We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 13, 2005

If you are a honeymooner or a couple celebrating a special date, this place is for you, no matter what age. The resort itself is beautiful, laid out perfectly, super clean, and just the right size. The beach (we are from Florida) is fine. The sea weed for us is minimal and was not a problem at all. The food was great, never had to wait to eat. The people you willl meet are some of the nicest people we have run into and we partied the night away many nights at the night club. (Shout out to Building 6) But to us what makes this resort stand out so much is the excellent service. From housekeeping, to check in, to drinks by the pool, to waiters, everyone went above and beyond to make sure your every wish was meet. This place is a must! I have inlcuded a few things that should be on your list To DO.

1. Eat with a group of people at the Pan-Asian in your own private room.
2. Book a Spa treatment (wonderful) and do the free water circuit that comes with any spa treatment.
3. Join in the numerous activites that occur all day long such as bike tours, tequilla pool volleyball, and the kayak tour.
4. Make your way to each restaurant. No reservations can be made but you won't need them.
5. Don't over pack. Dress code for dinners is minimal and most of the time you are in a swim suit. Bring reading material (books and magazines) and a water camera for excursions. They are very pricey.
6. They have numerous tours and excursions to see Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, Cozumel etc. We loved ours through Olympus Tours! They were great. They even have a Cancun bar hoping trip that can't be beat.

To sum it up--if you are about to venture here or if you are deciding on a perfect vaction spot, you are very lucky. You have found it!!!! We could not have asked for a better way to start our lives together!!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank TKM904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,851
    1,817
    530
    183
    114
See reviews for
567
8,583
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 13, 2005

My new husband and I honeymooned to Secrets Excellence the month of Sept. 5th- 11, 2005, what an experience it was too. We were greeted at the entrance when we arrived on Monday at noon with champaign to welcome us. We were nervous abouut our room not being ready, so we did pack our suits in our carry-on like everyone says to. But, we got there and the room was ready for us immediately. We were told our luggage would be brought to us shortly. Go make ourselves comfortable. We did...
THE POOL> So amazing it's so well up kept, along with all the grounds. The workers are so hard of workers there. They go out of there way to make us happy.
THE ROOM> The room was where paradise sets in. We were in Spa view room 4206 (will will return and request the same room) Do not pay x-tra for the swim-out unless your lazy and don't want to walk to your rooms, because the whole week that we were there we saw noone in the jacuzzi on the patio. The Spa View rooms are identical to all the other rooms, I checked. We were treated very special because we were honeymooners, they had large white banners on everyones door that said HONEYMOONERS and if a couple was celebrating there anniversary the banners said ANNIVERSARY. Then they placed to swans made out of towels on the bed (the girl had a veil and a dress on) the bed had rose petals sprinkled in the shape of a heart as well. The week through the maid would add lil x-tra things to make oiur stay so much more enjoyable. There was a basket of flowers with a card addressed to Mr. and Mrs.... the newlyweds.. We actually got the swans twice during our stay there, if you leave the maid a good tip she will take care of you.
OCEAN> People the Ocean is still beautiful, just look over the seaweed.
FOOD> wow.. the all inclusive food was impecable. My husband and I's favorite was the Oceana (real steaks or shrimp that were used to eating)
Portofino is awesome for breakfast the huge buffet should suit everyones needs. Sea Side Grill was excellent too, ask for Raul he was great!
Entertaiment> I was happy with all the entertainment that they offered each night. There was a theatre were they would play a movie, but after the movie there was a show that they put on. One night was a magic circus show, then Elvis, and a comedian, casino, and also a very neat Beach Party on the beach with great food might I mention.
Excursions> We went to the Bar Leaping Tour in Cancun it was fun, but they picked us up at 7:30 and didn't bring us home until 3:30 a.m But we visited Senior Frogs and THe City is a really neat night club too.
Jungle Tour is great for snorkeling, XCaret was fun, and the Trip to Cozumel was great, but beware of getting sea sick on the ferry.
BOOKING> Apple was a great travel agent service they kept everything very organzied and it was nice to know who was picking us up at the airport, because mostof the taxi drivers say they are with your resort and they take you to a timeshare where it takes most of your day up and then they charge you $60 each. (This happened to a friend of ours prior to our trip) When you get to the airport go straight outside and DO NOT TALK TO ANYONE till you get outside.... They should have your name on a list, make them show you your info before you ride with them :)
Hope this was helpful, but I have been reading reviews on Trip Advisor for 6 months now and it has helped me plan the most unforgettable honeymoon. In conclusion... Hey Ryan and Brenda from Wisconsin and Matt and Andrea from Virginia. Us Hoosiers will return before our 25th anniversary LOL..... HMW & CAW

Contact me by email if you have any questions about booking or what you need to bring.....

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Any hotel that greets you with a glass of Champagne on arrival has to be excellent! Even after that moment it continues to impress! The hotel complex is quite a nice size not too large, but large enough to feel as though your not piled in. In fact we tended to see very few people only at breakfeast, lunch and dinner. Very few mention acutally how brilliant the breakfeast is, we had never seen anything like it, from Mexican breakfeast burrito's to French toast it was just superb. Lunch buffet was great too as was the restaurant oceana. Dinners were great we were actually suprised at the quality of the hotels 2 italian restaurants, we had not expected too much but we were pleasently surprised, the french restaurant is also delicious. Hotels movie nights were great with fresh popcorn being brought to you seats with cocktails. The rooms beautiful, with everything and more that you might need plus a mini-bar stocked with drinks!

We can't recommend this hotel enough, perfect 5 star luxury! You'll find it very hard to leave to take daytrips, the hotel just has too much to offer!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank MSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

Three years ago my husband and I honeymooned at the Secrets in Punta Cana, we were so impressed there, we thought we'd see how the other resort rated. We were not disappointed!!

It was 98 and sunny everyday. We had a very brief storm Friday evening, which threatened "Mexican Night" set up outdoors, but as always the staff was prepared, they had everything ready to go as soon as the storm passed. Immediately drying off chairs, putting on table linens, they are just so good there.

Two things that really impressed us...

1. We arrived around 11/11:30 on Sat. 9/3 just in time for the big OSU Game, they have flat screens in the Disco-which does not open until 9pm, but they gladly accomadated us and our friends, not by just opening the club up, but servers were coming in to bring drinks, nachos, ashtrays-definetely above and beyond...

2. Our room obviously wasn't ready when we arrived, which we expected, check in is at 3, so I went up at 1:30 and was given our key to room 6037-GORGEOUS!!! We had requested a king, for the spa/pool view room. They had no kings available, so we were upgraded to a first floor room w/a private patio (with a 2nd Jacuzzi tub), hammock, two lounge chairs (fresh towels on them every morning) and THEY WOULD COME ALL THE WAY AROUND TO GET OUR DRINK ORDERS!!! Talk about feeling like royalty....anyhow...everything postive you read in these reviews, I just wanted to reemphasize.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank shel927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 12, 2005

My Husband and i just returned from Secret Excellence from our 14 day Honeymoon on September 10 WOW what a beautiful Resort. It is like a palace when you walk in.

STAFF

The staff there is amazing, there is nothing that they wont do for you.

The maids are trustworthy, we had left money out one day and it was still there when we returned to our room.

FOOD

I am a very picky eater, but everything that i ordered, was amazing. I recommend the Baby back Ribs at Oceana.

We were drinking frozen drinks with ice we never got sick.

POOLS

The pool were nice, clean and warm.

SPA

I would recommend that you try the spa, My husband & I enjoyed an hour massage, and it was really good.

I will defentily being going back.

If you are going away to this resort HAVE TONS OF FUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

My wife and I had an enjoyable vacation at SERC. The best parts of the trip were:

1. Arriving on a Friday around noon. We went through immigrations and customs with no lines.

2. The rooms are really as nice as everyone says.

3. The Excellence Lounge is a great place to relax.

4. Manuel, at the Mexican restaurant was great. The food was equally great.

5. Building #7 facing the Excellence Pool could not possibly be in a better location.

6. Room service for breakfast.


The problems were very few:

1. The evening entertainment gets an A for effort, but that’s it. It's really as bad as some people have said.

2. The majority of the time the service was great. Unfortunately when it was bad, it was awful. Painfully inconsistent for a five star resort.


I would not worry about the following:

1. Getting sick from the food or water. We ate and drank everything with out giving it a second thought, and did not get sick.

2. The insects are no worse at SERC than they are at home.


I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. But I would not rate the resort a five star, they simply missed the ball on too many items for the customer service to be considered five star.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank stlrfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

I am writing this review in attempt to provide some insight into this resort and the type of people who visit it. I had read several negative reviews prior to vacationing here, but wasn't concerned about them since most of the reviews were overwhelmingly positive. I would like to add a rebuttal to several of the negatives people have made:

1.) The Beach: The beach is beautiful! Yes, there is a bit of seagrass, but it didn't bother us the slightest. Coming from the northeast, we expect seawead and a few rocks here and there. The sand at this resort is also beautiful, as it is made from fine, white powdery coral. The complaints about the seagrass kept a lot of people out of the water which was great for us! The reason seagrass is there: 1/4 of a mile out, a federal preservation for coral reefs is protected, its a snorkelers paradise!
2.) The water: Beautiful! Shades of varying green and blue hues patched along the beach. The water is not like lake water as some have described it to be. I'm flabbergasted how anyone could think the western carribean is like lake water..
3.) The food: If you are from a small town, and are used to eating meat and potatos and fine dinning is the Outback Steak house or Cracker Barrel, yes, you might get sick. If you are accustomed to eating a variety of foods cooked in bistro's, mom & pop type restaurants, you should be fine. The drinking water is purified, as we had no problems eating the fruit, and drinking the mixed drinks with ice.
4.) The service: The service is the best and most consistent I have ever had. Coming from Manhattan, where food and drink service is good, this resort tops it. The service is very fast, attentive to your personal needs, and friendly without the snobbery. We tipped a dollar for drinks and 2-5 dollars for our meals. You don't have to tip, nor will it make service better. We tipped because they deserved it
5.) We heard some people complain about a variety of things while we where there. I won't go into detail about the type of person (they all had something in common), but let me just say this to those who vacation: No matter where you go, you will always hear people complain about the food or service. Some people are just better off staying home.
6.) When we arrived, we were greeted with champaign. We did not receive wet face towels....who cares? Relax, your on vacation.

We loved this resort, and will return to it for years to come. I can say that this resort will be perfect for couples, old and young alike, honeymooners and married couples.

If anyone has any questions about some of the other negatives, send me an e-mail and I can go into further details

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank DWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing