We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic room in Big Sur”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Sur River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Sur River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic room in Big Sur”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Big Sur River Inn solely based on price. The restaurant on site was nice - great atmosphere, great service, and perfectly cooked food. The food was a little on the expensive side, but very convenient to just walk from our room to the restaurant. The hotel also offers a great area by the river with chairs right in the water!

Our actual room left little to be desired however. The room was clean, but there was occasional weird sewage smells. The windows were single pane, so all the noise from the nearby road came right into the room. We were also able to hear conversations from the couple in the room next to us. The bed was ok, but with two people, we both rolled to the middle. The pillows were pretty flat, which resulted in horrible neck pain the following morning. Our room was also very warm when we checked in, but no a/c or ceiling fan is provided. Even with the window open, it took several hours to cool down. Good basic hotel, but no special amenities. If I returned to the area, I would choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    103
    78
    63
    69
See reviews for
105
157
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle,
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a gift to stay in the heart of Big Sur without spending $700 a night OR sleeping in a tent. We selected this Inn for the atmosphere and proximately to beaches, view points, and funky shops and stops along the windy highway. It delivered. An afternoon sitting in the river chair with the sun sparkling on the water while drinking a bloody mary and listening to live music from the patio. Perfect way to end the summer. Noise at night??? Did not bother us at all. Maybe light sleepers could be disturbed by an occasional car passing. It is very quiet at night...not like the busy days. Beautiful flowers, good food, cute shops. A treat in a very special place.

Room Tip: Might be worth it to spend the extra money for the lodge rooms overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review, Maureen! And for sharing your experience at Big Sur River Inn. Seeing guests like you sitting in a chair ... in the river - being truly relaxed is one of our great joys! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to Big Sur in the not too distant future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The rooms are nice and clean and good smelling. However, there is no service at all. The standard room rates of more than twohundred dollars per night are absolutely not reasonable.

There is no Wifi in the rooms, only in the restaurant. The street is very loud and you hear it very clear in your bedroom. No coffeemachine in the room and no free coffee for hotelguests in the restaurant. You have to buy the breakfast and each cup of coffee separately.
In front of the rooms is a lot of dirt and dust and the direct environment does not look very pretty.

No, not again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorko E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were travelling up from Los Angeles to San Francisco, this was a great stop over. The location was amazing and it was beautiful being by the river. The restaurant had some lovely local wines to share and the food was great. It was perfect for what we wanted and we all had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My Husband I just got back yesterday from the Big Sur River Inn, celebrating both my Husbands's B-Day and our Wedding Anniversary. We are the couple that can find the positive in darn near everything. We are also that same couple who finds it irritatitng when a review has nothing but negative things to say. So here I hope you find both....all that is wonderfull and all that his not! This was a childhood haunt of mine...it came with very high expectations as many summer weekends were spent on the lawn listening to music.

What rocks!!
Get the 1 bedroom suite...the view and the sound of the river...sighh..unbelievable. Could wake up to that every day.
The beds are UBER comfy with nice duvet's and tons of pilows.
The rooms are spotless...hats off to housekeeping for an imaculate job.
Everything is in close proximity...forget something at home...no problem, the General Store will have it for ya.
Sunday's its music on the lawn from 1-5...pick from an adirondack chair on your own deck, on the lawn or even one in the river....can't beat these spots.
Did I mention the view?

Now for what didn't work so well.
They are "famous" for their BBQ. Infamous perhaps, as we had what was likely the first slab of the day....but probably a few days prior...it was hard, dry, no flavor and inedible. All that can be yours for $19.00 USD.
We thought dinner would be better, it was our anniversary and bday celebration after all. I ordered filet (medium) and my Hubbs got the lemon rosemary chicken. The steak was WELL done and there was no hint of lemon OR rosemary on the chicken...at least it was moist.
Not a single wait staff, lunch or dinner, asked us how our food was, if we needed anything else...nothing. Dropped off the food, the dessert menu and the check. No service there...which saddened me as that is not how I remember the place in the past..
The walls are paper thin, so maybe some ear plugs...unless you enjoy hearing blow by blow how the neighbors in the room next door are making their last ditch marrital effort to resolve their promlems. Ummm no.
On property public restrooms were really dirty and looked like they hadn't been updated since the 70s.

All in all, we determined we will definately go back for day trips...time on the lawn with music and beer...but bring our OWN food! Stay again? Maybe....those views at night are incredible.

Give it a shot....for the low low price of $285 a night

Room Tip: The suites facing the river have THE best view, but the bedroom window backs up to the parking lot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fortunately we had only booked a one night stay at Big Sur River Inn. We stayed in some lovely hotels and motels during our two week trip to California in August but this was a huge (and overpriced) let down.
I am quite happy to accept the lack of a tv and relax with my book but, what is not clear from the photographs of the motel rooms, is that the main highway is a few feet from the veranda, with cars passing constantly. A tv (or earplugs) would be useful to drown out the noise.
On the whole the standard of cleanliness in the room and bathroom was good. However, when we went to bed, we discovered two cigarette burns, one in the duvet cover and the other on the sheet. As a lifetime non-smoker I found this revolting, not to say puzzling in a non-smoking establishment. At the same time I discovered that my bedside lamp would not work. When we pulled out some furniture to look, it was obvious that previous guests had unplugged lamps to use sockets for charging. I would expect lamps to be checked and in working order, not to be crawling around the floor in the middle of the night to sort them out.
The final irritation came after my shower in the morning. 200 dollars for the night and NO HAIR DRIER!
On the plus side, we ate at the restaurant. The food was delicious and the service excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant hill ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Big Sur lodgings are expensive and booked up in the summer. It is a lovely area.
The Inn is a little spiffed up,a little funky-perfect for me.You almost feel like you're camping-but no,there's a VERY comfortable king sized bed with nice bedding to fall into and the end of your busy outdoorsy day.
Flowers,trees,birds and those chairs in the river so that you can just sit--nice.
We used the pool-nice to have there since we're not swimming in the ocean.
We ate dinner and breakfast on the outdoor patio-great service,good food.
At night there was live music in the pub.
A good home base for our ocean vacation

Room Tip: You're on the highway,but I didn't hear ANY traffic at night. The river side is more conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eusnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
16.3 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
20.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
4.0 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur River Inn

Property: Big Sur River Inn
Address: 46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint stream-side inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Big Sur River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur River Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing