek spots seemed very dark. There are 3 hiking trails in the park - one to a waterfall, one to the historic limekilns and one along Hare Creek. The hikes were fairly easy and my 4 year old didn't have an issue. It is truly beautiful walking among the trees and the creek. You could probably do all 3 in one day, but we broke it up. A couple of notes: We were not prepared for the number of annoying flies in our campsite. We drove to Lucia Lodge - 2 miles north - and spent $40 on bug spray to no avail. At the current time, there are 2 forest fires burning in the Big Sur area. This park is the only campsite that is currently allowing campfires. It was explained to us that they can continue to allow fires because this park is privately run - but that could change at any moment. The firewood they sell was kind of pricey - $10 a bundle and most of it was hard to burn. The restrooms were cleaned daily and the showers were hot! The entire campsite was very quiet at night. We would consider returning as long as we bring enough activities to keep my son busy. Besides the beach and hiking there wasn't much to do. 4 year old boys don't like to just relax!

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank CharlaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

This campsite is good for tent camping as no RV's are allowed in the Redwood section. What I didn't expect is that the sites are small. When the folks across from #26 put up two tents, they didn't have room for their two cars and parked them right next to our tent. It's basically a dirt driveway on the edge of a beautiful creek that fills the ambient sound 24/7. The cars have to park between the road and the tent if you want any privacy on the creek side. Most sites on the right side have a little more privacy, but not much. Oh well, seems like most people just pull in for a night and are gone by the next morning. The redwood site is the entrance for public hikers to three easy hikes through the redwoods. Limekilns are a cool part of SF history. The falls are amazing and accessible even for a 70yr old to ford the creak four times to reach the falls. The Hare Creek trail goes to a beautiful redwood grove. Rangers are awesome...beach camping is basically around a dirt parking lot with the freeway overhead, but the beach itself is cool. Creek gurgling over rocks right down to the ocean. All the children there during our two-day stay were having a ball.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 905vickis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Went back after 35 years and it was wonderful. My suggestion is to make reservations many months in advance

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank YyaYya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews