We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Puerto Morelos”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Puerto Morelos”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Puerto Morelos is a good choice if you want to avoid the Riviera Maya resorts. Posada el Moro had nice and clean rooms and was very conveniently located. However, the beach was quite dirty, full of seaweed and rubbish. So we end up going to Playa Delfines at Cancún during the day. It had been a better option to stay in Tulúm, which is a bit more touristic than Puerto Morelos, but the beach was much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Jesus M:
Thanks you for letting us be of service during your visit to Mexico and the Riviera Maya. As you indicate the region has many options to satisfy every taste, from tourist places to beautiful beaches, resorts and some towns that are still remnants of old mexico like Puerto Morelos.
We hope that you enjoyed your visit from Tulum to Cancun and for your staying at Hotel Posada El Moro.
Thanks again for your preference and for your time to write this review.
Sincerely
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    107
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
51
159
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salida
Level Contributor
576 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you are looking for a perfectly located room in a special Mexican Village then this is the place for you? Comfortable rooms, clean. Our room was in the back it was quiet. The little courtyard is delightful. The WiFi is always a bit spotty. We love the location close to the center of town within walking distance to authentic, tasty restaurants, the beach and fishing port. If you are tired of the beautiful 4 and 5 star all inclusive resorts.... this is the opposite. We will return.

Room Tip: For a quiet night sleep I would choose a room in the back on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear djack7:
That for your repeated visit at Hotel Posada ElMoro and your time to write this review. We are proud to be part of a town that has so many nice things to offer to our visitors . We hope that you come back again to stay with us and be part of the nice ambiance that our installations, guests and staff make at Posada El Moro and Puerto Morelos.
Thanks for your review and we all hope to see you soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We enjoyed our two nights here. It was such a nice antidote to the time we spent at a "destination wedding" at an all-inclusive nearby. Tha AI was all about being in a "bubble" and not experiencing the town at all.

The hotel is old, simple, and very clean. The location is great... near the park and pier and lots of good local restaurants.

Breakfast is just OK... and our room was on the garden and the "security" of a simple patio door wasn't quite up to our standard - but the place feels very safe.

All in all - a good choice right in the heart of Puerto Morelos!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idiotsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear idiotsabroad:
Thanks you so much for your time to write this review and for your preference to stay at Hotel Posada El Moro. We are glad that you felt the warm, friendly, laid back feeling of Puerto Morelos and that you have a good experience during your staying with us.
We hope to see you soon in Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stay at El Moro every year as we transit on our way to and from Isla Holbox. Miguel and his wife are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and functional, the rooms are generally large, breakfast is good. Location is a half block from the main square. It is a comfortable and loyal part of our winter break from Canadian winter. Puerto Morelos still maintains local charm and laid back friendliness that you can't find in Cancun or further into the Mayan Riviera.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Gran T:
We all at Posada El Moro thanks you for your preference and continuous visits. Puerto Morelos is indeed a place to relax and we are happy that you enjoy it.. We will do our best for you to find our hotel as friendly and comfortable for many years during your winter vacations.
Thanks for your time to write this review and we hope to see you soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Hotel Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and i stayed here oct 11-15. It was a wonderful time. We had a room just buy the pool. Air conditioning and wifi worked perfectly. The staff was so friendly. I didnt try their breakfast because i usually went exploring around town for breakfast, but im sure it was good. Cheap beers for sale in the lobby was great. The roof top palapa was really cool and we spent an evening relaxing up there with some wine. If i am ever in puerto morelos again i will absolutly stay here!... Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galandr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Galandr6:
We all at Hotel Posada El Moro are grateful for your preference and for your time to write this review. We feel satisfied with our work when we our guest have a nice experience in our hotel and the vacation that they were looking for and deserve.

We have now a full restaurant downstairs and service at the palapa upstair. So on your next visit we hope that you enjoy our breakfast and a nice drink watching the town and ocean from our roof palapa.
Thanks again for your time writing this review,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have always stayed at the Posada, it is a friendly and comfortable place. We had a suite with a kitchen which enables you to buy your own food and save on eating out. Breakfast included. But we had a room on the front and it was extremely Noisy from the bar across the street so we will get a room in the back next time. Location is fine for square and beach. No safe in room but feel safe leaving items in the room. No hot water the first day but ok after that. Water jug in room and very clean. Bed pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Montrealer86:
Thank you for let us being part of your vacation in Mexico and your review of Posada El Moro. We are glad that you find our rooms practical, comfortable and safe. We will try to apply our knowledge and experience of dealing with the noise of the street or restaurants that surround us in our new building. We are expanding to the area next door and we will try to use double windows to reduce the sometimes unavoidable noise, which last only during the weekends and during high season.

At any rate, thanks for your preference and we all at Posada El Moro thank you for your time to write your review and hope to see you back in Puerto Morelos soon,
Sincerey,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When traveling to the small fishing village of Puerto Morelos, I like to explore the essence of the village, its people, shops, restaurants and businesses. What better way to experience the town than to stay in town at a location where everything is within walking distance; the town square being a block away.

The Posada el Moro Hotel is my go to place each time I've visited. You won't see a neon sign or flashy exterior. But you will see a small, quaint, hacienda style, 3-story hotel with a welcoming entrance. The family of owners / property managers are genuinely dedicated to upkeep and a well run hotel. The small staff does a great job of keeping the grounds, rooms, pool and hotel clean and inviting. The landscaping in the back garden area is colorful and beautifully done. There are numerous room styles and locations to choose from.

I have always stayed in a "suite" on the second level. I like the option of having a fully equipped, small kitchen area, dining table and chairs. The main room also has a futon couch, tables and lamps. The room is separated by a colorful and functional curtain to the bedroom area. There is a quiet air conditioner in the large bedroom, outside patio overlooking the town, a large walk in closet and a great bath room area with mexican tile sink & vanity - private water closet on one side, private large tile shower on the other. If you prefer a laid back style of accommodations, I highly recommend The Posado el Moro!

Room Tip: Second floor suites give you an opportunity to cook Yucatan style meals since the town has numerous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear SusannahBanana:
We are thankful not only for your nice description of your room and our hotel but also for your repeated visit to Posada El Moro. Every person in our staff is proud of their work and it is very nice that our visitors take notice of their effort. We feel satisfied and happy when we see that our clients feel at home with the comfort, cleanliness and laid back atmosphere that we all look for in a vacation.
Thanks again for your time to write your review and we hope to see you again at Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Property: Hotel el Moro
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing