We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$1,600
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
$1,335
$1,115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$1,060
$950
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$704
$499
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $576/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$579
$320
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,005
$799
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$311
$290
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$449
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
94
129
84
67
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
129
84
67
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple piewooden chairsburritoribscool riverroot beeroverlooking the riverliving roomlittle priceybreakfast and dinnergas stationgift shoproad triptrundlecreekstreamporch
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 448 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed one night in one of the little cabins across the highway. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom though very small was perfectly adequate. We didn't notice any road noise during the night. We loved the big wooden chairs set right in the river, though the water was cold so we only dangled our toes in for a short time! The restaurant was fabulous with the best setting and the best food we found in our whole stay in the USA. We ate dinner outside under a big redwood tree, on the wooden deck lit with fairy lights, above the rushing river. I had chicken with lemon and partner had lamb shanks - simple but delicious with perfectly cooked fresh vegetables. We had found much American food over-complicated and heavy on carbs, sugar and fat - so it was really refreshing to find great, simple fresh ingredients beautifully cooked. We were so impressed we shared a massive helping of apple pie (we never usually have a dessert) and it was wonderful. The service was great and very friendly, and breakfast also on the lovely wooden deck was livened by gorgeous blue birds (blue jays?) hopping around. Maybe for a longer stay the accommodation would have started to feel a bit too basic but for one or two nights this is a perfect place and in this wonderful location you are not going to spend much time in your room anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2bristolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Good food and acceptable prices.
I love the location and the atmosphere.
I truly believe that the River Inn is the perfect place to go to eat when you plan to visit the Big Sur Area or even if you are just planning to cross it riding up or down the coast on Hw1

Is nice when they have music and when is always protected from the wind, which makes comfortable staying there almost all year round, with your wood chair sitting ON the river after you eat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was my first time staying at Big Sur River Inn, the attraction being their Winter Getaway package and having been on the grounds and restaurant before. I'm ready to go back! The package included a generous gift card to use in the restaurant, bar or general store. The inn is casual and comfortable but has elegance to it without being pretentious. Great service at the front desk and the restaurant. There is a stone fireplace with leather couches where you can warm up, and the bar is steps away. The grounds along the river are so relaxing, and the rooms very nice. A place to sit outside the room, comfortable beds with silk comforters and ample down pillows, a basic bathroom, no TV and no phones. Our room was across the road from the restaurant and even though that road is Highway 1, it was quiet. Probably would be louder during the summer, but - really - how many people will be on this area of Highway 1 during the night when you're sleeping? Lots of meal choices on the dinner and breakfast menus that we took advantage of with our gift card.
This is the perfect place to stay in Big Sur. You are out in the middle of very little civilization in this part of coastal California, so prices are high anywhere for a room. We paid $200 for the room and got a $90 gift card, which I believe is a terrific value. If you want to see the other hotels, it is a very short drive to Ventana Inn and others where you can go to have a drink and then return to your less expensive accommodations.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the river on the west side of the highway, but these will be more expensive.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderluster255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Staid at one of the rooms across the road. The room was "rustic" but neat, though we were glad there wasn't much traffic, because the rooms don't have much sound proofing.

The restaurant is nice, and the food isn't bad, but pricy.

There is free wireless Internet in the main building. Managed to get a (weak) signal in the room as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This place is very cute and I liked the facility/surroundings, but I don't think I'll return based on the value…

Just shy of $200 for the night I expected a bit more… in the tiny room you get a bed, dresser, and small bathroom. The place was VERY clean though, and the staff was very nice. They do provide shampoo, conditioner and body wash in your bathroom, but no body lotion. No ice maker anywhere near the room, so if you need ice you have to cross the highway and go to the bar in the restaurant. Pillows are feather, and no alternative in the room (husband is allergic). You have to go back across the highway to the main office to ask for different pillows since there are no phones in the room. The windows could use some updating since there was a draft in the room and bathroom. We didn’t get very good sleep that night since you could hear the cars on the highway all night… Oh, and there was skunk that sprayed near our room and since the place is drafty, that grotesque smell comes wandering right in too! The skunk isn’t the problem; I realize where I’m at, but the windows should be a bit more efficient at blocking things out.

The restaurant on site is very expensive, and reservations are recommended. The general store has a lot to offer, but pricey. They have decent coffee (there’s no coffee maker in your room), and good breakfast burritos, snacks, etc.

I understand the place is trying to be relaxing, rustic, and quaint, but the price just doesn't make sense to me. If I had to put a price on the room I would say $100/night would be about right since the Adventure Tent Cabins at the Fernwood Resort are $75/night and basically the amenities are the same, except you do get your own bathroom at Big Sur River Inn.

Room Tip: Book one of the Riverside Suites. Quieter, more room and you don’t have to cross the highway as much (and I hear they have coffee makers in the rooms!).
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ToughMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews