We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed there on july 29-30, 2013 by myself and I felt really safe in this hotel. Very nice room, clean and quiet. The beds are confortable, toilet and shower work good. One of the best place to stay in Puerto Morelos for that price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Julie0707:
It make us happy and satisfied when we met our clients needs and expectations. Thanks you for let us be of service during your vacation and hope to see you again in Puerto Morelos,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hotel el Moro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 288 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Plus points: Clean room, nicely furnished, good bathroom, quiet, safe and secure.

Minus points: Not good value, disinterested staff, pretty rubbish breakfast - a plate of fruit, a weak coffee and two pieces of toast with a bit of jam... expect a bit more for this price range!

Mainly we felt a bit ripped off - have stayed all over Mexico and found better hotels for half the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear James L:
We all at Posada El Moro thank you for staying with us for your vacation. Also we feel very sorry that you feel ripped off for our service. That is not our intention, on the contrary we strive to give our clients a quality and memorable stay. We will learn from our mistakes for again our clients comfort safety and satisfaction are our priority. We hope that the rest of your vacation was not as bad and you continue coming to this beautiful country.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Posada El Moro in Puerto Morelos, Quintana Roo one night on April 23, 2013. I had no problems booking our room through their on-line reservation link, but was dissapointed with our accomodations on arrival at the Hotel. Our room was described as having an ocean view, but one would need a pair of binoculars to see the ocean in the distance. The unit's furnishings were out-dated, and the key to get in the room was difficult to work with. We asked to see another like-priced room, but it was in worst condition, with the air-conditioning not working adequately. We chose The Posada, because of comments we read on-line, so were surprised with our accomodations. The Continental Breakfast was fine and the Manager on duty very helpful. The Hotel just needs a little "tlc" to help with its appeal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollytmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Mr Hollytmx:
Alll of us at Posada El Moro thank you for your preference during your vacations.
Although our suites face the ocean, it is not, in any way, our intention to mislead our clients. In our web page there is a location map which indicates the location of our hotel two blocks away from the beach. Sorry for the confusion and your disappointment.
We are currently in our annual replacement of 6 out of 18 AC equipments in the hotel. That is the price that we pay for living in such humid climate. Nevertheless sorry for you bad experience you had dealing with faulty AC.
We use the low season to renew and improve our rooms and open areas. We hope that you can visit us again next year and have a better experience.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a super-clean and quiet hotel with cute rooms,very comfortable beds, and nice grounds. There are several room options including non-a/c, a/c, and suites with kitchenettes. The hotel staff is pleasant and friendly, but unobtrusive. The included continental breakfast was enough to get us going - included toast, jam, assorted fresh/local fruits, juice and coffee. It is convenient to the beach and the center of town with plenty of places to eat within close proximity. Check out the rooftop palapa too! You have an interesting 360 degree view, it is cool from the ocean breezes, and makes for a great place for evening cocktails. We didn't spend much time at the pool but it was clean with just the right mix of sunshine and shade.

Room Tip: We were second-floor with porch facing the grounds so it was quiet. We chose an a/c room but it woul...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeverlyK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear BeverlyK241:
Thanks you for your preference and nice review. We are glad that we contributed to your nice vacation in Puerto Morelos and Riviera Maya. Hope you can join us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, Clean and comfortable room. Highly recommend. Near the town square and beach is very short walk. Every thing is on walking distance and you save money not havering to hire a taxi to see the town.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Trbond:
We all at Posada El Moro thanks you for let us be of service during your vacation in the Riviera Maya. We sincerely appreciate your time to write this review and your recommendation. We hope to see you again in Puerto Morelos.
Alejandro Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very well taken care of place great service had a pleasant stay pool is small but it is an inexpensive hotel good wifi in rooms and every where in facility close to town and top floor you have a wonderful view of the ocean

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acmoore_5742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Acmoore_5742
We all at Posada ElMoro thanks you for let us be of service during your vacation. We feel satisfied and fortunate when our visitors have a good experience in their vacations and when we are part of them. Thanks you again for your review and hope to see you back someday to Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro.
Sicerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stay here. Nice rooms..a/c works great..bed is comfortable..bathroom clean and spacious closet...clean property
.welcoming staff..beautifully. kept. Hotel is walking distance to all of puerto morelos. Pool is small however lovely. A laid back vibe here. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go downstairs for breakfast and enjoy the outdoor seating. Also the roof palapa
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myturn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#23 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
887 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $90 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing