We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good vibes, very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My girlfriend, our dauther and I stayed at this beautiful clean hotel in Dec 2011. We were on the 3 rd floor in room 36. WE didn t want our 9 month old baby waking up other guess. WE ended up to be awaken for a good part of the night by dogs and a rooster from the area while my dauther kept quite... .Apparently it is a common thing near the city square...oh well.
Friendly staff, breakfeast was serve early so we could start our adventures. Excellent snorkling close by, and a great book store at the city square and relax coffee shop to chill.
Beautiful small swimming pool and a nice mini library in the main living room at Posada EL Moro.
Average price .

Room Tip: Be nice on you....do not take a room on the street side, too noisy.Apparently on the first floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poirierstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 294 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent a week here in October. Great place run by Miguel and his staff who are friendly and very responsive. The room was very clean and pleasant. The hotel is close to everything in town and only a block from the beach. The town has a number of very good restaurants. Minor problem with the roosters next door waking us up in the morning. We used the hotel as a base for visiting Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and the other Maya Riviera sights. This place needs to remain our secret, don't tell anyone about it. ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Secutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I have stayed here several times and always had a perfect experiance. Miguel and staff are very friendly and helpful. The security is excellent. Location is right. very inexpensive. We are going back again in Dec. They recently added a roof-top palapa with excellent views and nice breezes.
Don't tell anybody,,,its a perfect hideaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderingOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Clean, attractive, well maintained, friendly and helpful staff, inexpensive, great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drorul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very nice hotel in this little town. Clean rooms, good AC, TV, small pool and a very friendly staff!

The hotel is close to the beach (one block away), main square, dive shops, restaurants, etc.

Negative: poor breakfast, more european (fruit and bread only), not the classic mexican breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice place to stay - we were there during construction so it was a little noisy, but centrally located and a pretty good price for what you get. Clean rooms and nice staff. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelingbugs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel and location feels like Mexico which is getting harder and harder to come by! It's a short enjoyable walk to the beach. We started our 10 day visit to riviera maya here and loved it. Rooms basic but clean with quaint small pool which our kids 5&3 yo enjoyed.

Great breakfasts and close to great grilled chicken place for dinners.

It is impossible for me to review this place without contrasting it to hotel jashita in tulum where we spent the next 7 nights. jashita was 7 times more expensive per night which of course we knew and yes the rooms there were fancier and more comfortable. But the 'upgrade' was not worth the price- which meant nicer accommodations with tons of pretension and like of Mexican ambience and food! Some one else mentioned they did not mind the lack of Mexican food at jashita bc they don't like "mushy beans" and melted cheese - well I guess that's bc they have not really tried Mexican food which is very diverse. Get out of the gringo resorts to get a better feel for real Mexico at a place like el Moro and puerto Morelos!

The expensive jashita gave us 2 small bottles of water for a family of 4 per day and charged for extra bottles-- all that at$375/night. Contrast this to el Moro which stocked our room with huge bottled water jugs at closer to $70/night! I just hate it when expensive hotels nickel and dime you!

Long story short- stay at el Moro for old Mexico charm, proximity to gorgeous beach, and great value for the money!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nmext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#18 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#26 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $92 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing