We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okey.”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Okey.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The room was very large and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. We had 2 double beds, a full-size ridge, a hot plate, a sink and a lot of kitchen utensils, pots and cutlery. And a table. It is very close to a bar and a bit noisy some nights till about 11pm. We had a lot of trouble with the toilet not flushing and the water pressure in the shower was poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    107
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
51
159
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have now stayed here three times. Once in 2012 and twice in 2013. Our first stay was pleasant enough to make us want to come again. In February we stayed in one of the suites at the front of the hotel and had a very pleasant stay. We decided to stay again at the end of our trip and had a smaller room at the back of the hotel which was the same room we had occupied a year before. What a difference! The painted floor looked like it had been mopped with dirty water for the previous 12 months. While we were still in bed on the first morning the maid was peering in through the gaps in the curtains and banging tables and chairs around outside our room in an obvious attempt to get us out of the room. When we were having a short breakfast she started doing the room. We asked her to come back and finish when we had gone out for the day. AFAIKS she didn't come back on any of the days. She didn't empty the waste bins or replenish the toilet paper. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Croxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I returned from my 7th stay at Posada el Moro in February. I stayed 4 weeks. Before I left I made reservations for 4 weeks next year.
I've stayed in several rooms over the years but as we stay so long I prefer having a kitchen. We stay on the 3 rd floor and can see the ocean.
It's about a 3 block from the beach. A half block from the plaza and close to many restaurants.
I don't like resorts and I like staying in a locally owned small hotel.
The rooms are clean and the beds are very good. Good mattresses are important to me. The grounds are beautiful. The manager Miguel is great.
I've stayed in many hotels and houses in the Yucatan. This is where I always want to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyrano5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love this place. It is a perfect place to use as a jumping-off point for exploration of the cenotes, Cancun. Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and so on. It is reasonably priced, very accommodating, clean, friendly, basic, helpful. They want you to be happy, and this makes it unusual and worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we had a wonderful stay here and will do it again. We found everyone to be helpful. Again it has more than met our expectations. The only thing I would recommend is room safes for your valuables, other than this, it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear monica m:
Thanks a lot for your comments and observations. Puerto Morelos is growing and we want to improve our safety around our buildings and in our rooms, so that our guests feel comfortable and with the peace of mind about their belongings and safety. We are currently, as you suggested, installing safety box in each room as part of this year safety program in Posada ElMoro.
Thanks for your suggestions and preference and hope to see you again in Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

With just one night to spend in Puerto Morelos, we found this hotel adequate. We had a family suite on the second floor front, which is actually three flights of stairs up. (No elevators.) It was a tight squeeze for five people. The room was clean, but traffic noise from the street and loud music from the restaurants/bars made it difficult to sleep. Ask for a room in the rear building if you have kids. The staff were friendly and the location was excellent. Perfect for the low-budget traveler, but if you're used to something a little more upscale, you won't be happy here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Megan P:
Thanks for your comments and suggestions. Indeed during the weekends other business attract clients offering live music. Although this is something that we have no control over, we also offer other rooms (single and Jr suites) inside that as you noticed offer more privacy and less noise during those times.
Other than that, we hope that you had such a a good experience that want to come back to Puerto Morelos where we wish to offer you a better experience for you and your family.
Thanks again for your review,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spotlessly clean from top to bottom. Conveniently located near the town square, the beach and the great area restaurants. This is my 9th year here and it gets better every year. This is a family owned and operated hotel, not an all inclusive but that is part of the charm as you can easily walk to any one of the restaurants. The included conteniental breakfast of toast, fresh juice, coffee, fresh fruit is more than enough but if you want more you can order off the menu at very reasonable prices. Miguel, Vicky, Josue, Juanita, Beto and the entire staff are very friendly, helpful and anxious to please their guests. If you go, you will meet many returning guests who call this wonderful small, authentic, spotless and friendly place their "home away from home" while on v.k. Book early "in season" or you risk the chance that no rooms will be available.

Room Tip: We prefer the first or second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis-in-Sarnia-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Denis-in-Sarnia-Ont:
We measure our success when we meet our guests expectations. As you mentioned, you have witnessed in the last 9 years the evolution and growth of our hotel and we sincerely appreciate your loyalty, friendship and kindness to all of us. All our guests, including you of course motivate us to pursue better and higher goals in Posada El Moro.
Thanks for the last 9 years and all the other to come. Miguel, Vicky, Edna, Josue, Beto, Lupita and the rest of us in Posada El Moro are always happy to see you, and so many of our friends, return to Puerto Morelos and your "home away from home".
Thanks for your comments and the time to write them.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
389 reviews
23.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#23 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
854 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Property: Hotel el Moro
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing