We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redwoods!”

Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Redwoods!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We overnighted in Big Sur Lodge, in Big Sur State Park. Their rooms are actually cabins. They were okay, the price was not bad, but there was no TV, no Wi-fi, barely a cell signal, no breakfast included (but you could eat at the lodge). However, it was clean and comfortable, gave us a separate bedroom, and a kitchen. In the morning we were treated to at least 6 or 8 deer grazing quietly on our front lawn & across the street, and they allowed us plenty of time to photograph them. We then drove through some portions of the Park, and enjoyed the redwood trees, and the general scenery – very lovely drive.
The Lodge is well located along Big Sur, about 2/3 of the way to Carmel, driving northbound. We took the whole day to meander up there from Cambria, stopping dozens of times to take pictures, and having a picnic lunch. We got into the Lodge after dark, but only because we dawdled so long.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank baldfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    161
    49
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hikes”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Pfeiffer Falls is nice and the hike to Valley View is also good. And don't forget to find the Colonial Redwood, the largest redwood in the park. What I liked most about this state park were the redwoods. You're surrounded by them almost the entire time you're there. They are magnificent

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtn2gulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

While in California, my boyfriend and I decided to explore through this park and it was worth it (and the money)! We packed a quick lunch and ate at one of the picnic tables by the creek - super relaxing and quiet! Once we ate we marveled at the MASSIVE redwoods surrounding the area while starting the hiking trail. We wish we would have tried to see the waterfall instead of the "Valley View" hike. We are not expert hikers but this was just not for us and once at the top, we were just not that impressed - oh well, there's always next time! Overall, this is an awesome place to explore and take in all that nature has to offer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Falls Hike”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We're not big hikers, but the trail to the falls was great. Some older folks we met along the way were a bit taxed by the climbs. Made us want to experience more. Will be back to explore next year!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easy hikes, beautiful scenery”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Pfeiffer includes several easy hikes, all less than 1.5 miles. The waterfall hike is underwhelming - would skip it and do Buzzard's Roost instead. A bit steeper but great view and lots of redwoods to enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing