We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$421
$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita(Puerto Morelos)
$580
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
$372
$335
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
$342
$274
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$499
$395
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$462
$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$701
$459
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$643
$574
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arrecifes Suites(Puerto Morelos)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$374
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,230)
Filter reviews
7,230 results
Traveler rating
3,519
2,411
814
290
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,519
2,411
814
290
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplatinum clubmurphy bedcliff jumpinfinity pooltime shareplatinum servicebedroom suitekids clubconvention centerwater shoesboogie boardsitalian restaurantfamily vacationfire showmain poolmain buffetswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,619 - 5,624 of 7,230 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We've been in this hotel for 11 days, starting the beginning of September. All the facilities are good, clean and working. We have a little girl of 20 months. She liked it here very much.
Some remarks: the beach has been devided into two part, one for premium guests, although there hardly was a guest to find, we were not allowed in that part of the beach.
The food is ok, but massively made, not with love.
The (wireless) internet is 15 USD a day, or 60 USD a week. For an all-inclusive hotel we think this should be in the price. If you want to use a computer you need to pay 4 pesos a minute. So about 20 USD an hour!
And... the constant noice. At one side of the resort you have entertainment all day, At the other side, although near a silence park, the constant hydrolics of machines can be heart, day and night.
But overall, a good hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MP641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family had a good holiday with us with the exception of the mentioned areas.
We will reinforce immediatly the services that you commented on your review.
Thank you again for your preference and for your review, we hope to see you again in a near future in this your hotel.
Muchas gracias amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Resort grounds are nice. If you don't have kids, it's not the best place. Very noisy as there are lots of families with kids - more than anywhere I've been. Service is awful in general, made the trip less fun.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittykat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Dear guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your review and for your past stay with us.
As you well commented in your review we are a family oriented resort but we try to offer activities for all kind of guests.
Regarding to the bad service please be so kind to contact us whenever you can to give us some more details.
Thank you again for your stay and for sharing your review.
Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I went here on spring break. We were a little concerned because we thought it would be crowded with college students. But luckily it was not at all. This hotel was very family friendly and very quite and low key. Our room was wonderful it had a complete living space with a kitchen, living room, dining room and 2nd bathroom. The room was clean and updated. The only problem i had was with the mattress it was way too hard for me. Me and my husband have a super plush mattress at home so it was really hard for my personal taste. I had to request extra comforters so i could sleep on.

The beach was just what we wanted. There were plenty of chairs covered by palapas. There are also canopy beds that are really comfortable if you are lucky enough to get one. The pool was were most all of the kids were hanging. The beach was mainly adults so it was quit and relaxing. They have what they called an adult pool, which we were not to impressed by. It was very small and half the time I saw kids in it. They had a wonderful gym overlooking the ocean.

The food was really good. We had really no complaints about the food but we did not really enjoy having to make reservations every day to go to a sit down restaurant otherwise we were stuck going to the buffet. You have to call at like 7am to get a good time for dinner. We also had to always make sure we made it in time for the lunch buffet or else you were stuck waiting until dinner because everything was closed.

The staff was wonderful and friendly. On one of the days we took an excursion to XPLOR which we booked thru one of the companies in the lobby. We had an awsome time. XPLOR is a huge jungle park that has zip lining above the tree tops. It is well worth the money.

Me and my husband would recommend this hotel to our friends with and without children.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aguilar2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your past stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your husband had a nice and relaxed vacation with us.
Thank you so much for your nice comments about our beach and our resort and for sharing your review on this site:)
We hope to see you again in a near future in this your resort.
Muchas gracias amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed at the Marina 8/25-9/3. Me, my husband, my brother and his family - four kids (ages 6, 12, 18, ,25). First let me say its beautiful - but then again its MEXICO! We did not stay in the Platinum and felt no need for it. We received the same treatment the Platinum level did. Check-in was fine. Time-share people did not bother us. Room was beautiful ocean view, overlooking the pool and lagoon (and no the birds did not bother me). The ocean is a little rocky but still beautiful. The drinks are top shelf (which is pretty unusual for an all inclusive). The bartenders at the pool bar (not the swim-up) were amazing! My past experience with other resorts in Mexico is the pool staff is so amazing and entertaining - not the case here. They do pool aerobics at 12:15 and one contest - they only play music about two - three hours because they do not have a house dj - they pay someone to come in for a couple of hours (hint hire a pool staffer/entertainer that is a dj) The staff - just okay. The lobby bar was terrible - considering this is the only place to hang out at night - it was pathetic. The table of four of us were all drinking the same thing, well four rounds ordered for different sets of drinks arrived - or you were ignored. The food was just okay - nothing special - but always found something to eat. The kids club - well after staying at other places in Mexico (and for the size of this resort) the kids club was pretty shabby. I probably would not stay here again after comparing El Cid to other resorts we have stayed in Mexico.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpaccione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family had a good holiday with us with the exception of the mentioned areas.
We will reinforce immediatly the services that you commented on your review because we want to keep our hotel as one of the best options in Puerto Morelos:)
Thank you again for your preference and for your review.
Good luck amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

First of all let me just say this was not our first time to Mexico. It was our 4th time to Mexico and 2nd time to the Mayan Riviera. This was a family vacation with my husband and 4 year old daughter. We went for one week August 28 to Sept 4th. We stayed in the one bedroom suite Platinum Club.

The Pros & Some Suggestions:
The resort was very clean on a beautifully landscaped property with beautiful gardens. The room was very spacious, clean and had 2 full closets and dressers for storage. The room consisted of 2 full shower bathrooms, separate bedroom with king size bed with access to a large balcony, the living room had a queen size Murphy bed, dining table and kitchenette with mini fridge (stocked with water, pop & beer), sink & microwave which is great when travelling with a young child. The TV channels provided were good, with a children’s channel in English and 4 movie channels, and other various channels to surf.

The buffets and restaurants (Mexican, & Mediterranean/Thai) were good, and we were always able to find something to eat. Our favourite was the Mediterranean/Thai restaurant that had amazing food and superb service (thank you Viktor & Manuel). The Grill buffet was our favourite for lunch where you could get some BBQ, and you always had a wonderful view of the ocean if you sat near a window.

There was a limited room service menu available which was okay. However we had to use room service when we wanted to get a bottle of wine, and 1 litre cartons of milk for our daughter since the person who stocks the fridges will not stock it with such items even when requested through the Platinum service!

The pool was HUGE and amazing for kids of all ages. The small kiddie pool was perfect for our daughter with a mini slide where she spent hours playing. There are some lounge chairs & tables near this area – but could definitely use much more for parents who want to sit nearby to watch their young children closely. Also, finding shade can be a challenge – it would have been nice if they had large free standing umbrellas between the lounge chairs for much needed shade for parents and children. In the center of the pool there is an area for cliff jumping and a much larger slide for older children & adults. The pool was maintained very well, the water was very clean and we saw pool staff working very hard to clean it each night.

The beach had nice sand, and was secluded for the resort. There was always plenty of palapas with lounge chairs regardless if you went Platinum or regular class. The loungers are roped off so they can not be moved. The beach itself had a moderate amount of seaweed wash up every day, which a crew cleaned up a few times a day. The water was clear, warm and had small waves. However if you are a person who wants to swim freely in the ocean this is not the beach for you. A little ways into the water there are large rocks scattered so you would have to wear water shoes. However, if you are not an ocean swimmer and have small children the beach is perfect for wading in the small waves and making sand castles.

The spa was very nice with a wonderful whirlpool tub that you can use prior to any appointments. I had a full body massage that was wonderful, but extremely pricey compared to North American pricing standards.



The Cons:

After reading many of the reviews on TA about how wonderful the butler service is with the Platinum club, we decided to spend a considerable amount of extra money to receive superior service. Platinum check-in was excellent with no waiting, a drink and a wet towel to refresh yourself. We got to explore the Platinum Club where they have a couple big screen TVs, premium liquor on request, books, DVD library (mostly in Spanish) and 4 computers total where you can check your e-mail and surf the web. There is no Wi-Fi in the room unless you pay extra – which we found to be ridiculous when we already paid extra for Platinum service. After check-in you are escorted to a staff member that informs you of the amenities and services of the resort and then goes on into a very assertive presentation about their time share program and trying to push you to agree to go on a tour and meeting (which lasts a few hours). We did not pay big money to go on vacation to waste our time, and so my husband had to very firmly state we were not interested and we never heard anything more about it.

The service at both buffets for breakfast and dinner were hit and miss. Also, please note we always tipped our servers with $1-$2 USD for we know that they do work hard for very little wages. So we thought that since we were Platinum guests with different bracelets and tipped every meal we would be getting superb service. Sadly this was not the case, sometimes we would wait at our table for long periods and no one came to take our drink orders. Or we would get our drinks and then hardly saw our server again. We noted that servers would spend a lot of time at tables where the guests spoke Spanish and they would attend to them very well.

The maids did a very good job at cleaning the rooms, but there always seemed a limited amount of face cloths given or no face cloths at all. Some maids did an excellent job by replenishing all the toiletries and others did not. Also, none of the maids speak English – so learn some Spanish (which we have done) or bring a Spanish dictionary.

Platinum Club – to some it up: “a complete waste of money”. The so called butler we never saw one during our entire one week stay. The only thing that a butler did on request one day for us was to reserve a palapa for the day on the beach with our name on it. The Platinum club room is really nothing special and we only used it to check e-mail. Instead we should have paid for the internet in the room and spent a lot less money than on going Platinum!

Children’s Club: it looked like a nice program for children starting in age of 6-7 years, not younger like 4 years old as advertised. Daily I would check the list of activities and most of them were not appropriate or safe for younger children to do without a parent supervising at all times (and then what is the point of the club?). However, the girls that ran the club appeared to do a very good job and the children looked like they were having a lot of fun. But for younger children the club does not provide a high enough level of supervision and age appropriate activities. Also, please note if you are travelling to this resort and don’t have kids or don’t care to be around many children during your vacation – this is not the resort for you! Even I with a young child was amazed to see how many children and very, very young babies were at this resort. For example we were next door to a family with a young child and a baby who cried loudly on an off during the day and early morning hours. We were more forgiving since we had a young daughter, although she is over the crying stage.

So to sum it up: a great resort for families, but save your money and don’t bother with the Platinum upgrade. We would entertain the idea of going back to this resort if we got a good travel deal and we would book regular class and basically receive all the same services as Platinum club.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PBLToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2010

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your review and for your preference.
Please accept our most sincere apologies if you were not satisfied with the service of our Platinum Club we will discuss your review with them to reinforce our services in that area.
Thank you for recommending this your resort to families:)
Thank you again for your review, we hope to serve you again in another opportunity so you could experience our improvements on the mentioned areas.
Muchas gracias amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews