We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#bestvacationever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Beloit, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“#bestvacationever”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just returned to gloomy, cold, wet Wisconsin and wishing we were still at El Cid. There was a group of nine of us and we were able to fit pefectly in 1231-1232 suite. Loved the fact that this resort was compact enough to get everywhere fairly quickly by foot. I've been to other resorts where you have to wait for a shuttle to the restaurants or beach. We had the Premium Club package and enjoyed the lounge. Our buddy Rodrigo, took very good care of us and made the best Palomas at the resort. We also had a wonderful time in the Lobby Bar in the evening dancing to (and singing with) Dinorah and her band. We were able to eat in 3 of the 4 special restaurants. We missed the going to the Alcazar, because we opted to hit the nightlife of Cancun one night. All the food was amazing. Beautiful presentation and taste. So much fun, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your awesome review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your experience with us
Thank you also for sharing your experience on tripadvisor and for your amazing pictures:)
We will gladly share your nice review with Dinorah and her band, with Rodrigo and with the rest of our staff and thank you so much for recognizing them:-)
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you all again and thank you again for your preference, for your lovely review and for your compliments for Dinorah and Rodrigo.
Esta es su casa amigos, kind regards and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,093
    2,150
    725
    264
    177
See reviews for
3,596
1,729
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,798)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I just came back from a 5 night stay at El Cid with my husband and 3 teens. It surpassed our expectations. The staff was phenomenal. The activities coordinators-Gaby, May and Idk the guy's name, were so energetic and successful at getting the guests involved with playing water polo, volleyball, aqua aerobics, etc. We were also impressed on how clean the grounds were kept. I went down one morning to the lobby lounge around 7:30 to get my cappuccino and saw a worker scrubbing the bottom of the pool chaise lounges and another spraying the cement to remove a red stain (probably from a spilled strawberry daiquiri). The five of us stayed in a family room in building 18 on the fifth floor. It had a balcony with a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. There was ample space-2 doubles and a queen murphy. The food was delicious. I loved all of the fresh fruit, vegetables,and seafood. I looked forward to an energy drink each morning at breakfast and my kids loved the scoop your own ice cream bar at lunch! We ate at all four sit down restaurants and were fortunate to dine at the Italian one twice (this was our favorite). We enjoyed the music in the lobby lounge each evening as well as the shows by the poolside. There was so much going on, we didn't leave the property once during our entire stay! I would highly recommend El Cid to families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your lovely review and for your preference.
We are so glad that all your family enjoyed your holiday with us in every aspect.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for recommending El Cid to others:-)
We already shared your kind comments with all our team and we hope to serve your family again in another opportunity.
Thank you again for your great review and for choosing El Cid Resorts, hasta la vista familia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have been to Cancun/Puerto Morelos 9 of our last 10 vacations and, without a doubt, our week at El Cid was the best ever - even magical!! The rooms were gorgeous, the food was out of the world (the new Italian restaurant is amazing), the pools and facilities perfect BUT.........the staff are truly the jewel in the crown of this amazing place. What struck us from day one was how genuinely HAPPY everyone that worked there - I say happy vs friendly because you can be taught/trained to be friendly but it was so nice to see a sincere joy from everyone from the cleaning teams to bartenders to receptionists. If the staff are the jewel in the crown, then The Hope Diamond is the Sara Gutierrez, the chief concierge at the Platinum Club! She alone is a reason to upgrade to the Platinum Club: this is a woman that is truly unique in her pursuit of providing selfless, exceptional service. Sara is unique in not only WHAT she does (between her and super butler Arturo - they will take care of EVERYTHING) but HOW she does it.....marvelous things just sort of....happen and she won't even mention that she had a hand in it. Sara is, without a doubt, the most exceptional tourism/service industry employee I have ever met bar none! The week was so magical that we are already coming back for 2 more weeks in August!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing comments and for your preference.
We are so glad that you had a terrific family vacation in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for recognizing our staff for their nice service mainly to Sara, she is so great, really intelligent and a big asset for our resort and I will be delighted to share your review with Sara and with the rest of our team:-)
It will be a pleasure to serve your family again in a near future and thank you again for your preference and for sharing your experience with the world.
Muchas gracias amigos, best regards and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Writing this review from our last night here. A beautiful resort, excellent food, great staff and beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and great pillows, Upgrade to Platinum not necessary, but a nice extra touch. Request room on upper floor, fourth if possible, there are elevators. The beach is small and rustic some rocks close to shore be careful, pool huge and lots of fun for kids and adults alike. No crowds, no need to save chairs, plenty for all and no dressing up at night for dinner, unless its your preference. No other hotels on the beach, isolated and quiet. Hated to leave.

Unfortunately the time sell people are in your face as soon as you arrive, they are part of the hotel and appear to be friendly advisors as to what the hotel has to offer, not so, be firm and remember there are no free rides in life. Cheaper to book an annual all inclusive than to buy a time share, buyer beware!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor even if you get a ocean view the main floor and second floor rooms you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank THINKBEFOREYOUACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you had a great holiday with us and enjoyed our service and facilities.
Thank you also for sharing your review with us and for recommending El Cid to others:-)
It will be an honor to serve you both again in a near future and thank you again for your kind review and for your preference.
Kindest regards and best wishes amigos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have been to this resort every year for the last 4 years. Food is fantastic, resort is beautiful and the staff are impeccable. April was definitely a great time to travel. It is great to see El Cid expanding the facility with additional restaurants, pools and rooms. A big thanks always to Cesar Carrillo Montiel of Positive Photography for the beautiful family photos!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavaldubeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your awesome review and for your fourth stay with us.
We are so glad that you spent a nice time with your family again and enjoyed also your photo session with Cesar.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for all your nice comments:-)
We hope to serve you again for fifth occasion in a near future and thank you again for your kind review and for your preference, amigos.
At El Cid there is something for everyone, hasta la vista famila, muchas graciasi!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We just returned from spending 1 week at Hotel Marina El Cid in Puerto Morelos. This was our 4th year! And are planning to go back next spring. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with our 9 yo son, 7 yo daughter, and 3 yo son. The staff at this resort couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. Over the past several years, we have gotten to know several of the staff. My children love to see Rooster at the towel hut, scheduling excursions. Lucero greets us every day with a warm smile and some fresh towels. Chamito led the daily bike tours into town, and taught us how to make some good cocktails, along with Gabby. The rooms are clean and bright. The pool is huge. We spend most of our days floating around, jumping off the rock cliff, sliding down the slide. Having the beach right next to the pool provides the best of both worlds. The new Italian restaurant was delicious. Fresh brick oven pizza! The other restaurants provide a decent variety of menu options, and there is always the buffet. The staff at the children's club are warm and welcoming. The photographers take great pictures. What more can I say?! Thank you to everyone at El Cid for making this another great vacation week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessNH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your fantastic review and for your fourth visit to our resort.
We are so glad that your family enjoyed our resort again and our new Italian restaurant also.
Thank you also for sharing your review on tripadvisor and for recognizing our staff mainly to "Rooster" we will gladly share your comments with him and with the rest of our staff.
We are always improving our resort and our facilities and for your fifth stay you will find more surprises, amigos:-)
Warm regards to all your family and thank you again for your preference and for making of El Cid " your home away from home "
Hasta pronto familia, best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Beautiful resort. Not huge but big enough that we never did see it all. They are adding three more new buildings to the north. We booked through Costco which was great and included flights & transfers. Check-in was smooth and friendly. They do try and hook you up with a timeshare person after check-in. They are nice to explain the resort information to you, but then we just said "no thank you" to hearing a presentation and that was the end of that. No big deal.

The best part of our trip to El Cid was our room. We booked a two bedroom suite and it was incredible! The two-bedroom suites are located in the three beach front buildings. We were on the third floor which was perfect! They have a HUGE patio (75 feet) spanning both bedrooms and the great room, and include a hot tub! When first entering the suite through the keyed double doors you are then in a private entry area with two more keyed doors. One door leads to the two bed, one bath room and the other leads to the large kitchen, dining, living area & half bath. There is a door off the living area that leads to an expansive master bed and bath. We travelled with our two grown daughters and it was perfect for us and would also be for some couples to share. Very small children may feel too far away from parents as the only way to get to the great room or master is through the locked entry door area or use the sliding doors to the patio as we mostly did. I can't stress enough how incredible this room is!!!

This is the sixth Mexican resort we have stayed at and by far the best food. The buffets were great and thats saying a lot as I generally dislike buffets. Lots of variety, clean & quiet especially at the buffet down by the pool for breakfast. The Italian & Mediterranean restaurants were amazing! There are bars everywhere and waiters walking along the beach to keep you from ever wanting. A lot of the resort drinks are pretty sweet but you can just order anything how ever you want it. They have good brands of booze too, not just cheap stuff.

The night show entertainment is ok. We only caught a couple as all the sun and fun all day sent us to our amazing deck pretty early after dinner each night. The fridge is always stocked with beers, sodas and lots of water. House keeping was a tad spotty on occasion but nothing serious to complain about. We loved the awesome little town of Puerto Morales! I REALLY hope it doesn't explode into the crazy insanity that Playa del Carmen has!!! If you want to party, head down to Playa for the evening. Wow.

I would recommend this for all travellers except those that really want to party. There is lots of fun to be had with games and entertainment in the gigantic pool all day, but also lots of quiet areas to relax. As for the beach everyone likes to complain about - we loved it. Yes there are rocks in the water (reef rocks) but not actually ON the beach. The actual beach is a beautiful sandy beach. We watched them rake the seaweed up every morning and haul it off. The amount of seaweed is totally dependent on the storms and wind each day. There is ALWAYS wind, thankfully, to keep you cooler. They do need more palapas on the beach for the non-platinum people. It's kind of ridiculous how many sat empty while the non reserved ones were packed or saved by people who never showed up. Please don't be one of those people! We really never went without shade though, so don't let that scare you off. If you like to play in the surf as we do, just be sure and wear water shoes and you will have a blast. Also, if you go down by the marina there is a large area that is cleared of reef rocks all the way out.

You absolutely must snorkel the reef! You can snorkel the reef so much cheaper if you just go into Puerto Morelos. It cost us $20 each and we sat at a wonderful beach bar after and enjoyed the beautiful little town & shopping. We walked to town along the road and took a taxi back. We felt very safe there, so no worries. The great thing about not being to close to Cancun or Playa is the beach never has sales people bugging you. The resort spa is super expensive but they do give you 5 minute demo messages on the beach. Nice. We also went to Xel Ha and spent a day. It was beautiful & fun! This is a wonderful place to go relax and unwind. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our two bedroom third floor suite was AWESOME! Huge patio and right on the beach. Read my review for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your preference.
We are so glad that your family enjoyed your holiday with us.
Thank you also for sharing your comments on tripadvisor and for recommending our resort.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve your family again in another occasion and enjoy our resort and the attention of our staff once again.
Thank you again for your nice review and for choosing El Cid Resorts:-)
Best regards amigos and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,541 reviews
11.4 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 175 in Cancun
21,251 reviews
16.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,646 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
14.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing