We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Camping!”

Limekiln State Park
Ranked #7 of 34 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Camping!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I camp here every summer and I always love it. Beach, Creek, Redwoods, and free hot showers! What more can you ask for in Big Sur? Best camping spot in Big Sur!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    58
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2012


Very nice area my family and I really enjoyed this . The campsites were maintained tbe bathrooms were spotless the trails were amazing we definitely will be coming back to support this state park.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marine954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

On our trip up Hwy 1 this was my favorite hike. Towering tree's and lush ferns along a babbling brook. The hike would be worth doing even if there was not a waterfall at the end of it. We even saw an owl! I second a previous reviewers recommendation of sturdy shoes but the hike itself was easy.

Helpful?
Thank Sacha_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Camping at Limkiln”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Love Limekiln! Two areas to camp...one near the beach and the other up in the redwood loop. We camped just feet from the beach. Flush restrooms as well as showers. There is a gate with a code to get in and out during the overnight hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank smch916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great short hike up to falls, down to beach”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hiked up to the falls, really amazing, through the tall forest. Then headed over to the lime kilns which was a nice creekside trail with a few small trippling falls. Headed out under the bridge to the beach - snuggled between cliffs, one side had lots of rocks that people had stacked - dramatic. Just a beautiful little spot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank brigid_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limekiln State Park also viewed

 

Been to Limekiln State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing