We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful new restaurant in Puerto Morelos”
Review of El Sabor de Mexico

El Sabor de Mexico
Ranked #23 of 137 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful new restaurant in Puerto Morelos”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This new spot in PM was great. We have been going to PM for 7 years and this is the best addition to the restaurant scene. The portions are large and flavorful. I had the chicken mole and the chicken enchiladas. Both were rich in flavor, but not too spicy. The drinks were good and the service outstanding. I am so happy to have this colorful and friendly place to relax and enjoy the evening in PM. Don't hesitate- make it a must in Puerto Morelos.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsmdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    54
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Mole Ever”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Really yummy chicken mole better than we ate in Oaxaca. Nice place with a large garden area out back, nice family owned business We went twice we had great service the first time and mediocre service the second time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanoose bay, bc
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“3 for 3- Great food, prices and portions!!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a newer addition in Puerto Morelos, and we tried it out twice. The menu is not exactly the regional Yucatan food, but a mix of other Mexican dishes found elsewhere. It was very busy both times we went, but still we got our meals in a reasonable amount of time. The decor is traditional and very colorful and fun. It is a large restaurant so can accomodate larger groups together. They have a front, sidewalk area, an inside area, bar, and a large outdoor patio in the back. Very good price point, very large portions, and both times are meals were really good. I had the dish with a mole sauce that had chicken in the corn tortillas (can't remember the name) One of the best Mole's on the Yucatan yet. Second meal, I had the Pulpo Anejo, It was MARVELOUS! Best octopus I can ever remember having, and such a huge plate of it, I could hardly eat it all. We were there for live blues with Cooker John from Minnesota, had soooo much fun.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Woodstock, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not recommended.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went on a Monday night when a lot of other places are closed. They had a nice set up and lots of room. However, they didn't have any seafood but didn't tell us until we ordered three different types. The service was extremely slow but our waiter was nice and sympathetic. It seemed like the kitchen was the main problem. The food was mediocre. Chips and pico were good. Enchiladas were not so good. Fajitas were alright. Just nothing special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
127 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth another visit”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had the oregano chicken. It was average. It came with a small salad and it was far too salty for our taste. Not worth another visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank garlicshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sabor de Mexico also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Sabor de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing