We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, Healthful, Local & Organic”

Big Sur Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ventura
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, Healthful, Local & Organic”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Service with a smile and delicious, healthful options. We arrived approximately TEN minutes prior to the conclusion of breakfast and were greeted as though the was plenty of time to review the menu and make choices. Everything was yummy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FridayLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    48
    27
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good service and food.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My mom, sister and I ate supper here after hiking one day. The setting of the restaurant is off the highway in the forest and is quite nice. Our waiter was very friendly and had a great sence of humor. We all ate off of more of the pub style section of the menu, the burgers, chicken sandwiches and a salad and we each enjoyed our meal. The other entree meals and dessert that went by to other tables looked really good as well.
We enjoyed our meals here and would return to this restaurant again if in Big Sur.
The only thing I would say is that the restaurant was pretty cold and I had to wear my jacket the whole time. It would have been nice if they lit the fireplace in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I liked eating outside, even though some road noise, being in the redwoods made up for it. I don't think I would like eating inside.
i like that you can walk there from your cabin, especially since you are walking through the redwoods, that makes it very convenient if you are staying there. All the breakfasts were very delicious. They bring you a pot of good coffee so you don't have to ask for refills. I would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Batyah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Take a few minutes to visit the Big Sur Lodge and order a real ice cream cone at the entry of the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Hot, noisy, pricey and poor service.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Traveled to Pfieffer State Park and came upon this restaurant. Menu is small and pricey. Opted to sit outside which was a mistake because it was too hot and noisy (from the highway practically next door), but inside was stifling as well. There were 2 servers on duty and though there were only 5 tables, they both seemed overwhelmed. Had to constantly ask for water and the food took a long time. Had the roasted cheese with pita bread (actually very good) and the chipotle chicken sandwich (very basic). The heat, prices and lack of urgency from the wait staff made this experience less than satisfying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing