We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found this place via tripadvisor as a place to stay not far from Cancun airport, to keep the drive to the airport short the next morning. Had been on Riviera Maya for a week, but rented a car the last two days to do some site seeing outside of our regular hangout in Playa del Carmen.

Lovely little place, beautiful gardens, delightful room. Very helpful staff. One short block from the beach. Also we discovered that Puerto Morelos really feels like a small, non-commercialized fishing village that caters to tourists on the side, instead of tourism being the whole focus of the area. Nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olympia_P_and_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Olympia_P_and_S:
Curiosity and adventure takes people to Puerto Morelos and then they , as you did, discover a great Mexican town to relax and enjoy. Thank you for staying with us in Posada El Moro and for let us be part of your nice vacation.

Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    106
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
159
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los altos
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

quiet, comfortable rooms. some with tv and fridge. although it's on the main street, if you get a high up room in the back, it's quiet. comfortable beds. nice folks. includes continental breakfast (fruit, toast/jam, coffee) and you can order more for extra charge. friendly, helpful folks. what more could you want?

there is a roof-top area (under a thatched roof) that you can sit for hours, watching the ocean and enjoying the view.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back half of the hotel, for extra quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betty_betty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear betty_betty1:
Thanks for your comments. We are happy when our clients feel comfortable in Posada el Moro and we are part of their nice vacation.
Hope to see you again in Puerto Morelos soon.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I just stayed here with my family and in-laws and I was very pleased. The staff and management were really nice, the rooms were very nice and clean, the location was great for our needs, and it was just an all around nice experience. The location is a block of the beach and a half block from the central park where the majority of restaurants and stores in town are located. The hotel might not be the ideal setting for everyone as I can see some people preferring to be in a larger resort on the beach front, but for us this was excellent and if we are lucky enough to make it back to Puerto Morelos I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpowell623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Cpowell623:

We are glad that you and your family had a great time in Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro.
Hopefully you can make it back and enjoy again all the nice things that the town and region have to offer to our dear visitors.
Thanks for your review.

Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I loved this quaint, little hotel. I stayed in a room with two double beds, a sitting area, dining table and a kitchen. Our room had a huge walk-in closet, a nice bathroom and a small balcony. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated,
We stayed for three nights and our shower had good water pressure and nice hot water (after two weeks of ice cold showers at our homestay in Merida). The wifi was free but slow. Which was okay as I was there for the beautiful beaches not the wifi access. We found the check-in to be very quick and helpful. My mother had an enormous suitcase with her that was full of gifts for her friends in Cuba, where she was continuing her trip to later. Our room was on the third floor and there is was no elevator. So it was great that one of the staff members offered to carry that monstrosity up the stairs for her.
Someone else described the breakfast as adequate and that is a great description. They offered toast, fruit, coffee and juice. Eggs were available if you paid extra for them. For the price I paid for the room the free breakfast was a bargain and i didn't mind paying extra for the eggs.
The courtyard and pool of the hotel are really nice. The pool is small but there were only a few people there each time I walked by. I found the other guests of the hotel to be quite friendly. With many of them telling me they had been booking the hotel for many years in a row. Some of the rooms had nice areas to sit and look out over the courtyard with a small table and chairs.
Puerto Morelos is a small and very walkable little town. We tried out different restaurants at each meal (Mercato del Mar, El Pesquero and La Panza es Primero and more). The prices were good and so was the food quality. There is a fun ex-pat bar down the block from the hotel named Cantina Habinero that had live music. Best of all the beach is half a block from the hotel and there is also a small pier where you can find locals that will take you out snorkelling on the nearby reef for $25/person. There were also many dive shops in the blocks around the Posada el Moro and a dive shop in the hotel lobby too.
I have been to some of the All Inclusive Resorts in this area with my husband and my children over the years but I much preferred staying in this little town in this little local hotel. I plan to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you have trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passionfortravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Passionfortravel9:

Thanks for your description of Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro services and attractions. We could have not done it better. I am sure that other visitors will find your comments useful and we are grateful for them.
Hopefully you can return to the area when we will be happy to see you and your family again in Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel twice and were happy with the consistency of the friendly helpful staff as well as the cleanliness of the hotel. Well located with a private courtyard it provides a quiet space to escape to. They even provide beach towels !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherrytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Cherrytripper:
Thanks for your review and for being part of our dear repeated guests that visit us when they have the opportunity.
Although we are growing with the acquisition of the property next door and a future new building, we will keep the quality standards that you and all our guest are use to in Posada El Moro.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level Contributor
575 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We enjoy the town of Puerto Morelos, a quaint village in the plethora of Grand Resorts on the Riviera Maya. We arrived late into Cancun and needed a one night stay before checking into our resort. We chose Posada el Moro due to the comments on Trip Advisor. Our checkin was laborious, we did arrive late and it took a real long time to get us into our room. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The $80 rate was a good value. If you need a shower that had a large quantity of water, this may be a problem. It was a trickle and difficult to control temperature wise. The WiFi is sketchy but that is not unusual in small Mexican Hotels. I was never actually able to get on but since we were staying one night it was not a big deal. Breakfast was adequate. The AC was functioning well. The location is a major asset.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and the room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear djack7:
Puerto Morelos is indeed a special town and we are glad you liked it. In your comments about laborious registration, did you make a reservation or walk in? How late did you arrive? We know that people are travelling and ready to go to their accomodations so we want to be fast in our welcome. We will pay more attention to this issue.
WiFi. we have antennas for wireless connection in each building and have access to every room. That is our goal. Sometimes personal Laptops need to be configurated to have access to our network. Did you ask for assistance to Miguel and or Josue? They are always a good help in these cases. We also have a computer in our office dedicated to our clients at no charge for a quick email review or web search.
Thanks for staying with us and for your observations. We will improve in those suggestions so our clients have a better experience.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

we turned up and paid 650 a night including breakfast, nice big clean room, friendly owner and staff, nice close location to main square and beach. Looked at a couple of other places, this shone out.
Great last couple of nights, great snorkeling on beach..
Has wifi too..which is important to some people..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burrga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Burgga:
We are glad that you decided to stay with us at Posada El Moro, hence let us be part of your nice vacation.
Thanks for your review, preference and hope to see you again in Puerto Morelos,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,254 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Property: Hotel el Moro
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing