We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful redwoods .......walk up and look into the canopy”

Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful redwoods .......walk up and look into the canopy”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lots of work going on and noisy leaf blowers working whilst we were there. So it only got quiet when we got high up the trails. The Falls were small and sweet. If time is tight go right to the View trail and miss the falls and also walk the short wheel chair accessible loop near the cafe at the entrance. .

We saw a fabulously noisy huge party of Stella's jays go across the valley. Locals may dismiss them as thieves - but they are gloriously blue and entertaining. The bird life was variable - sometimes teeming, sometimes none. We saw woodpeckers at the Colonial tree by car park 4. We drove to the campsite and past some more fabulous trees.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlowingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    161
    49
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
311 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I expected more.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've heard so much about Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park that I had really high expectations. I'm from the Pacific Northwest, so I'm probably a little spoiled. In fairness, there was a lot of construction going on in the park, which may have been a limiting factor. The redwoods are definitely amazing, I just expected more trails to explore them. I hiked up to the waterfall and found it disappointing. It seems to be fed by a stream, instead of a river, which really impacted its grandeur - it looked more like to streams of water coming down the side of a cliff. The air is so clean and fresh - take as many deep breaths as you can!

The lodge did look amazing and I bet it is something special to stay there. They had a wood fireplace going, which gave the park that special campfire smell, which is always very special. I would definitely go back to try the lodge out for a night or two!

Helpful?
Thank Cary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Coastal Redwoods”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Big Sur is more than a feeling. It's a real place and lovely it is. Everyone needs to drive this beautiful coastline once in their life and more if possible. There are so many parks to stop at an breath in all the beautiy. This park had a good hike to a waterfall past lovely coastal redwoods. Even fire couldn't take these giants down. We found it to be uncrowded. The only negative was that there was some off season construction going on and you could hear the trucks during the hike. Entry fee good all day at all State Parks so hit more than one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The second most incredible place on earth”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I thought Big Sur was the most incredible place on earth until I saw the Grand Canyon. Fill up on gas outside of Big Sur, gas stations are few and far between (and very expensive). My recommendation would be to bring a tent and a motorcycle and you will have the drive of your life. Maybe it's not the most incredible place on earth, but it's certainly the best drive on earth, that I've taken at least.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScottEversonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“HWY 1”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

great costal views between Carmel and Morro Bay. Elephant seals close to San Simeon. Butterflies in Pismo Beach

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing