We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Visit”

Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park
Ranked #5 of 35 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Post Visit”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A multi-functional park with loads of outdoor activities for most imaginations and desires. Lots of various hiking trails, including walking through th giant redwoods - no matter how many times one encounters these trees, it just overwhelms the mind.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    162
    49
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Made Me Regret Not Camping!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am a New Yorker, born and raised, and am living in LA for a while for work so I decided to take a road trip to Big Sur for Labor Day weekend, to get a feel for California. I stayed at a hotel in Carmel because I'm not one for camping but I immediately regretted it when pulling into Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park. This park is beautiful - first time seeing Redwoods after singing "This Land Is Your Land...." for years in elementary school so seeing the trees in person was better than a celebrity sighting. There's a beautiful river that runs in the middle of the campgrounds and there were people laying on tubes in the river, chilling out and it looked very peaceful. The trails were clean and there appeared to be nice hikes (again, living in NYC, I'm not keen on the whole hiking thing but I would do it here). I would recommend taking a day and really exploring the park - pack your sneakers. I want to go back and camp, who's coming with me?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hiking trails for everyone”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good place to go with just about everyone as their are trails to suit every level. There are a couple of medium hikes that start from the main bulding area. Good enough to stretch out your legs if you've been in the car too long. There is a little nature walk near the first parking lot that is good for kids and somewhat less than fit people, and there is the Pine Ridge trail that meanders through the property camp grounds and up a hillside all the way to a hot springs.

We did not camp, but going past the campgrounds on one of our hikes they looked very nice, tucked into the redwoods. There is a main building that has a restaurant, coffee shop, ice cream parlor and a gift shop if you are so inclined.

All in all, definately worth visiting if you are staying in the area or just passing through.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ewoldsen Trail so very worth it!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We did this trail as our main focus for the day after a quick visit out on the McWay Falls Trail. The two trails share the same parking lot (which also has nice bathrooms). Ewoldsen was about a 4.5 mile trail and was just gorgeous - full of towering redwoods and sweeping vistas. The trail is a loop path (ours was an out and back due to trail construction) that is fairly challenging due to the 1,500 ft elevation gain. Our small group of five (ages 12-63) finished the trail in 1.5 hours up and 1 hour down, took a ton of awesome pictures...and we all slept very well that night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank FEN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Redwoods not so far North”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We did a coastal trip but going to the main area of Redwoods was out of the question. We spent a couple of hours here hiking to the waterfall and the valley view trail. the waterfall was pretty but it didn't have much water flowing, maybe it's seasonal. the trails give a decent work out first thing in the morning. around the base (where you park) there are handicap accessible trails which were really nice. there are ranger programs for you and your kids. we didn't camp here, just paid our $10 to park (maybe it was less but not more) and spent a couple hours. take OFF spray as we did encounter mosquitoes. we started up the trails early (by 9 am) so we were the only ones on each trail, but by 10:30 we saw a few people heading up, then by 11 am it was pretty busy. there is a restaurant there but i couldn't tell if it was just for those in the lodge, it smelled good.
Yes the trees are fabulous and the hikes were nice but for just these 2 hikes i wouldn't go out of my way to do them.. they were on our way. the valley hike was not as great as the waterfall hike, imo. it was also really dusty so bear that in mind.
we saw several folks in tank tops and shorts, while the trails are well maintained there is underbrush and maybe poison oak so i'd be cautious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank klf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing