We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great second visit to El Cid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great second visit to El Cid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We just returned from our second family vacation at this resort. Our first stay was in 2010 so it was interesting to compare our recent stay with the first. We are pleased to say that the second stay was just as good if not better than the first. The facility has been well maintained and the plant life has really flourished since our first stay. As mentioned in other reviews the staff at this resort is great. Everyone from the bartenders, restaurant staff, entertainment staff and the maintenance team were friendly and professional. In addition, there was always a good variety in the daytime activities and the evening shows to make each day unique without leaving the resort.
All in all we have no complaints. The food was good, the drinks were good and the weather was great during our stay as well. After a long Canadian winter it was just what we needed to recharge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agenda2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your lovely review and for your second visit to our resort.
We are so glad that all your family had an enjoyable holiday with us again.
Thank you also for taking the time to post your experience on this site and for your compliments to our staff for their nice attitude:-)
We will share your review with them and we look forward to serve you again for third time in a short future.
Thank you again for your second stay and for sharing your experience with us.
Hasta la vista amigos and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,892
    2,012
    658
    247
    169
See reviews for
3,368
1,576
46
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,666)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Good food, great staff, great Mexican dance show. Nice pool, especially for our 8 year-old son that is learning to swim. He could stand anywhere in the pool and just touch. Nice water slide for the kids. It was nice to have kayaks, sailing and paddle boards included in our "all-inclusive".

Rooms were not too big, but had enough room for us to have three beds (king, Murphy wall bed for one kid and a cot for the other kid. That was nice that our kids each got their own bed. Staff was very friendly and service was very good. We had a bit of an ocean view, which is enjoyable.

Very little to dislike. They could clean up a little in the lagoon, as garbage wanders in there, such as a stray flip-flop or wrappers. Also the little hall in front of the housecleaning area beside the elevators was always full of dirty dishes, or food trays from room service on the floor (Bld 19, level 3).

The beach was just ok, we prefer the beaches down by Tulum. It was a little rocky when I got past my thighs in the water. That made it a bit hard to walk in the ocean, but ok for swimming. There were plenty of seats or hammocks on the beach and tables or lounge chairs by the pool. The hotel was quite full but we always were able to find a place to sit. It was nice to have the hammocks on the beach.

We were able to avoid the time-share people, but I saw that they had a large room full of desks with big fancy monitors and three chairs for salespeople working over couples out of large sums of money for fairy dust "vacation ownership". ****Avoid at all costs.*** Don't take any discount on any tours or hotels in exchange for wasting part of your vacation with timeshare/RCI points.

We had a good time and I would recommend it and go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your kind review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that all your family spent a nice holiday in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your comments on this site and for your nice pics:-)
It will be a pleasure to serve your family again in a near future and thank you again for your lovely comments and for selecting El Cid Resorts for your past vacation.
Best regards amigos, hasta la vista!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just returned to gloomy, cold, wet Wisconsin and wishing we were still at El Cid. There was a group of nine of us and we were able to fit pefectly in 1231-1232 suite. Loved the fact that this resort was compact enough to get everywhere fairly quickly by foot. I've been to other resorts where you have to wait for a shuttle to the restaurants or beach. We had the Premium Club package and enjoyed the lounge. Our buddy Rodrigo, took very good care of us and made the best Palomas at the resort. We also had a wonderful time in the Lobby Bar in the evening dancing to (and singing with) Dinorah and her band. We were able to eat in 3 of the 4 special restaurants. We missed the going to the Alcazar, because we opted to hit the nightlife of Cancun one night. All the food was amazing. Beautiful presentation and taste. So much fun, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your awesome review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your experience with us
Thank you also for sharing your experience on tripadvisor and for your amazing pictures:)
We will gladly share your nice review with Dinorah and her band, with Rodrigo and with the rest of our staff and thank you so much for recognizing them:-)
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you all again and thank you again for your preference, for your lovely review and for your compliments for Dinorah and Rodrigo.
Esta es su casa amigos, kind regards and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I just came back from a 5 night stay at El Cid with my husband and 3 teens. It surpassed our expectations. The staff was phenomenal. The activities coordinators-Gaby, May and Idk the guy's name, were so energetic and successful at getting the guests involved with playing water polo, volleyball, aqua aerobics, etc. We were also impressed on how clean the grounds were kept. I went down one morning to the lobby lounge around 7:30 to get my cappuccino and saw a worker scrubbing the bottom of the pool chaise lounges and another spraying the cement to remove a red stain (probably from a spilled strawberry daiquiri). The five of us stayed in a family room in building 18 on the fifth floor. It had a balcony with a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. There was ample space-2 doubles and a queen murphy. The food was delicious. I loved all of the fresh fruit, vegetables,and seafood. I looked forward to an energy drink each morning at breakfast and my kids loved the scoop your own ice cream bar at lunch! We ate at all four sit down restaurants and were fortunate to dine at the Italian one twice (this was our favorite). We enjoyed the music in the lobby lounge each evening as well as the shows by the poolside. There was so much going on, we didn't leave the property once during our entire stay! I would highly recommend El Cid to families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your lovely review and for your preference.
We are so glad that all your family enjoyed your holiday with us in every aspect.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for recommending El Cid to others:-)
We already shared your kind comments with all our team and we hope to serve your family again in another opportunity.
Thank you again for your great review and for choosing El Cid Resorts, hasta la vista familia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have been to Cancun/Puerto Morelos 9 of our last 10 vacations and, without a doubt, our week at El Cid was the best ever - even magical!! The rooms were gorgeous, the food was out of the world (the new Italian restaurant is amazing), the pools and facilities perfect BUT.........the staff are truly the jewel in the crown of this amazing place. What struck us from day one was how genuinely HAPPY everyone that worked there - I say happy vs friendly because you can be taught/trained to be friendly but it was so nice to see a sincere joy from everyone from the cleaning teams to bartenders to receptionists. If the staff are the jewel in the crown, then The Hope Diamond is the Sara Gutierrez, the chief concierge at the Platinum Club! She alone is a reason to upgrade to the Platinum Club: this is a woman that is truly unique in her pursuit of providing selfless, exceptional service. Sara is unique in not only WHAT she does (between her and super butler Arturo - they will take care of EVERYTHING) but HOW she does it.....marvelous things just sort of....happen and she won't even mention that she had a hand in it. Sara is, without a doubt, the most exceptional tourism/service industry employee I have ever met bar none! The week was so magical that we are already coming back for 2 more weeks in August!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing comments and for your preference.
We are so glad that you had a terrific family vacation in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for recognizing our staff for their nice service mainly to Sara, she is so great, really intelligent and a big asset for our resort and I will be delighted to share your review with Sara and with the rest of our team:-)
It will be a pleasure to serve your family again in a near future and thank you again for your preference and for sharing your experience with the world.
Muchas gracias amigos, best regards and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Writing this review from our last night here. A beautiful resort, excellent food, great staff and beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and great pillows, Upgrade to Platinum not necessary, but a nice extra touch. Request room on upper floor, fourth if possible, there are elevators. The beach is small and rustic some rocks close to shore be careful, pool huge and lots of fun for kids and adults alike. No crowds, no need to save chairs, plenty for all and no dressing up at night for dinner, unless its your preference. No other hotels on the beach, isolated and quiet. Hated to leave.

Unfortunately the time sell people are in your face as soon as you arrive, they are part of the hotel and appear to be friendly advisors as to what the hotel has to offer, not so, be firm and remember there are no free rides in life. Cheaper to book an annual all inclusive than to buy a time share, buyer beware!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor even if you get a ocean view the main floor and second floor rooms you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank THINKBEFOREYOUACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you had a great holiday with us and enjoyed our service and facilities.
Thank you also for sharing your review with us and for recommending El Cid to others:-)
It will be an honor to serve you both again in a near future and thank you again for your kind review and for your preference.
Kindest regards and best wishes amigos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have been to this resort every year for the last 4 years. Food is fantastic, resort is beautiful and the staff are impeccable. April was definitely a great time to travel. It is great to see El Cid expanding the facility with additional restaurants, pools and rooms. A big thanks always to Cesar Carrillo Montiel of Positive Photography for the beautiful family photos!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavaldubeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your awesome review and for your fourth stay with us.
We are so glad that you spent a nice time with your family again and enjoyed also your photo session with Cesar.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for all your nice comments:-)
We hope to serve you again for fifth occasion in a near future and thank you again for your kind review and for your preference, amigos.
At El Cid there is something for everyone, hasta la vista famila, muchas graciasi!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,055 reviews
11.4 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,334 reviews
14.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,471 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing