We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I will begin this review by giving Mr Bustamante a heartfelt muchos gracias for ensuring our stay was wonderful. My wife and I had a hassle free trip from the moment we arrived.The entire staff at the Platinum Club were friendly and helpful . Check in was a breeze,no surprises except for our room,bldg 18 room 512. This was our 6th stay at the El Cid and our room was wonderful,2 baconies,a jacuzzi in and outside. This is a corner room ,very pivate and quiet..We found the food and drink to be very good everywhere.We really enjoyed the Christmas eve dinner at the Mexican resturant.It was nice to see so many familiar faces again.Gabriel and Angel at the Platinum Club and Marco at the beach buffet were great .We were treated like old friends by everyone. Amelie at the front desk remembered us from the time she worked in Platinum and the photographer Ceasar said hello.We love the warmth of the smaller resorts.We will be booking another vist in the next few months.Thanks again Mr Bustamante and we will see you next Dec. Chuck and Dorothy G.

Room Tip: If there is a better room than 512 in bldg 18 ? I thought this room was the best we have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your fourth visit to El Cid.
We are so glad that you and you wife spent a nice holiday once again and enjoyed your room.
Thank you also for complimenting our resort staff for their nice work and spirit of service.
It will be an honor to serve you and your wife next year amigos:)
Thank you again for your frequent visits and for your beautiful review.
Muy Feliz Año Nuevo and best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,958
    2,065
    680
    256
    171
See reviews for
3,468
1,614
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just back after a week at El Cid. Beautiful grounds, nice big pool but ocean full of seaweed and rocks. This place is definitely geared towards very young families. I was there with a teen and young adult and once evening arrived there was absolutely nothing for them to do. People gathered in the lobby but entertainment consisted of jazz lounge type music which didn't interest them. Food was hit or miss, plenty of selection and always found something to eat. I'd rate most of the staff as excellent, very helpful and hard working people with the exception of the young female concierge lady who was snippy when we asked general questions of the resort. She was more interested in getting back to her novel. The waiters at the pool were always prompt and came around numerous times. They worked very hard to make sure you always had a drink in hand. Rooms were big, clean and almost every room had some sort of ocean view even if you didn't upgrade. We usually stay at smaller resorts because of the personal service but found that this resort was just too small with nothing to do in the evening. We are not big nightlife type people but even found that we were back in our rooms every evening after supper.

Room Tip: We were in bldg 19 the farthest away but had a superb ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookworm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your kind review and for your preference.
We are so glad that your family had a nice stay with us with the exceptions that you kindly described on your review.
Thank you also for your feedback that is really important and help us to improve our service and our resort, we will reinforce the service on the concierge departament right away and we will share your feedback with our activities manager:)
It will be so nice to serve all your family again in another occasion and thank you again for your review and for your preference.
Happy New Year to all!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I usually do not write reviews but in an effort to help anxious brides out there, I decided to take the time to share our experience. We (65 family and friends) stayed at El Cid for a week and it was awesome for everyone, from the 2 year olds all the way up to my great grandmother. The staff were nothing short of amazing, especially Arturo in Club Platino. All staff members were always willing to help with a friendly with a smile. My family has been taking vacations for a long time and we all agree that this by far has been our best experience as far as customer service is concerned. The food was okay, but then again we usually do not expect much when it comes to buffets. Oddly enough, we were surprised on the selection and good taste. The resort was extremely clean at all times and very well maintained. I will admit, if you are seeking for crystal clear blue water, this may not be the resort for you. But if you are looking to have the smoothest, best wedding of your life, look no further! I can confidently and honestly attest that I would not change the location for a second. It all began with the wedding coordinator Deyanira. She was very pleasant and professional. But our hands go down to Melina (wedding assistant)!!! Melina is truly the best thing since sliced bread. She was very thorough in answering all of our questions, which let's be honest was a little difficult via email. Even then she put us at ease. Once we landed at the resort, she made sure to make herself available to us. The best thing about Melina is that we only had to tell her once what we wanted and she ensured that everything went off without a hitch. I know it is not a common notion for weddings to go as planned but I can truthfully say everything did go as planned and we owe it all to Melina. She rocks!!

Thank you all at Hotel Marina El Cid for an awesome wedding week!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your amazing review and for celebrating your wedding with us.
It was so nice to read that everything was perfect on your celebration and that our staff exceeded your expectations.
Thank you also for your compliments to Melina, Deyanira and Arturo for their nice service and attitude:)
We sincerely hope to serve you and your husband again in another special occasion.
Thank you again for your amazing review and for selecting El Cid for your wedding.
We wish you a Happy New year together and a lot of joy amigos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent one week Dec 14-21 at El Cid in Cancun. We had a two bedroom suite with three bathrooms right on the beach. Wonderful view, the food was very good in all four restaurants.
The staff, room personnel, restaurant staff, front desk very helpful.. The time share personnel weren't too bad either, respectful. We met friends from Virginia and shared a wonderful visit at a great resort, we will go back.

Room Tip: All nice rooms, but the beach front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlylinLodiCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Friends
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your fantastic review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you had a terrific holiday with us and enjoyed your two bedroom suite and the service from our hotel staff.
Thank you also for posting your comments on tripadvisor and for recommending El Cid to others:)
It will be apleasure to serve you all next year amigos.
Esta es su casa, see you soon and Happy New Year to all!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our first vacation as an entire family so we wanted it to be something special.

The rooms and resort is very beautiful.

Beach - very nice! The guy who brings drinks on the beach, super consistent and quick.

Cons:
People are rude, rude, rude. The concierge and one of the reps (Monica) was extremely rude to us when we asked a few simple questions regarding what is available in the hotel. It was not worth the money to come to vacation and stress out over someones attitude.

Food options are VERY slim.

Pool is FREEZING. None of us touched it even once and there was very little people swimming in it because it was so cold.

Spa - WAY too pricey!

If not for the ridiculous service, this place would have been great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 527Tanya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your review and for your preference.
It was nice to read that you enjoyed some aspects of your holiday excepting for the pool and the service of the concierge staff.
Thank you also for sharing your feedback with us that is really important and help us a lot to improve our resort and our service, we will share your comments immediatly.
It will be really nice to have one more opportunity to serve your family again in a near future and to offer you a better experience.
Thank you again for your preference and for your review amigos.
Feliz Año Nuevo 2014 Familia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We (2 adults, 2 boys 12&16) stayed at the El Cid from Dec 16-23 and had a great time. The access road has been affected by all the rain and was under repair when we were there. We had one day of intermittent showers, which didn't stop us from getting out to walk in Puerto Morelos.
The food and beverage staff was always smiling and ready to offer anything we needed. Our personal favorite was the Marina, which helped us celebrate a special night. All the workers always had a smile, and "hola" and were very professional.
One thing they might think about is a teen club, if there is enough demand. The kids club was very busy, but with mostly little ones. My boys played in the pool and did meet other kids their own age.
We had a rental car and were able to do various day trips to snorkel in Puerto Morelos, visit the ruins in Coba, snorkel in Akumal (and did see turtles), and visit the Extreme park. All were enjoyable and I would recommend any or all, if you had a chance.
There is a large expansion going on to the property, but it did not affect us at all.
The night shows varied, but our favorite was the "Fire Show" The beach offers Boogie boards, kayaks, and a Hobie cat all without charge.
A very good vacation for us and we can look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your excellent review and for your preference.
We are so glad that all your family spent an enjoyable holiday with us.
Thank you also for publishing your review on tripadvisor and for recommending El Cid to others:)
We sincerely hope to have the honor to serve you again in another occasion amigos.
Thank you again for your comments and for selecting our resort.
Happy New Year familia and best wishes for 2014!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we enjoyed our time there. We went here during its low season so there wasn't much of a crowd which was perfect--we were able to make restaurant reservation almost every night. The staff were helpful, especially the ones from the buffet restaurant who gave us some ideas on which places we can visit and enjoy most while staying there. The amenities were just how they were advertised in their website. It was an all-inclusive resort so we didn't have to worry about the food and drinks, and/or using most of their facilities. The food and drinks were great. Our favorite was the one serving Mediterranean cuisine. The only thing that worried us a bit was their water from the sink and shower which smelled a little funny--but we were warned about it so it's all good.

Room Tip: Higher floors have obviously nicer views but the ground floor rooms are very decent---most of your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loujane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your awesome review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your husband spent a nice honeymoon in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for recommending us:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you both again in another occasion and thank you again for sharing your experience and for your preference amigos.
We wish you the best together and Merry Christmas!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,253 reviews
11.4 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,679 reviews
14.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
7.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,734 reviews
8.3 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing