We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but probably wouldn't stay there again”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Garden area very nice, quaint appearance. Our room had many negatives but a very comfortable sleep. Light switches schocked us twice, toilet seat would not stay up, no washcloths or cups for drinking water, bed comforter was at least 30 years old. Positive convenient location, pool, comfortable bed, good shower water flow and temperature Air conditioner did not work at all, fan a little tricky to figure out but it worked great. Very loud rooster next door so bring ear plugs. Friendly staff with limited English. Toast and fruit plate was breakfast with juice and coffee

Room Tip: 3 rd floor rooms were cooler, more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emandrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear emandrobert:
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to be part of your vacation. We appreciate your comments and observations as well as regret the problems that you had during your staying. Nevertheless, your comments will not be ignored. An electrician has checked current and potential problems in our installations. We have changed the toilet seats, provided cups for water and replaced two air conditioners. The happy rooster has been removed along with his chicks to a better more spacious place (I do not mean heaven).
Thanks again for your observations and I hope that you can visit us another time to check these changes.
Sincerely,

Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

We recently stayed one week at Posada el Moro and recommend it as a great hotel just one block off the main square of Puerto Morelos. It is not on the beach but does have a very clean small pool that is refreshing. This is not a luxurious hotel, but the cleanliness and friendly helpfulness of the staff make it very welcoming. We would stay here again..

Room Tip: We stayed in 33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Hotel simple and clean (posada = inn) with structure typically Mexican without elevator. Our room was on the second floor. The room was large without television or telephon but with wifi. The breakfast was minimal without croissants or any other kind of sweets . A little problem for me: at 4 am the roosters in the neighborhood start singing

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raffaele769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Miguel is such a great host as is the rest of the staff. Nice quiet hotel few feet from restuarants, shops and the town square. Beach and main dock is a block away. Great rates and friendly atmosphere. Dive shop right in the hotel too.
I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with kitchenette. I didn't get one, because there are so many nice and inexpens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivek a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a great spot. Nice hotel that is clean safe and in the town - hotel zone. I really don't like all inclusive hotels and prefer to be in the towns though this is more touristy that the main town near the highway. This place is close to everything you would need inthe town. Walk to restaurants and tours. Our big simple room had AC and was on the second floor looking over the pool. No fridge. Go to roof for vista of whole area. Small breakfast but ok. Small pool but clean. A few lounging chairs. Nice staff. Go a few steps to the north (left out the door) and between 2-4 get a really cheap and big margarita (they all speak English and you'll see the sign for happy hour).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Spent six nights in late December, including Christmas Eve and Day. I will definitely stay here again. The spotless rooms and the happy, friendly staff make this a keeper. Plus, the breakfasts available make this a very convenient location from which to begin your day. Not that there is a whole lot to do in Puerto Morelos, but this is centrally situated to City Centro, and the beach. About the only negative we found with Posada el Moro was the bar across the street, but we learned it is closing due to lack of business. This hotel should never lack for business, however. It is a great choice if you love things clean, simple and easy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeadedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My girlfriend, our dauther and I stayed at this beautiful clean hotel in Dec 2011. We were on the 3 rd floor in room 36. WE didn t want our 9 month old baby waking up other guess. WE ended up to be awaken for a good part of the night by dogs and a rooster from the area while my dauther kept quite... .Apparently it is a common thing near the city square...oh well.
Friendly staff, breakfeast was serve early so we could start our adventures. Excellent snorkling close by, and a great book store at the city square and relax coffee shop to chill.
Beautiful small swimming pool and a nice mini library in the main living room at Posada EL Moro.
Average price .

Room Tip: Be nice on you....do not take a room on the street side, too noisy.Apparently on the first floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poirierstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#20 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#21 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
967 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#15 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
11,947 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $104 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing