We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local hotel”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nice local hotel”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We enjoyed our two nights here. It was such a nice antidote to the time we spent at a "destination wedding" at an all-inclusive nearby. Tha AI was all about being in a "bubble" and not experiencing the town at all.

The hotel is old, simple, and very clean. The location is great... near the park and pier and lots of good local restaurants.

Breakfast is just OK... and our room was on the garden and the "security" of a simple patio door wasn't quite up to our standard - but the place feels very safe.

All in all - a good choice right in the heart of Puerto Morelos!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idiotsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear idiotsabroad:
Thanks you so much for your time to write this review and for your preference to stay at Hotel Posada El Moro. We are glad that you felt the warm, friendly, laid back feeling of Puerto Morelos and that you have a good experience during your staying with us.
We hope to see you soon in Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    107
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
51
159
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stay at El Moro every year as we transit on our way to and from Isla Holbox. Miguel and his wife are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and functional, the rooms are generally large, breakfast is good. Location is a half block from the main square. It is a comfortable and loyal part of our winter break from Canadian winter. Puerto Morelos still maintains local charm and laid back friendliness that you can't find in Cancun or further into the Mayan Riviera.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Gran T:
We all at Posada El Moro thanks you for your preference and continuous visits. Puerto Morelos is indeed a place to relax and we are happy that you enjoy it.. We will do our best for you to find our hotel as friendly and comfortable for many years during your winter vacations.
Thanks for your time to write this review and we hope to see you soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Hotel Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and i stayed here oct 11-15. It was a wonderful time. We had a room just buy the pool. Air conditioning and wifi worked perfectly. The staff was so friendly. I didnt try their breakfast because i usually went exploring around town for breakfast, but im sure it was good. Cheap beers for sale in the lobby was great. The roof top palapa was really cool and we spent an evening relaxing up there with some wine. If i am ever in puerto morelos again i will absolutly stay here!... Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galandr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Galandr6:
We all at Hotel Posada El Moro are grateful for your preference and for your time to write this review. We feel satisfied with our work when we our guest have a nice experience in our hotel and the vacation that they were looking for and deserve.

We have now a full restaurant downstairs and service at the palapa upstair. So on your next visit we hope that you enjoy our breakfast and a nice drink watching the town and ocean from our roof palapa.
Thanks again for your time writing this review,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have always stayed at the Posada, it is a friendly and comfortable place. We had a suite with a kitchen which enables you to buy your own food and save on eating out. Breakfast included. But we had a room on the front and it was extremely Noisy from the bar across the street so we will get a room in the back next time. Location is fine for square and beach. No safe in room but feel safe leaving items in the room. No hot water the first day but ok after that. Water jug in room and very clean. Bed pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Montrealer86:
Thank you for let us being part of your vacation in Mexico and your review of Posada El Moro. We are glad that you find our rooms practical, comfortable and safe. We will try to apply our knowledge and experience of dealing with the noise of the street or restaurants that surround us in our new building. We are expanding to the area next door and we will try to use double windows to reduce the sometimes unavoidable noise, which last only during the weekends and during high season.

At any rate, thanks for your preference and we all at Posada El Moro thank you for your time to write your review and hope to see you back in Puerto Morelos soon,
Sincerey,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When traveling to the small fishing village of Puerto Morelos, I like to explore the essence of the village, its people, shops, restaurants and businesses. What better way to experience the town than to stay in town at a location where everything is within walking distance; the town square being a block away.

The Posada el Moro Hotel is my go to place each time I've visited. You won't see a neon sign or flashy exterior. But you will see a small, quaint, hacienda style, 3-story hotel with a welcoming entrance. The family of owners / property managers are genuinely dedicated to upkeep and a well run hotel. The small staff does a great job of keeping the grounds, rooms, pool and hotel clean and inviting. The landscaping in the back garden area is colorful and beautifully done. There are numerous room styles and locations to choose from.

I have always stayed in a "suite" on the second level. I like the option of having a fully equipped, small kitchen area, dining table and chairs. The main room also has a futon couch, tables and lamps. The room is separated by a colorful and functional curtain to the bedroom area. There is a quiet air conditioner in the large bedroom, outside patio overlooking the town, a large walk in closet and a great bath room area with mexican tile sink & vanity - private water closet on one side, private large tile shower on the other. If you prefer a laid back style of accommodations, I highly recommend The Posado el Moro!

Room Tip: Second floor suites give you an opportunity to cook Yucatan style meals since the town has numerous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear SusannahBanana:
We are thankful not only for your nice description of your room and our hotel but also for your repeated visit to Posada El Moro. Every person in our staff is proud of their work and it is very nice that our visitors take notice of their effort. We feel satisfied and happy when we see that our clients feel at home with the comfort, cleanliness and laid back atmosphere that we all look for in a vacation.
Thanks again for your time to write your review and we hope to see you again at Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We were nicely surprised by the garden and little pool as we walked to our room. The bathroom had a talareva sink, and the room was spacious. There fan helped move the air in and out our two large windows. The hotel is near some tasty restaurants, Tacos.com, with a curry salsa verde, and La Pirata, a kitchen with an Argentine edge. We did our gift shopping in town, and got a great deal on plates crafted in Puebla from a family shop near the shore by a dive shop.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve16639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Steve 16639:
We all at Posada El Moro thank you for let us and the town of Puerto Morelos to be part of your vacation. Our own is slowly growing in services and restaurants for the benefit of our visitors. We are glad that you had a good time dinning and shopping around town and hopefully we can see you again in this part of Mexico.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is our last night in Puerto Morelos. We had stayed in Play Del Carmen for a week in a condo and then moved over here for the last 3 nights. This little hotel is just so cute. Very traditional Mexican décor and lovely jungle look with all the foliage--really like the entrance and how it is open to allow the breezes to come thru the entire grounds. You are provided a key to the entrance door of the hotel, which they lock at night in the event you stay out late--which we did one night :). Otherwise the door stays open. When we came in late, my husband laughingly told me he felt like he owned the place b/c he had a key to open the front door!

We stayed in room 22 on the first floor and it comes with a frig, microwave, kitchenette type--all cooking utensils and plates etc. The AC and ceiling fan works great!! The flooring is painted concrete, which is smooth and cool. there is a connecting door to the other room, but we have not heard anything from the occupants. Someone had mentioned that the lock to that door is flimsy and I would have to agree-that needs to be changed. But it is a quiet place and we have thoroughly enjoyed winding down from our trip. the grounds are well cared for and the pool was completely refreshing. The bed was comfortable and the price for the room was excellent.

They offer continental breakfast but we did not try it--too many other options so close. The top floor has a huge palapa that you can look out over the town and the water. It also has very good wifi--good enough to make a voip call.

The Best part about this hotel is its close (and I mean "short, leisurely walk" close) proximity to all the restaurants; the cantina; the town square. The restaurants are so close together that you can easily walk past one and not realize you missed it.

Although this hotel completely fit our needs for a short stay, I felt comfortable enough that I could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meander48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Meander48:
Thank you for your description of our hotel!! We are also thankful for the opportunity to be part of your nice vacation. We hope that you can pass again by Puerto Morelos and if you give us your preference to stay, please try out restaurant. I think that you will be happy with the continental breakfast that is included in your room. We have also a good selection of mexican dishes (try our chilaquies with or without chicken... my favourite) if you want to start your day with a filling, healthy meal.
Thanks again and for your time to give us your review in Tripadvisor,
Sincerely
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
387 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,513 reviews
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#18 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Property: Hotel el Moro
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing