We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further in Pto. Morelos”
Review of Rancho Sak-Ol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Sak-Ol
Ranked #5 of 18 Puerto Morelos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at SAK OL, we were thrilled with the price, location, and service. We will definitely be going back! Also, if you are concerned with security, there is a gate with a gaurd on the way in, as it shares the area with some of the mega resorts of Pto. Morelos, but you get the calm privacy and homeyness that these resorts can't offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCOttawatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Rancho SakOl. The location is away from the main city but close enough to walk or bike. The beach at Rancho is great for walking and beach combing. There are many options for quietly enjoying Pto Morelos. They had to pry me away when our taxi for the airport arrived.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room that faced the water. We kept the fan going to bring in the breezes, when i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodrigvitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had seen a review of Rancho Sak-Ol in Rough Guide and chose it for the first stop on our two week holiday in the Yucatan as it was less than 30 mins drive from Cancun airport and a small place rather than one of the mega resorts. Our flight was four hours late getting into Cancun but as we had reserved, the owner was waiting to greet us when we arrived at about eight in the evening. We were really pleased that we had reserved and received the detailed instructions on how to find the place as it is a little tricky, and as we arrived so late, it was good that they were expecting us, as the office/reception is not 24/7 and it was already closed.
We stayed in the Junior Suite, chosen as we wanted to make sure we would be comfortable after our long flight from Sweden. The Suite was really spacious, had lots of storage space, a fridge, coffee maker, large purified water, even an electric hot plate. From lying in bed, you could see the sea.The suite's hammocks on the terrace outside look out towards the sea too. Although the building is a little set back from the sea, you still hear the waves. We were pleased that the main palapa at Rancho was to the left of the suite, thus blocking out the cargo ferry from our view. The suite is at the end of the upper floor, so no other guests pass by in front.
Breakfast was great, although 8am actually felt a bit late to start it from - coffee was available from 7am though. Loved making fresh orange juice, cooking your own eggs, and the good choice of fruit, cereal, and pastries, as well as spreads for toast.
Even if you don't stay in the suite, you will be spoilt for choice the different levels of the main palapa and the hammocks and loungers that all have a sea view.
The only downside to Rancho Sak-Ol is that you cannot walk direct into town on the beach but must take a street, not very scenic and not well-lit, one block back. Bring a flashlight with you if you are going to walk. You can borrow bikes from Rancho though which would make it a very quick ride into town. The walk was around 15 mins. You can walk along the beach though for a stroll - you just don't end up at the town's restaurants!

Room Tip: Junior suite if you can afford it, or go for one of the upstairs rooms that overlook the relaxing ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank quirky_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a great place to stay! What an amazing people work here! Thanks Hilda and Valentin for worriless vacation!!!
Our room was #13, which is upper level of the common dining area and one of the closest rooms to the beach. Overall clean roomy accommodation, nicely decorated, has amazing view! Roomservice did a great job daily, no complaints at all. My favorite thing about this hotel is BREAKFAST with fresh squeezed orange juice! Also you can use their bikes anytime you need, snorkeling equipment. The hotel is located apart from the town, so there is a 15 min walk to restaurants area ( or 5 mins by bike, or taxi 40 pesos), but another side of this apartness is that we enjoyed the beach just ourselves, no one around us..priceless if you are tired of people ;)

Room Tip: waterfront rooms might be noisy during windy days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rancho Sak-Ol for one night in Jan 2011 as we waited for a flight home out of Cancun. The property is gorgeous. Beautiful flowers and trees and right on the beach too! I loved the hammock on our little porch. It was a very tranquil place to be. We thought the hanging bed was super cool - until we actually tried to sleep on it! It made me very dizzy. The rooms are clean but plain. The staff are very friendly.

My husband was concerned about security as the door didn't lock well but I felt safe enough.

We would not choose to stay in Puerto Morelos if we return to the Yucatan - there were other places like Akumal that we liked better - but this was the perfect stop for an evening enroute to Cancun.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHDailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms are stunning with hanging beds, very clean and very safe.

The rooms are ten second walk to the beach and come with small terraces each with hammocks.

Love love love this place,

Breakfast is included, fruit, eggs, tea's etc.. all very fresh.

The owner speaks great English and is super helpful,

Really great for the price and location.


Take a torch if you want to walk into town for dinner after dark.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FifiB131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found this property delightful. The breakfast spread was nicely laid out and everything was fresh. I particularly liked the squeeze your own fresh orange juice. (I'd love to buy one of these.) Our room was clean and well appointed. The towels were creatively folded in the forms of birds. The bed which hangs from the celling was a fun experience. Each accommodation had 2 hammocks hanging just outside the front door. The view of the ocean was spectacular and if you are a shell collector you will find big ones on every trip down the beach. Bikes are provided free for your ride into town which is only a few minutes away. This was my first trip to this property but I will certainly return. The value for the price can not be beat. Our only complaint was that the beds were a little hard.

Room Tip: I'd suggest picking a ground floor room. They are the only ones with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will3642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#18 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#20 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#21 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gota de Sal
Hotel Gota de Sal
#11 of 34 in Puerto Morelos
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amar Inn B&B
Amar Inn B&B
#2 of 18 in Puerto Morelos
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Sak-Ol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Sak-Ol

Address: Manzana 01 Lote 03, Calle en Pryecto del Fundo Legal de Puerto Morelos | por avenida el CID, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $69 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Sak-Ol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho, a beach side B&B, is the perfect place to relax in a warm, tropical environment where you can stroll along the white sands and crystal waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a siesta in a hammock right on your patio, or bask under the sun in this tropical paradise. Located in an authentic Mexican fishing village, 25 min. south of Cancun airport makes it a very convenient gateway or home-base to explore the Mayan Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rancho Sak-Ol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Sak-Ol Hotel Puerto Morelos
Rancho Sak-Ol Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing