We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts, good location, lovely setting”
Review of Layla Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Morelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Layla Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Puerto Morelos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malone, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great hosts, good location, lovely setting”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent a week at Layla Guesthouse in mid December. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and left feeling like we had made new friends- Robin, Steve, and Richard who has the restaurant La Duna, at the front of Layla.
The setting is lovely, the yard is private and comfortable with a hammock, chairs, beautiful plants, a parrot named Jack, and an outdoor shower.
The 2 units are like studio apartments with a bit of outdoor space in your indoor space. There's an enclosure next to the kitchenette that is open to the sky (screened) with a tree growing in it and a hammock chair. It's a quiet relaxing spot to sit and read or take a nap. We had a white orchid blooming in the bathroom that had an exotic intoxicating smell, but only at night. What a treat to open the bathroom door to the smell of that orchid! The king size bed was very comfortable and the sheets and towels were good quality. Beach towels and chairs come with the rental.
The location is great- it's a quick and easy walk to the square. The grounds of the secondary school are right across the street and the school grounds border the beach. You can hear the sounds of the sea from the yard at Layla and there's a great view of the Caribbean from the upper terrace. One can access the beach just a short walk down the road.
Robin and Steve are wonderful hosts- helpful, friendly, fun, just great people! We loved staying at Layla and highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Roseanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
38
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This new little guesthouse is tucked away in the streets of Puerto Morelos. The hosts Steve & Robin and cook (Richard) will make you feel right at home straight away. It has two very nicely designed apartments with all you can think of. Every window has a special view. And the cactus garden in the back is great! They also organize tours to wonderful places, Steve can take care of your hair (he's a pro hair dresser), you can join a meditation session, etc., etc., etc. Just go!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frontera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A great place to stay in Puerto Morelos, juste 20 minutes from Cancùn.
The city is really peaceful and beautiful, such as Layla's house.
Robin is a wonderful host, with a lot of tips to visit the area, and constant good mood.
One of my best trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camille_alix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Ideally situated (2 minutes from the beach), Layla is much more than a guesthouse: healthy and tasty food in the restaurant, a learning center and a hair and massages salon! The perfect place to stay to discover all the activities offered by Puerto Morelos and its surroundings (snorkeling, boating, cenotes, etc.), well adviced by Robin and Steeve.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

By chance I found this small guest house on Trip Advisor and how lucky I was. Here’s why. Layla Guesthouse is tucked away on a quiet street across from the Caribbean yet only a 2-3 minute walk from the town square.
The laid-back, accommodating owners, Robin and Steve, have created an inviting space with a special tropical ambiance—sand-covered grounds, tree and floral shaded paths and multiple cactus varieties.

The unusual living suites—bedroom, living room, indoor/outdoor porch, garden shower and bath (don’t worry - very private) and kitchenette--have a TV with cable, air-conditioning and wi-fi. The furnishings are tasteful and subdued. What’s interesting is the outdoors always seems to be with you indoors. A unique feeling. The tropics never leave you.

The Guesthouse has a quaint little restaurant with an eclectic Mexican centered menu for breakfast and lunch. Above the restaurant a porch for seating and enjoying a fruit drink from below is available with a breeze and uninterrupted view of the Caribbean. By the way, high quality hairdressing services are available from Steve and a professional masseuse provides a variety of massages.

All this kind of made me feel like I didn’t want to leave.

French, English and Spanish are spoken and the owners can arrange for tours and guides, if needed, to any of the entertainment, aquatic and cultural sites and activities in the Yucatan.
The owners have done a wonderful job creating this charming and welcoming retreat. When I find a need to relax, I now know where to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
840 reviews
1.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,872 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 34 in Puerto Morelos
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layla Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layla Guesthouse

Property: Layla Guesthouse
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar, Across From High School 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These 4 studio apartments blend Caribbean indoor/outdoor living with a relaxed and active vacation lifestyle. Tropical hardwoods and hand hewn stone are the eye-catchers here...And the Palm Garden out back is peaceful and sublime...And just a stone's throw from the beach snorkel life! Let us know if you would like the Breakfast Included Option, or pay as you go. Cafe Layla on the premises : Cafe Layla offers cool sea breezes and lovely sea views with your Mexican Breakfast and Healthy Asian-Fusion Lunch..... Backgammon in the new Lounge area with your cappuccino, teas, smoothies, and Fresh Juices.... Jazz Brunch on Sundays = live music from 11am Eat, drink, chill....... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Layla Guesthouse Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing