We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort with some bumps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a week at the El Cid Spa and Beach Resort in mid-July. Has a jr. suite which is 1 room (plus bath) with a balcony. Our unit overlooked the adults only jacuzzi and beach. From the third floor the view was wonderful.

4 restaurants on site all had great food, although after a week, we were wanting to move to something else. Breakfast and Lunch are buffet only. The food at lunch varies, breakfast not so much. Three restaurants are available by reservation for dinner. Make reservations as soon as you can- they do run out. Seating appears limited by a desire to conserve not by limited space. So the restaurants don't fill up- but the reservations do.

The facility is very clean. Staff are everywhere picking up, cleaning, adjusting. It does show wear and there were little issues like a broken safety latch and broken thermostat in the room. Both were addressed as soon as we pointed them out. The grounds are very pretty with a lot of flowers and plants.

On site activities are limited- there are hobie cats but you can't sail them. A staff member must take you on a short (5-10 minute) circle then drop you off and pick up the next rider. Kayaks are popular but you are just in the ocean in front of the resort so there is not much to maintain interest. Brink snorkeling gear, there are nice patches accessible from shore. Drinking and eating are very popular. There is a very large pool kids love (we didn't visit) and evening activities like guitar hero, disco dancing, a mexican dance show, etc. It changes every night.

If you want to hang at the beach or in the pool, eat on site, maybe drink, then this all inclusive is OK. But most tours will take you away from the hotel before breakfast and bring you back late afternoon or sometimes even 8-9pm. So you will be buying meals off-site. You've already paid for them on-site so be aware.

The downside to our stay was a sense that we were always a mark- someone from whom money could be made. The photographers were nice and our pictures are decent, but expensive. In the end they wouldn't allow us time to sort through and choose the ones we wanted so finally just through in extras to get us to leave- AFTER we had stood in line a full hour waiting for others to choose. Then they wouldn't give us the promised prints saying they had already given us more pictures on the CD than we paid for.

The Vacation Club sales pitch is time consuming. It will last at least 2 hours, although the standard line is 1 to 1.5. They have a script and won't deviate. My family has a membership and so I only needed questions answered. When a closer (a manager) was brought in and realized I wouldn't upgrade, he refused to answer any questions and told me to read the paperwork. The promised incentives to attend the sales pitch were only partially forthcoming. In the pre-interview they offered many things, changing what we would get leaving us unclear about exactly what we were being offered. Finally, some of the items were written down. When we went to the sales pitch, they reviewed the incentive offerings and began modifying the list in the end writing down different items. Read carefully what is written down, take your own notes and be aggressive in demanding incentives like tour certificates and vouchers for airport transportation in writing. Finally, be aggressive about getting what you want. Don't accept a 2 for 1 spa deal until you know that the spa price is twice anything in the states and then they want additional if you want to use the 2 for 1 with your partner in a shared spa room.

We always felt safe at this property and staff were generally responsive to requests for room service, etc.

Bottom line- I'lll go back. But only because the family has points that allow me to stay for free. If it were not all-inclusive, I would feel better about going and then being away for day trips, spreading some cash in Puerto Morales for meals, and not feeling like I was giving money away.

Room Tip: Our third floor room in building 15 was away from the noisy section of beach and had a beautiful vie...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BKP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your kind review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your companion spent a nice holiday with the exceptions that you kindly described on your review.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site friends.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again in a near future and thank you again for your nice review and for your stay with us.
In our hotel the feedback from our guests is really important and useful for us.
Esta es su casa amigos, gracias!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,623)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,846 - 3,852 of 6,624 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just got back from a 5 night vacation at this resort and we could not be happier. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we just had the greatest time. We are seasoned travelers and have been to many AI resorts throughout the Carribean, and this one was definitely one of my favorites. Since we received such a great price at booking and there were a few bad reviews, I'll admit I was a little worried, but once we arrived we realized that the resort was simply AWESOME, and that the bad reviews were just people that like to complain about everything.

Arrival into the airport was as usual for Cancun, just make sure and walk quickly through the people selling time shares. I ALWAY recommend taking a private taxi, and those shuttle busses can quickly turn into a sales pitch too. Taxis are right out front and easy to setup. It was about a 25 minute ride directly to the resort. Check in went very smoothly, and we were offered a great deal on an upgrade to a "family room" which I gladly accepted. We had booked the standard double room, but the family room was like a small apartment. It had a private bedroom with king size bed, a separate living area with a queen murphy bed, we each had our own bathroom and balcony, and it had a kitchen with fridge, stovetop, sink, and microwave. Definitely worth the upgrade if you're travelling with children.

The hotel grounds were very well maintained. The landscaping was beautiful, and the flowers, bushes, and trees were just breathtaking. The pool was fantastic!! It had lots of seating, access to 2 bars, a cliff you could jump off of, and a waterslide!! Plenty of space in the pool as it was absolutely huge. The pool swim up bar had some of the coldest Corona beer on tap that I have ever had!! Kudos to Rueben and Francisco for doing a wonderful job as bartenders. Also Jaira did an amazing job as a server!!

The beach was equally impressive and large. There were plenty of palapas for shade, allthough I would recommend claiming one early!! The water was a great temp, but as mentioned in the other reviews, it was a little rocky. Definitely bring your water shoes and you'll be fine. Boogie boards are free so that was great for swimming as well. If you're looking to do a tour, talk to Erick Sosa who walks the beachfront. He did an EXCELLENT job on setting up our tour to Tulum Ruins. Thanks Erick!!

The food was great as well. The buffet was better than average and had a great variety. The food temp could have been a little warmer, but overall very good. The desserts were fantastic!! Definitely make youe reservations for the dinner restaurants as early as possible as they do fill up. We ate at them all and they were all very good. The Mediterranean was my personal favorite, but the Marina and the Mexican were just as good.

Service overall was excellent. I do recommend a couple of dollars here and there as tips in order to ensure the best service, but it doesnt take much. Jaira did such a good job on the beach for us, our cups were never empty. Whether its an all-inclusive or not, you still tip for service like that!!

I could go on and on about the good things at this resort, but Im off to plan the next vacation!! Book with confidence at this resort and enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: If you're travelling with kids definitely get the Family Room. Its totally worth the extra $
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your excellent review and for your preference.
We are so glad that all your family had a relaxed holiday with us and enjoyed our facilities and the service of our hotel staff.
Thank you also for sharing your comments on tripadvisor and for recommending us:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you all again in a near future and thank you again for your great comments and mainly for selecting El Cid Resorts.
Muchas gracias amigos, best wishes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just returned from a 7 night stay at El Cid. I can honestly say we were so pleasantly surprised! the place was fantastic. check-in was a breeze! Our room was so great. We had a 2 bedroom suite - with 3 bathrooms, in building 15. LOVED IT! It was huge. There were 6 of us in our group (4 adults & 2 kids), and there was plenty of room for all of us. The best part about the room was the balcony. It ran along the entire suite, had a hot tub, and an incredible view. We all enjoyed just hanging out on our gorgeous balcony.

The food was very good. In fact, we all thought it was better than other all-inclusives that we have stayed at. We all enjoyed the smoothies at breakfast and milkshakes at lunch. we had dinner at the buffet most nights and it was great. we did try the Mexican and the Fusion restaurants. They were very good. The service was excellent as well. Never made it to the Marina restaurant.

The pool was awesome, very large and clean. We all spent some time from the cliff jump. It kept the kids occupied most of the week.

The entertainment staff kept folks entertained all day long. I did the water aerobics a few times, and it was fun.

The pool bar staff was great! We favored Fransisco. He was wonderful.

The beach was beautiful. We were prepared for the rocky ocean floor and brought water shoes, but did not need them. It wasn't so bad until you got further out.

We never had any trouble finding lounge chairs near the pool or on the beach.

We did NOT upgrade to the Platinum Club simply because we did not want our kids to spend their time on computers. Did not feel like we missed anything.

Our entire family agreed that this was the BEST place we have stayed (this is our 5th trip to Mexico) It really exceeded our expectations. Absolutely loved our week there and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxiematilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your excellent review and for your preference.
We are so glad that all your family had a nice holiday with us and that our resort and our service exceeded your expectations.
Thank you also for sharing your comments on tripadvisor:)
It will be a pleasure to serve your family again in another occasion and thank you again for your lovely review and for your preference.
Esta es su casa familia, see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first trip to the Riviera Maya proved to be wonderful and Marina El Cid played a big part.
We'd read some previous reviews about how rocky the beach was and so on and so on but chalked it up to how some people complain about even the smallest inconveniences.
The beach itself is absolutely perfect, long, deep with plenty of room to set up chairs and so forth. Certain sections of the water definitely have rocky bottoms but that is easily mitigated with water shoes. Bring them and you'll be fine.
The service throughout our stay was excellent (just avoid the timeshare people right when you get there, don't accept a free drink, don't get lured to sit down). The drinks are free anyways, so it's no big deal to go up to the bar by yourself.
Our room was nice and big, the shower was amazing, and our view from the third floor gave us the awesome sunrises over the ocean horizon.
As with any place, if you want a poolside seat, get there early but why spend time at the pool when you have the ocean waiting for you?
The quaint little town of Puerto Morelos is walking distance down the beach and worth the 30-minute trip. You'll get some great market opportunities and locals who love to barter (never take their first, second, third or final price, it always gets a little bit better).
We also went on a day trip to Tulum and it was wonderful. A lot of walking and very hot, so prepare for that, but it's a great glimpse of history and doesn't take up your entire day.
We spent one afternoon snorkeling and while it was a pretty good value and we got a great meal (with some excellent tequila) the snorkeling was quite difficult and much of our party did not go out for the final dive after lunch.
The food was pretty good, as good as it can be for mass produced food (after a while it kind of all tastes the same). We were impressed with the Mexican a la carte and they did a great job for my birthday, really fun staff.
Overall, a great experience. Resort is well maintained, rooms are big and clean and the beach is sweet (just remember water shoes).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your great review and for selecting our resort.
We are so glad that all your family had a happy vacation in our resort and that your first experience in the Riviera Maya was a pleasant one.
Thank you also for sharing your comments with all the users of this site.
We sincerely hope to serve your family again in another occasion and thank you again for your excellent review and for visiting El Cid and the Mayan Riviera:)
Best regards amigos, hasta pronto!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I were introduced to El Cid Spa & Resort through a young man waiting, with other young men and women in blue shirts, inside the AeroMexico Terminal at the Cancun Airport. He was extremely friendly and charming and offered us information for our stay in Mexico. He then started discussing the resort he worked for, El Cid, and claimed that the travel company, that is a large part of El Cid Resort, had the best deals in regards to activities. As part of the "great" deal he was giving us, he stated he would pick us up at our hotel and give us a quick tour of the grounds and invite us to an "amazing" breakfast/brunch. Well, of course it was a scam and it was disappointing that the hotel runs and supports this scam and preys on first-time visitors to Cancun. We were interested in seeing what the hotel had to offer, given it's Mexican-owned, but were disppointed in the service, "buffet" (not good...at all) and the grounds. Once you get to the resort you're given an aggressive sales speech and pressured into buying into their vacation packages. The sales staff became extremely hostile when we told them weren't interested. The rates are too high for rooms and grounds that need updating and other improvements (very old televisions, cramped rooms, updates in their 1 restaurant, etc.) Finally, the resort is 35+ minutes from any shopping, bars, nightlife. Overall disappointed in this Mexican-owned and operated company and I hope they improve their resort and review their business practices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have stayed at Marina ElCid @ Puerto Morelos for 11days (July 5th to July 15th, 2013). This is our second stay at ElCid (first one was August 2011) and 9th time in Rivera Maya/ Cancun area. This stay trully exceded our expectations. All was EXCELLENT: rooms, service, food, hotel grounds. We had two bedroom suite in Bld.17 (6 people: 2 adults, 1 elderly and 3 kids, ages 15, 13 and 9 y.o.). Every little issue which arouse during our stay was adressed not just promply, but literally immideately, such as running toilet or jucuzzi mulfunctioning half way into a stay or mosquitoes needed to be sprayed out side the balcony door- you name it, it was done. Room service was very efficient, room service food was beautifully presented and delicious. Room was always clean, towels and toiletries supply ample in access. even though it seemed that resort had high occupancy, there were always lounges available on the beach and at the pool in both shade and in the sun any time of the day. Thare were no lines at the buffets, no shortage of pool towels, etc. Restaurants were trully gourmet in both presentation and food quality. Buffets were excellent as well. There were plenty of activities but staff wasn't overwhelming with their attempts to engage you, so it was both fun and relaxing, whatever one chooses to do. Overall, we wouldcome back in the future for family vacation and would highly recommend to others with kids.

Room Tip: Blds 14 and 15 are ocean front Platinum; Bld 17 ocean front regular; we stayed in 15th in 2011 (had...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olga s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your excellent review and for your past stay with us.
It was so nice to read that your family had a nice holiday in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your review on tripadvisor and for recommending us:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you all in a near future and thank you again for your past stay and for your lovely review.
At El Cid Resorts there is something for everyone, hasta la vista amigos y muchas gracias!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a wonderful resort, good food, clean and the service was amazing and consistent throughout our stay. That was impressive. We would stay again.
Beach is a bit rocky. Our room was amazing and faced the beach. Food was good but got boring after a week, but it was good. Our kids liked the kids club and didn't want to leave at the end of the day. The Mexican Day, which I think was Wed. was awesome. The food, show and vendors set up at the hotel was a nice touch. We would stay here again and consider another another El Cid resort because of this positive stay. Oh, one other thing, the WiFi is very weak so may not work as one may hope.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Platinum Club if you can, it's worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SLWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for selecting our resort.
We are so glad that your family had a nice stay in our resort and that your kids enjoyed the kid´s club.
Thank you also for sharing your comments and for telling us that you will stay in another property of El Cid in a near future:)
It will be a pleasure to serve your family again in any of our locations and thank you again for your comments and for your stay with us.
Muchas gracias and best wishes familia!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,940 reviews
11.4 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
22,194 reviews
16.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,741 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#73 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,326 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $174 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing