We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Sur, Big Beautiful”
Review of Big Sur Station

Big Sur Station
Ranked #13 of 34 things to do in Big Sur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The visitor information center at Big Sur.
Vlaardingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big Sur, Big Beautiful”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Crossed Big Sur when I drove the California State Route 1 from L.A. to San Francisco October 2012. Decided to take this road trip up, because Six Flags Magic Mountain was closed during week days. And I can tell you, I am happy it was closed. Man, this is a trip everyone should do if they have the change... Amazing sceneries, beautiful landscapes and dramatic mountain views...
Want to do it again, for sure... Big Sur rocks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank koppd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as useful as expected, but ok.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Given the Big Sur area is geared up for walkers, I didn't think there was that much information available about what to see. We'd done our homework before visiting the area, so we already had a list of things to do, but extra information would have been nice.

The shop as most 'gift' type shops was fairly pricey, they sold some groceries, and they were expensive.

So do your homework before you get to Big Sur, research what you want to see. We didn't ask about walking advice, as we're not keen walkers, so maybe the information about trails etc was very good, we don't know.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
828 reviews
408 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,323 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited here when we were on our way from Monterey to San Simeon. This was one of the many beautiful things that we saw that day. If you have some time, this is something that should not be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Most amazing drive”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The drive takes you right in the middle of a mountain range and deep deep blue ocean. There are points to stop at but driving along is the fun part. Not many restaurants and gas stations along the way, so fill up before starting. Monterey is good stop - fairly large touristy city.

Helpful?
1 Thank lv_roadtrip_4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Center, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful views”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We Drove from Desert Hot springs and we had to be in Monterey so we decided to take RT. 1 that is the most spectacular view. We have never drove anywhere to far in California and it is a ride that everyone and anyone should take. We drove to Big sur station and looked at all the views and didnt stay there long but it is a visitors center and place for rest area with awesome views. We being from NYS were just in love with the views and to think that God has made this all for all of us to view and the most peaceful place that it had to offer and will def. do it again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GumbyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Station also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing