We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hacienda Morelos(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Casa de los Angeles(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel el Moro(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabanas Puerto Morelos(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites 918 Hotel(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Condo-Hotel Marviya(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (7,226)
Filter reviews
7,226 results
Traveler rating
3,516
2,411
813
290
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,516
2,411
813
290
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplatinum clubmurphy bedcliff jumpinfinity pooltime shareplatinum servicebedroom suitekids clubconvention centerwater shoesboogie boardsitalian restaurantfamily vacationfire showmain poolmain buffetswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,863 - 4,868 of 7,226 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I paid our money upfront for a "All Inclusive" resort experience. We were so looking forward to spending a week relaxing; until we arrived and realized that we had been duped into coming to a timeshare sales pitch resort. It reminded me of the movie "From Dawn To Dusk" with a bunch of vampires trying to suck our blood until we finally fought our way out of there.

Here's the thing:
1. You get screwed in the Cancun airport for $55 dollars for a short 20 minutes ride to the resort and the airport actually allows these shysters to run their scams out of the airport. I'll take my American regulations thank you.

2. You're completely isolated at the resort, surrounded by swamp lands. So that translates to paying 3-5 times the normal price for excursions, products or any other kind of services like a massage. My gf really wanted to have a massage, but she refused to be ripped off so she went without. In general, we resisted doing anything where we would have to purchase services from the hotel because it was such a futile effort in haggling and the prices were really really unreasonable. There aren't any other properties close. There's no way to get into town. Taxis are outrageously expensive to get off property. They won't even rent or loan you a bicycle because they know that you will go into Puerto Morelos (10 minute ride away) to purchase your goods there.

3. These jokers charged $175 dollars for a massage which is more than you would pay US. BUT they would negotiate a deal that was only a little bit more than you would pay in the US if you were willing to give up 90 minutes for a timeshare presentation. All other services were similarly overly priced and overly complex to haggle for. I even speak Spanish and it was even more infuriating. I finally had to ask one guy to just stop talking to me.

4. There is no such thing as a concierge at El Cid. Instead the complete DBs with the title concierges are high pressure sales people in disguise as helpful concierges with bait and switch tactics to drive you into the even higher pressure time share sales presentation. HOW FRUSTRATING!

5. The high pressure time share sales pitch people literally physically fought me for our paperwork when we refused to go any further after they LIED about how long they were going to require of our time....these are really rotten people and the hotel really hurts themselves by associating with them and forcing "guests" to interact with them.

6. The facilities are generally nice, but our room's AC was rattling and keeping us up all night, After asking them to repair it, they didn't fix it properly so it kept us up two nights. By the second night, we just gave up and slept in the hot conditions.

7. The hotel restaurants are very inconsistent. We kept wanting to eat at one restaurant that would be closed in the morning or at night but they wouldn't give you any notice. The other restaurant claims to be the seafood restaurant but it has a set menu every night without any real fresh seafood.

8. If you were to accidentally lose a towel from the towel bar, the hotel would charge you $40 for a single white towel. More than anything else, this made the point that this organization is filled with criminals that are ripping off their own guests. Shame on you people!

9. Generally, the food is pretty bad. The wine is horrible. Finally, one night we paid about $36 for a bottle of wine. It was almost as bad. Just to set the bar correctly, I don't have high expectations of wine.

10. There were these VIP lounges that only time share guests could use so we didn't really even get to experience the place fully. If you wanted to use the Internet, they would charge you $15 a night or $60 a week. The room with internet down below was being charged by the half minute. Again, shameful rip-offs.

There were definitely some positives:

1. The thrifty rent a car group on property was totally professional and a pleasure to deal with. Our car was nice. We got away for one day.

2. The facility's swimming pool is exceptionally nice, the best I've ever experienced anywhere.

3. The beach and accoutrements, chairs, and umbrellas and people asking you if you want a drink are excellent. The service helpers were really nice people and always coming around asking if you wanted something to drink. We learned later that they were paid a miserably small sum; even by Mexican wage standards. The online brochure told us as part of our all inclusive that tips were included, but we learned that this was not the case. Our good price for all inclusive was being delivered on the backs of their workers.

4. The Alcanzar restaurant is an excellent choice, the only good one on property, and the menu changes daily.

5. It's really nice not paying for stuff all week while on property.

6. The coral reef nearby is exceptional.

7. Mayan culture nearby is fascinating.

8. I did manage to avoid Montezuma's revenge even though I'm sure I accidentally drank a little water.

Bottom line: Do not go here. These are not nice people. They do not deserve the privilege of serving people. :(

Room Tip: Mostly, don't come here. Don't expect ANY privacy in the bathroom if you happen to get Montezuma's revenge.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BrentC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear guest:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your review and for your stay with us.
We sincerely regret that your experience with us was not a pleasant one, thank you also for your positive comments.
Regarding to our staff and our resort, we are a quality and serious hotel and we always provide what our guests expect and proof of it are the hundreds of reviews on this site, we are sorry that in your case you do not feel this way.
We are at your service anytime if you would like to contact us and thank you again for your review and for your stay with us.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been traveling to Mexico for six years. The service and the quality of food that you receive at the Alcazar restaurant is world class. Javiar is the manager and does an excellent job creating a very relaxing and upscale environment to enjoy your evening with family and friends. From the exquisite and unique salad bar, to the delicious assortment of breads, to the amazing entrees and succulent desserts, you will enjoy every moment and every bite. Thank you for an enjoyable vacation and evening with our family.

Room Tip: You will not regret getting a suite. It is amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for amazing review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family spent a nice holiday with us and enjoyed the Alcazar restaurant and the level of service provided from Javier and his team, I agree he is a Pro jeje:)
Thank you also for recommending our resort on tripadvisor.com
Thank you again for your kind comments and for your preference amigos, we hope to see you back.
Hasta pronto familia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food is excellent. Atention to detail superior. Service is great. Recomend platinum package. Make you fill very special. All activities well plan. Rooms are impecable. Will be back for sure. All restaurants have great menues. Wines are good . Premium liquors in platinum package. Breakfast the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipeflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your kind review and for your past stay with us.
We are so glad that you had a relaxed vacation at El Cid.
Thank you also for recommending our resort to others:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you again in another occasion amigos and thank you again for selecting El Cid.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We just arrived home from our 7N/8D stay at El Cid. This resort is amazingly beautiful. The grounds, gardens and mangrove areas are beautiful. When we arrived, we paid to upgrade to a one bedroom suite. This room was amazing. It was the size of a condo and it had ocean views, two full baths, and a kitchen. We did have an issue with the power shutting off in our room. We called for maintenance several times, finally the fourth technician swapped out the breaker and we didn't have another issue. The food was good, but sometimes inconsistent with choices. Kids choices should be expanded (i.e. add chicken fingers). The room service menu should be expanded for those traveling with children that want a late night snack and cannot leave the kids to go get one. Finally, the entertainment. We traveled with a 4 and a 7 year old. The LIVED at the Kids Club. This program is incredible. It runs from 9 am to 9 pm every day with non-stop activities and fun for the kids. Our two boys fell in love with the Staff at the Kids Club, Sara, Radha, Ari, Chris and Lili. They were all truly amazing and we trusted them whole heartedly with our two boys. These girls should be recognized by this resort as "Outstanding Employees". We have traveled all over the world and we have never encountered a Kids Club like this anywhere! Our 4 year old celebrated his birthday on 8/29 while we were at the resort and the girls at the Kids Club threw him an amazing traditional Mexican birthday party complete with stuffing his whole face in the cake, HE LOVED IT! The Animacion Staff was awesome also! They got everyone involved in the activities around the pool area. My husband and I had a blast at the pool! The cliff jump and slide are an absolute blast also! Overall, this was our 10th trip to Mexico and we will make our 11th trip back to the El Cid, very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask about available upgrades when you check-in at the resort. They were very accomodating. Building 11 on the 4th floor has an amazing ocean view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lisagell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your fantastic review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family had a great holiday with us and that you would like to come back to our resort in a near future.
We will gladly share your great review with all our hotel staff mainly the kids club girls, they really appreciated your compliments and we really know how good they are:)
We hope to see you soon and thank you again for your nice review and for your preference.
Best wihes amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

That was our first time in Mexico......fantastic family resort.....activities never end....food to die for........dont hesitate....BOOK!!!!!! Room auper clean as well as whole resort perfectly maintained......and must experience the SPA.....dont hesitate just go!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasiach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your kind review and for your stay with us last december.
We are so glad that you and your family had a pleasant stay in our resort and enjoyed our service and facilities.
Thank you also for recommending our resort and for commenting that you will be visiting our resort in another occasion:)
We look forward to serve you and your family again in a near future and thank you again for your nice review and for your preference.
Best regards amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews